We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Checkers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Checkers
Save
You added The Checkers to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Went for an evening meal with my partner and two other couples, last Tuesday.

Booking was very easy, and could even confirm over the phone that the taster menu could be altered for one of the guests that didn't eat fish.

Me and another of my party are chefs from the local area (Three tuns inn, bishops castle + lion & pheasant hotel, Shrewsbury) we both agreed the food itself was flawless!! We all took the taster menu and all agreed it was an excellent choice. All 6 courses were enjoyed by everyone!

The butternut squash velouté with curried cream is a must!

Remember though, quality comes at a cost, our bill (including drinks) came to £640, not cheap but definitely worth every penny!!

Well done Stéphane and team!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joeybarrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
49
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We went as a large family get together. The food was delicious. A little pricey but as a treat it was worth it.
Fantastic in every way! We had two children 5 and 8. They too enjoyed the different tastes. Its nice that they don't have a children's menu because children always dip out on good food and flavours. Thank you.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fizzfuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Sadly Mid-Wales is not awash with good restaurants but this is one. Whilst I had the 9 course tasting menu my wife made good with the 6 courses. The food was all in the classical French tradition pioneered and exemplified by The Roux's which is not entirely surprising given Stephane's background. We had the Autumn tasting menu and there wasn't a course that was a disappointment. In a way the menu is a little retro with its homage to classical tradition and the work that goes into its preparation is immense - nothing is easy. I have to admit that my own preference is more for the precision and minimalism of contemporary menus as opposed to the complex sauces that we have here but of its genre this is of a very high standard indeed. With ingredients including Butternut, fois gras, crab, langoustine, sea bass, mussels, Jerusalem artichokes, pork belly, beef filet, oxtail and a crème brulee and excellent damson crumble soufflé it was ambitious and almost faultless - a bravissimo performance. It was good to see that the restaurant was full on a Friday night in late September - deservedly so.

We stayed overnight in The Agen Room which is spacious with a bathroom ( no shower) down a short flight of stairs and a mirror which is probably too high over the sink. My wife found the absence of a chair for the dressing table and the fridge in the footwell a bit of a problem but it is a nice room and a very comfortable bed.

I have reviewed as a restaurant as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just been for a birthday meal for my wife. Wonderful food with excellent service. To start I had the crab and langoustine lasagne, my wife the cheese soufflé and my daughter the rabbit salad - all superb. The beef was beautifully cooked and the pork belly with pears sublime. The turbot with as my wife put it - corn three ways was also wonderful. For me the piece de resistance was the chocolate and coffee mouse - one of the best desserts anywhere! All in all a spectacular evening and one definitely worth the hours drive to get there!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We were on holiday in Churchstoke and looking out for somewhere to eat in the area and found Checkers in Montgomery. It was one of the best meals we have ever had. A lovely intimate lounge area for drinks and nibbles, and a very helpful waitress who matched glasses of wine to each course. The food itself was stunning - subtle, tasty and memorable. I would recommend this place without hesitation. Dave

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Les Filles des Fermier. The room had everything we needed well equiped & an excellent shower (don't go for this room if you want a bath, we deliberately chose it as we'd been advised Agen which we were going to book only has a hand held shower over the bath). But the real reason you're here is the food. We had the 6 course tasting menu and it was fantastic. We'd warned them in advance we didn't eat meat but fish\seafood was good and the menu & quality of food were excellent. They didn't even flinch when I asked to change desert as I don't like strawberries. The service & food deserve all the praise they've had from other reviewers all I can add is come here you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maltontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tal-y-llyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

It is not surprising that Checkers has been shortlisted as the best restaurant to eat in this year’s National Tourism Awards for Wales – sadly they will not know how they have fared until November but we got a chance to sample why they should do well when we greatly enjoyed their nine course tasting menu. Service was attentive and all staff were personable. Only niggles were that our bathroom had the creakiest door in the world and it was a bit strange having to plug in the hair drier into an extension cable lying on the floor which did make the room look a tad untidy. We were entranced with the small town of Montgomery! Checkers we wish you well and hope it goes your way in November!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowdoniatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
0.1 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
11.7 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
21.2 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Checkers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Checkers

Property: The Checkers
Address: Broad Street, Montgomery SY15 6PN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Also Known As:
The Checkers Montgomery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing