We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
143
165
49
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
143
165
49
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool old building stayed here for one night old coaching inn hotel restaurant would stay again lovely town attic room lovely hotel decent size every member of staff breakfast was excellent walking the offa's dyke path without exception an evening meal fish and chips lovely food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 383 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2019

I organise a Welsh Weekend annually for a BMW Motorcycle group.

This years venue has been the Dragon Hotel, everyone has said how lovely the venue was, the food was good, breakfast was with quality ingredients.

Staff great... what more could anyone want :D

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Parry_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

We treated ourselves to a De Luxe room, Room 16 - which has a wonderful bath that is big enough for two and great to soak in after a walk. Breakfast is good, nothing special, but dinner in the evening was superb. The vegetarian said it was the best veggie food he had had in decades and my strips of beef were also excellent. You must try the Monty's Mess for pudding. So good we had it two nights.

Room tip: We did hear that some people near the bar were disturbed but we were overlooking the square and it was very quiet.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, when we arrived we checked straight in and went to see the room. We were in number 3 it was a decent size room with a shower and a bath available in it, it had a nice big window which opened up pretty decent to get some good air into the room and the view was pretty good. We went down to the bar for a couple of drinks and noticed the bar is very mix and match with furniture tables and chairs and looks a bit naff if I'm honest. Nice selection of drinks and the food is good. The next morning we were woken early at about 6.30 by someone walking on the floor above it was very creaky and squeaky and went on for an age so we decided to get up for breakfast. The breakfast was very nice and had a good selection, we went up for a shower to get ready to go out at about 11.30 and found there was no hot water this is an absolute joke for a hotel to run out of hot water!!!! So had a cold shower and got changed, Needless to say the 2nd morning I had a shower a lot earlier and there was hot water so bare this in mind if you're going to be staying here. No one seems to have a clue about what glasses to serve drinks in at the bar and you end up with really random ones, we were always asking for different glasses as the drinks didn't go in them. As for the swimming pool I wouldn't bother with it, it's tiny and looks totally different to the pictures. All in all we had an OK stay but it's not worth the money they charge (except breakfast) but it was nice being somewhere quiet, won't be going back though...

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank simonrobbo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragon M, Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019


Dear Sir

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay

I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed yourself; we are an 17th century coaching inn and have been refurbished with a classic but contemporary shabby chic feel, not to everyone’s taste we know . Our detailed website sets out pictures of all rooms and details to look at beforehand .

Due to the age of the hotel there are little quirks, creaky floor boards etc , but we wouldn’t change it for the world.

Most of our guests love it and a lot return many times over -

We are quite open about what we are as you'll see from the other reviews.


Your select room for £81 for the room and £18 for 2 breakfasts , we consider to be excellent value

It seems that we weren’t a match but that’s ok, and we wish you the best for the future .

Kind regards

Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

My wife and stayed at the Dragon last Saturday along with six other couples,there was a warm welcome on our arrival and our rooms were ready early. We had already booked dinner at the hotel and they placed us in the Den as a private party,which was great for us as we were on a reunion get together,so there was a lot of talking and laughter which didn't disturb other guest at the hotel.
The evening food was good as was the morning breakfast,there was a good selection of beers and a special mention to Jack behind the bar, very pleasant and efficient,you never had to wait long to be served, excellent.
We stayed in room 5, very comfortable and a good size, the shower could have been more powerful and we found the bed to be a little soft for us,but that is a personal preference. We have no hesitation in recommending the Dragon and would certainly return,we wish the family's involved good luck for the future.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

Very fast service and very nice food. We all had the roast beef dinner and it was very tasty but I did feel the beef let it down somewhat as it tasted and had the texture of beef roll rather than proper beef. Apart from that extremely good meal but a little pricey

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Davewill2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews