We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms need a refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Rooms need a refurb”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Two night stay recently great location for where we were travelling to however rooms getting gruby now. This is my third stay at this hotel which suits as has a Costa, McDs, Subway and a Diner on site which is beneficial but was extremely disappinted with the stained carpets, faded n grubby sofa bed and stained bedding.....which im sure can all easily be rectified. Check in staff helpful and pleasant

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    174
    102
    23
    20
See reviews for
154
146
24
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband have stayed here a few times before and have been very pleased hense our return, but we was slightly disappointed this time, we booked an executive room this time it's a little extra cost so was expecting a better room with better facilities, you are supposed to get robes but their was only one and the room overall was a little grubby, we ordered breakfast to come to our room both mornings but the first morning it didn't show up so I had to call the restaurant who hadn't even received the card we had handed into reception the day before, then the second morning it was 10 minutes late before we received a call to say it will be with us shortly which was fine with us, but when it arrived half was missing, it's a shame that we left disappointed because this used to be the best in the Flintshire area but next time when I visit the area I will re think where we stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Leanne T,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the opportunities to improve. I am sorry that you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the room accommodations and slow food service you received. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had a great weekend stay, staff were most helpfull. Rooms were spacious and clean with ample toiletries and coffee/tea available. We did have a slight problem with the air conditioner in one of our rooms but the staff soon sorted it and it all turned out fine. Despite the hotel being very busy with functions the service and attentiveness was excellent, next time we are in the area we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed at the A55 on many occasions and decided on this one to book into an executive room. Wow what a difference to a standard room. More space, bathrothes, jacuzzi bath and coke and peanuts in the mini bar. For about £72 for a night it is well worth upgrading to this room.

Room Tip: All room are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoryandCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balzan, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Simply loved this hotel. Rooms were quiet and kept spotless! breakfast was abundant and of good quality. Staff extremely helpful and courteous. A/C was not easy to use though... gave us a bit of trouble on the first night!
the location is not much...very little to do if staying there in the early evening!

Room Tip: not much to do in the evenings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalieTheuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The road noise from A55 is terrible it that bad my Family and i had to move bedrooms at 2.30am in the morning to the rear off the hotel .Then we coudnt sleep after this a total disaster for us all .The duty night manager was very understanding about it and i have to say he was very helpful but i can say the noise from the front we found was a nightmare

Room Tip: Keep away from the front off the building unless you are brave to venture the front for the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaughan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Booked into Holiday Inn for a family occasion. My Husband and I had a ground floor room and although it was closest to the dual carriage way it was surprisingly very quiet. My parents were staying in the same hotel and at breakfast we were allowed to be seated together which made it all the better. Breakfast was fantastic with a choice of cereals, fruit juices, croissants, fruit, continental breakfasts and a full cooked breakfast. Priced at only £7.95 each you could also eat as much as your like.and we even got a second pot of tea, all we had to do was ask. There were two functions over the weekend including a wedding and a christening party but despite the number of people and the potential noise there was nothing at all. We had a very comfortable stay and look forward to our next visit in November.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogersandRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northop
1.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
0.5 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
5.8 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

Property: Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Address: Holiday Inn 55 Westbound A55 Expressway, Northop CH7 6HB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn a55 - Chester (West) Hotel Northop
Holiday Inn Northop
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) Northop, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing