We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rural Idyll”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rural Idyll”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Here is one of Wales's best kept secrets. Exceptional quality in perfect surroundings.
Restaurant worthy of any great City of the world, set in the magnificent tranquility of west Wales. This is Welsh luxury in a picture post card setting - the accommodation was of the highest quality. Not a single .......... "but".
Well done
Thank you

Room Tip: The Coach House is breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDebIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    126
    41
    20
    6
See reviews for
93
245
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This is the middle of nowhere but it a beautiful nowhere. The cottage we stayed in was fine with loads of room and a huge wet room. Kitchen was ok but struggled with cooker and oven. Ate out instead loads of great places to eat in Newport. Overall, this suited our needs and we put up with some minor maintenance issues. Access was great and the hotel food was good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashurstwoodfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a self catering cottage at Gellifawr. The cottage was compact but perfectly adequate set in a beautiful area with many walks from the door. To be able to self cater whilst having the option of eating in the hotel was great. The cottage was supplied with everything for two except it only had one cereal bowl. We were very pleased to find it had a bath as well as a shower. The bed was comfy. The only down side was the TV was set very high in the wall so slightly uncomfortable to watch for long periods of time. We ate in the hotel once - the food was delicious although the service was very slow and the waitress seemed a little confused about whether vegetables were supplied with our main course. Overall a good place to stay and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flossie52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembrokeshire wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

wedding....... the main house is fab and they put on a great wedding, the food and service no complaints there, and the location (on a sunny day which we were very lucky with) is fantastic.

cottage.... Felin Fach (think that's how to spell it)........ really in need of a revamp they charged £150 for the night, for a one bed cottage, that dosent look like its been decorated in the last 30 years, not a bar of soap and only cutlery for two people... when it is classed as sleeping four.
It was clean.
if invited to a wedding again we would drive or taxi it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaztorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

As owner of swansea queen of hearts mobile fun casino we were hired to entertain a wedding at this venue.
Apart from it being the most idealic gorgeous place i have seen with very friendly helpful staff i woud recommend this place for any occasion and the manager Aled is more than accommodating for your every needs..
Excellent location very romantic...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nov000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights here the setting was lovely The accommodation is a little tired, and it needs the soft furnishings replaced, the main room in our cottage was spacious. There was very little crockery etc. for a place supposed to be for six! my wife said there was nowhere to plug in a hair dryer near a mirror. The beds were comfy and there was a lot of electrical equipment in the kitchen. The water was a funny colour and occasionally had sediment in it, we were very cold when we arrived and the heating was switched off externally, so had to contact the staff to fix which they did. The Hotel & Bar main building was closed at 9.00pm! which seemed early for june.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthAstonish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

From the moment we drove up the mountain and into Gellifawr looking for a wedding venue we were blown away by its beauty and rustic feel.
On meeting the staff who were so friendly and accommodating, we knew this had to be our venue. The atmosphere of the whole place just relaxes you instantly.
The rooms in which we stayed were lovely, oozing with character and all of our guests who stayed in both the hotel and the cottages loved it.
What we particularly liked that the place is yours exclusively even to the point of decorating and personalising the grounds and inside too.
With all of our guests joining us on the Friday for the Saturday wedding , It led to a wonderful party atmosphere. So we were spoilt with a wedding weekend and not just a wedding day.
We couldn't fault the food, presentation was lovely and it all tasted really good.
The staff- Nigel, Aled, Stan , the barmen and the girls were all fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sargii4703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontfaen
13.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
12.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
8.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
21.3 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
21.2 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gellifawr Woodland Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gellifawr Woodland Retreat

Property: Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Address: Pontfaen Road, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pontfaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gellifawr Woodland Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gellifawr is located in the beautiful Gwaun Valley in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, about four miles from the coast and beaches at Newport Sands. Perfect for walking, bird watching, hiking, cycling, nature watching, beaches, sightseeing or just relaxing in the friendly and comfortable welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gellifawr Woodland Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gellifawr Hotel Fishguard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing