We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Checkers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Checkers
Ranked #1 of 4 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for a night in their Agen room with the six course taster menu. Everything was fantastic, from the minute we stepped in through the door, welcomed by friendly staff and taken to a well decorated, spacious room, first class teas, real coffee and homemade cookies, nice soft dressing gowns, huge comfortable bed with duck down duvet and pillows. The evening meal was superb, I think we got the big dining table as we had booked into their best room and it added that little something extra to the experience. Food was absolutely fantastic, fresh, seasonal veg and local meat, we were amazed by how much flavour they manage to get out of the ingredients. Six courses was enough for us, I don't know how anyone could do the nine courses.
It was quite posh for us but without being too formal or stuffy, a friendly, cosy and relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommended for people with something special to celebrate, it was a perfect night for our anniversary.

Room Tip: The Agen room is their best room and comes with their prime dining table at the front of the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dibblington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
57
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just spent a memorable evening at the Checkers with two good friends. We are not the easiest to deal with as one, eats no meat, and another, is vegetarian. Despite ordering their 9 course tasting menu they coped splendidly with our requirements. A minor omission in offering bread for our side plates was met with a sincere apology and freshly baked bread to take home the following morning. The quality of food is amongst the very best of the restaurants we have visited, the service is amiable and leisurely. The rooms are pleasant, comfortable and well equipped - ours had "wet room" showers.
This is a delightful place to stay in a part of Wales that time has passed by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed recently for one night with dinner and the overall experience would have been difficult to improve upon. Friendly, efficient staff, charming room with very high quality bed and furnishings, superb dinner and great breakfast.

We're both quite tall and our room (Chataignier) did have a hilariously low door for bathroom access but the room itself and bathroom were fine and had a great view over the high street - such as it is!

Others have mentioned the lack of pretension here and I think that's one of the things that makes it so good. That might mean it's not quite such 'event' dining as for example La Becasse in Ludlow, but the food is certainly comparable and for those who prefer a little less dressing up it's a real delight.

Finally a note on their attention to detail. There's a clock somewhere outside the building that strikes on the hour. We slept right through without any disturbance but both bedside cabinets had a pair of earplugs in the drawers. Nice touch.

Highly recommended. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratherbeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I recently visited The Checkers for a friends birthday and knowing it is a Michelin starred restaurant expected quite an expensive meal with small portions! I was very wrong! The food is fantastic and we felt we paid a very reasonable price for canapes, 2 courses and wine. The atmosphere is very cosy (especially on a snowy night), and the decor mirrors the cute country town of Montgomery in which is sits. I found the service fantastic, and this isn't something I usually comment on! The staff were very attentive and the overall experience was impressive, I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I are regular visitors to this wonderful gem of a restaurant in an old pub which has been lovingly restored. Service excellent and food simply divine without being pretentious and with menus changing monthly plenty of variety. My wife requires a gluten free meal and they bend over backwards to ensure she can choose most things off the menu which they alter to make them gluten free. Also they make their own gluten free bread rolls which are delicious. So don't hesitate to give it a try; you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madbowler186368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We've eaten once before at The Checkers and were very impressed so we decided to stay over on Valentine's Day this year and were not disappointed. The special menu was excellent - super Welsh meat. La Chataignier (our room) had quite low doors and ceilings so it's best to be on the short side but it had tea/coffee equipment, bottled water and nice biscuits. Even though it's at the front of the hotel we weren't disturbed by noise in the night. Breakfast was also a good feast with real orange juice! Definitely a well run establishment with a warm service. After breakfast we walked up the hill to the ruined castle and because it was a beautiful morning the views were magnificent. Then we walked down and had a jolly chat with Claudia Lis the local potter - very nice pottery. Montgomery is charming and The Checkers is definitely a place to keep going back to!

Room Tip: See comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

A small, smart and possibly understated looking front to an old coaching inn. You could almost miss the front door, although Montgomery is very small so a trip around the block would not take long! We stayed for one night in probably the smallest room (although very well decorated in lovely Farrow & Ball colours), my fault for booking so late, but I would advise checking on room size dependant on size of other half - 6'3" husband did find bed & room everso compact, but it's an old inn, so partially to be expected. Lovely wetroom and rain shower, but with more planning I'd have requested a room with a bath. Great touches in room of docking station, homemade cookies, L'Occataine, local Wenlock Spring water etc as all mentioned in other reviews.
Very smart looking dining area with a laid back feel to the overall eating experience. We had six course tasting menu which was very good value for money with some superb flavours and textures. Wine list from Tanners - good, although I would appreciate more adventurous new world to push the boundaries.
You need to be happy to be in very close proximity to all around you as this is a small (low ceiling) building, but for a night it's perfectly cozy. Breakfast is fabulously fresh and plentiful. Homemade brioche a real treat. I'd suggest a brisk walk to the old castle to work up an appetite and a look around Bunners the local 'hardware' store; you can't leave without buying something. Checkers is a great find in a beautiful border town. We came via Bishops Castle and I'd def recommend the Three Tuns Pubs en route - great lunchtime stop.

Room Tip: Check bed/room size fit size of party! Rooms 1-3 seem to be fabulously large enough considering size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mot1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
0.1 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
11.7 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#2 of 2 in Garthmyl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Checkers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Checkers

Property: The Checkers
Address: Broad Street, Montgomery SY15 6PN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Hotel Class:5 star — The Checkers 5*
Also Known As:
The Checkers Montgomery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing