We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very acommodating”
Review of The Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dragon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very acommodating”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

With lunch orders closing at 14:00 we didn't hold out much hope of being served when our party of 12 arrived at 13:58. However, we were not only welcomed in but looked after really well. Well done to the new owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    114
    42
    13
    7
See reviews for
37
122
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Booked this hotel on the proviso we could have a bar meal with our dog as advertised as dog friendly,this was not the case could only stay in the bar at non meal times,We had to eat in a pokey corner of the the Hotel which was never used and had decor going back to the sixties,which was covered in cobwebs.When complained to the Manager,she appeared to not be listening to our complaint.She was rude and unprofessional.When going down to breakfast the table was not laid,no cutlery or crockery on the table which made us feel forgotten about.We had to go to reception to remind them we were sitting there.The hotel was so bad in our eyes,we had booked for 3 nights but left after the first night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here whilst walking Offa's Dyke Path and had a comfortable night which was good value. The staff were friendly and the service very good. Not the most modern of bedrooms but everything was clean and spacious. The food was good value too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

In July I organised a family and friends re-union, but when I learnt that the premises had been sold some two weeks before the event I was a little nervous. This proved totally baseless. This was the best re-union ever held (30 family & friends from around the UK). The rooms were ideal, and accessible, even for those using walking sticks; the menu was a little limited, but there was something for everyone; the dinner on the Saturday evening was enjoyed by one and all; the staff were most conscientious in their duties, and surpassed themselves in ensuring everyone's wishes were met. The Dragon may need a little TLC but for friendliness and efficiency you will have to travel a long was to beat it. Unfortunately the swimming pool was undergoing maintenance and therefore, unavailable.

Glyn Roberts

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and two teenage daughters visited this hotel on a Groupon deal and although the staff were very friendly and the breakfast good our stay here was nothing to write home about! We visited in June and when we mentioned the poor water flow in the shower the owner didn't really seem too bothered giving the impression of 'oh well that's just the way it is'. There were many other things we felt we needed to mention so wrote these down on a guest comments card when we left the hotel hoping that we would get a response so that I wouldn't have to complain on Trip Advisor. We didn't get a reply - hence the review I am writing. I agree with the previous guest about the swimming pool. The water was dirty and cold and the sauna and shower were filthy and falling apart. My daughters bedroom was full of cobwebs, spider webs and grime. My husband and I had a room on the top floor with terrible creaky floor boards and a really dingy bathroom and we kept banging our heads on slanted ceiling. Very dated and in desperate need of refurbishment. I should have listed to the previous 'Fawlty Towers' review!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 777Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This long established hotel is situated in the centre of the delightful small town of Montgomery, It has recently been bought by a group of local people who are keen to improve on its already good reputation and facilities. Like another reviewer, mine was a one night stay to go to a local wedding. The check in was easy and tea/ coffee available at the bar. There was also a generous provision of tea/ coffee facilities in the room. The bed was comfortable and extra bedding was available in the wardrobe if needed. Toiletries were provided in the shower room. Breakfast was cooked to order and generous.
There is a private car park at the back of the hotel with direct access to/from the reception area.

Room Tip: I had stayed here before and from my experience and from the reports of others all the rooms are equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mererid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked this hotel as an overnight stop for my son and his family when they were on their way to West Wales for his surprise 40th birthday celebration. We booked this accommodation as it had a swimming pool for our 4 year old grandson loves the water. The following is his assessment of the hotel:-.

"Check in and service was OK. Dinner was nothing to write home about but breakfast good. The pool was small but the water was freezing; in fact so cold that it was impossible to stay in it.

Wouldn't want to stay longer than one night!"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
6.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
638 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
388 reviews
11.6 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
762 reviews
15.2 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
125 reviews
19.1 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Property: The Dragon Hotel
Address: Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th century former Coaching Inn set in historic Montgomery just below the old castle ruins, surrounded by glorious Mid-Wales/Shropshire rolling countryside. 20 En-suite bedrooms. Most rooms with exposed beams. Free WiFi and car parking. Traditional restaurant and informal bar serving the best of local produce. Ideal for Offa's Dyke and Powis Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Montgomery
The Dragon Hotel Montgomery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing