We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel every year for as long as i can remember and was concerned about my recent visit as i had noticed a decline in the standards last year however i was pleasantly surprised as room looked as if it had been freshened up and bathroom looked much fresher. We wer in a lower room to back therefore no noise. A very comfortable stay, friendly and welcoming staff and hopefully we will return next year. Thanks again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    172
    101
    24
    20
See reviews for
150
142
24
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

It is a comfortable hotel, but the decor is a little tired. It could do with a little TLC. Handy to be in a service area. Breakfast was good, and the staffs service was goid and friendly. Even though right on express way, did not really notice the road noise.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Andrea

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review .

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed a comfortable stay - specifically I note that , aside from the convenience of the location , you appreciated the quietness of your room allied to the friendliness and efficiency of my staff who will appreciate your kind comments . In particular your praise of the breakfast operation is very welcome - thank you .

i also noted your observation in respect of decor - we are now coming towards the end of a busy trading period and very shortly we will be looking to invest into the fabric of the hotel . I very much hope that you will be aware of the difference should you be in the area in the near future .
Please contact me personally when you anticipate returning - it will be a pleasure to meet with you .

Kind Regards

Tony Horsfall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askeaton, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Myself and my young family have been staying here each year for over 10 yrs now. As we are often travelling between the UK and Ireland, it is an ideal location for catching the ferry at Holyhead (it is situated right by the A55 main road to the port, which is only about an hour away). Although the rooms often require some TLC, they are clean enough and have the usual facilities (including FREE WI-FI). For the price, they are more than reasonable. The gym is basic, but you can get a decent workout. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, and many, including the manager, have been there for some time. This is always a good sign. There are amenities within walking distance (including the excellent OK Diner, Subway, Mc Donalds and garage with shop attached).

Room Tip: Nothing to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had to find a room unexpectedly for one night whilst visiting family and as the Chester marathon was on this was all we could find. Never stayed at a Holiday Inn before so didn't expect much. We arrived late which was not a problem but as we went down the corridor to our room all we could smell was stale tobacco. The room was an executive room which was a good size with a good size bed and clean bedding. There was a small sofa and chairs and flat screen tv. Bathroom was clean but tired but everything was over shadowed by the awful smell of stale cigarettes. One bath robe and towels were proved together with "Lux" soap in shower/bath and other toiletries. Fridge with water and a good tea/coffee tray. Bed was very comfortable. Again the smell pervaded everything and made our eyes smart. We had enquired when booking if the rooms were smoking as we were under the impression that since the no smoking law was passed that this was not allowed in any hotel rooms at all. We were told that they did not have any rooms that were smoking. When mentioning this at reception the next morning we were told that they did in fact have some designated rooms for smoking and unfortunately we had been given one! Ok if you are a smoker but disgusting if you are not, if we had been told the correct information by the receptionist upon booking this would have saved an unpleasant night. It served a purpose and the shower was good!

Room Tip: Ask first if you want a smoking or none smoking room and make sure the receptionist actually knows w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteRoseSandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post your review following your stay in my hotel on saturday evening

I was so pleased to learn that you had found the facilities and cleanliness of your room to be to your satisfaction . We will shortly be further enhancing the quality of this room with luxury towelling , new weighing scales , slippers and fresh milk .

It was disappointing to learn that you had been allocated a smoking room contrary to your wishes . I have spoken to the third party website via whom you made the reservation - they have confirmed that your reservation was for a smoking room albeit they were not in a position to advise me as to wheher the reservation was made on-line or by phone . I would assure you that ,had contact been made directly with my hotel , we would have provided clarification in the event that you had not received confirmation from your third party .

I sincerely hope that we may be able to look after you when next you are in the area . For your own piece of mind please may I suggest that you contact us directly in order that any misunderstanding may be avoided .

I would further assure you that we only allocate six rooms in one area of the hotel for smokers who appreciate that we cater for their preference .

Many thanks again for taking the time to bring your concern to my attention and I very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Tony Horsfall - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Typical motel group, where decor does not matter. Although trading under the Holiday Inn banner it was not up to the class of a real Holiday Inn hotel, more like a typical budget motel chain.

The hall to my room had a musky smell, as did my room. There was mildew on the bathroom tiles and the whole room felt grubby.

Only the reception and restaurant looked clean and in good décor. Although the restaurant service was good the food was very average. Had a very poor sleep as it was very noisy outside the room. Only glad my company paid and not at my cost. Will give this one a miss in future

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank postnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest

I am so sorry but i have not been able to identify the room that you occupied on your recent stay .

May I trouble you to advise me on 01244 550011 and I assure you that I will conduct a thorough review before responding more thoroughly .

Yours Sincerely

Tony Horsfall - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We got married here two weeks ago and I cannot praise the service we had highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food and venue outstanding. You don't have to pay a small fortune to have a perfect day. The price was unbeatable without any hidden extras.
A huge thank you to all the staff who made our day very special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineStappleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Elaine

Thank you so much for your further kind comments following your wedding at the hotel on Friday 13th September.

I was so pleased that the venue, food and service lived up to your expectations we try very hard to over deliver in these areas and I will certainly make sure that your comments are passed to all the team at the hotel.

May I personally take this opportunity to wish you both the very best for the future and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Many thanks again.

Tony Horsfall
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have been a coach driver for about 34 years and have been in endless Hotels, guest Houses and B and B's......I Use about 20 to 30 per year in the course of my work...
This Hotel is possibly the best I have been in..... The food is excellent, the beds and rooms are spotless and VERY comfortable. The staff on all levels are brilliant ( nothing too much trouble ).
There is also a garage on site, which make life a lot easier for fuel on the Expressway.
All in all a great experience........ I would certain recomend this Hotel to anyone.
Thank you Holiday Inn.
David T Coach driver

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 370tobin_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northop
1.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
0.4 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
6.8 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

Property: Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Address: Holiday Inn 55 Westbound A55 Expressway, Northop CH7 6HB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn a55 - Chester (West) Hotel Northop
Holiday Inn Northop
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) Northop, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing