We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”
Review of Alpenhof Brixen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpenhof Brixen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brixen im Thale
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel is a great hotel,staff are very friendly,lovely large spacious room,location is great for bus stop or train.Food excellent and plentiful.Pool area was well looked after.We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ang213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

I red the reviews before and I having difficulties to understand the opinions of the former tourists.
Lets start with the positive feedback:
-staff is really nice and helpful and polite
-rooms are spacious and bright
-all hotel is clean
-quiet location (despite the construction site nearby)

Now what I disliked profoundly and why rating is only 2 stars:
-hotel was overcrowded the number of accommodated guests is way over the capacity of the common facilities like sauna, restaurant, ski depot etc
-from the beginning we had an unpleasant surprise when we were asked to pay 3 euros ( at the end on the bill were 4 euros!)for a pair of single use hotel slippers . It is not about those 4 euros but something that didn't happen before in any 4 star hotel and is really stupid policy
-after that the unpleasant surprises continued: in the restaurant you will find the smallest dishes that I ever saw in my life. Not only the dishes but the juice glasses , salad dishes everything was minuscule. For eg the juice glass I am sure that was maximum 100 ml.It is really stupid because for eg I like to eat only salad at dinner so to do this I should go to fill my dish maybe 3-4 times taking account of the dimension of the dish
-next was the after skiing snack it was from 4 to 5 pm ( in a resort where the last piste run is at 16:30 and you need 30 minutes to get to the hotel . I the first day we arrived at 4:50 and the child had the opportunity to eat a small cake) After that every day the child rushed us to he hotel to have his cake but even if we were present at 16:30 there was no cake left , no juice .For me it is ok but foe a child is very disappointing
-In the morning the same thing if you were at the first minute after opening in the restaurant you may choose your favorite bread (i like brown bread) after 10-15 minutes they were finished .
- the hotel was full of children , most of the families were with children and despite that for the sauna there were very strict rules : everybody should be fully naked ( it is a holiday hotel for everyone or only for exhibitionists?)
-Ski boot room capacity was way under the number of guest -here again if you want to have a place to dry your ski boots you have to hurry , to be there before others

In conclusion a potential good hotel with nice staff is really destroyed by the manger or the owner due to his /her avaricious attitude . Cheap things like a bread, a cake or a boot dryer are degrading this hotel because someone is very avaricious. ( ad your 4 euro for the slipper in the total price and you will make a better impression on the client!)
It was the longest review that I wrote but to be honest I was shocked and frighten by the possibility to have Austria hotels ( a stayed in at least 30 hotels skiing in Austria) transformed in something like Turkish hotels on the sea side .
PS; to the nearest ski bus stop there are maybe 300 meters so for those who dislike walking in ski boots is maybe too far

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciprianjitaru_jitaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel continues to deliver lovely friendly service and great food a short distance from the ski bus stop. This is our third stay and we love this area for the kids learning to ski, not too busy and lots of wide red runs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VAMEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our 3rd trip to the Alpenhof and it remains a good family run hotel. Excellent food ( almost too much in the evenings but you don't have to eat it!!) and staff very helpful. Good Sauna and pool area to help with the inevitable skiing strains. Rooms are of a good size with lots of storage for the inevitable bulky clothes

The only downside, if you don't have a car, is the skibus schlepp to the lift, but the hotel minibus offered a lift on occasions.

Overall, a most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dumbdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is the second stay for us at the Alpenhof and it did not disappoint! We stayed for a ski holiday in February family of four (2kids ) this hotel ticks all the boxes, the food is great, staff very friendly and remembered us from last year, and this year the snow was superb too!

A special thank you to the staff for sorting everything out when our younger daughter was sick they could not have been more helpful!

Ski Schule Aktiv is great - small classes and very friendly both kids have come on really well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAMEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed as a couple for a few nights and all the staff were very friendly and most helpful, especially the young lady on the front desk and the evening bar man. The hotel was immaculate. A great location for the train station.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed at the Alpenhof for a short ski stay. After arrival check in was smooth en room was clean. However, i chose a room with sun in the afternoon. Because of that a bathtub was not possible. On arrival, i had neither, also the shower leaked en caused water on the floor. After reporting it at the frontdesk, nothing changed.
The rooms are quite noisy, so you can hear baby's crying, people having the usual holiday fights etc.
Big plusses are the nice staff, good breakfast and everything is very clean.
The location is near the ski buss so thats no problem.
If you run out of other options the Alpenhof is a good alternative, because of its size they will probably have rooms, but i won't go again ....

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivovdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixen im Thale
0.1 mi away
Vital & Sporthotel Brixen
Vital & Sporthotel Brixen
#1 of 5 in Brixen im Thale
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hubertus
Hubertus
#3 of 5 in Brixen im Thale
34 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reitlwirt
Hotel Reitlwirt
#4 of 5 in Brixen im Thale
26 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 15 in Ellmau
232 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cordial Familien & Sporthotel Going
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Brixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Brixen

Address: Weidach 8, Brixen im Thale 6364, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Brixen im Thale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brixen im Thale
Price Range: $144 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhof Brixen 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpenhof Brixen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing