We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good , will not disappoint”

The King Arthur Hotel
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Good , will not disappoint”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This charming pub/restaurant set in the heart of Gower is well worth a visit. I took friends down the Gower and stopped off for food. Good portions , well priced and the ambiance is excellent. Friendly , attentive staff but not overwhelming and ............................. Joe's Ice cream.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 999Mike_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    107
    31
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So good we keep going back”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I visit The King Arthur regularly, mainly because its the best place to visit on our tour of the Gower on our motorcycle. The experience is enhanced when the sun is shining as the bench seating on the green provides an idyllic setting to enjoy a drink in the sunshine. On days when the sun is not available, we have sat inside and have sampled the food. Although the pricing is on the higher side for a pub/hotel, we are rarely disappointed by what is served.

We have also attended a wedding at this venue which was fantastic.

We will undoubtedly return in the summer evenings on the motorbike as we have been doing recently , in fact we are probably there 3 times a week. :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good place for a walkers lunch!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stopped in at the King Arthur after walking over the Cefn Bryn. The pub is in a great situation on the common below the ridge. You can see if from some way away and I felt my pace rise as I could hear the beer calling.

The pub has a warm friendly feel and offers a diverse range of quality food. Judging by the other clients, the restaurant is clearly popular with the locals. We had good food and beer and left refreshed for our walk back across Oxwich sands.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely meal but felt rushed”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Lovely meal and reasonably priced but no sooner had we put our forks down the plates were swiped from us.Same with glasses drank the last drop they were taken straight away.Felt rushed.Notthe type of place to spend an evening in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hughes1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Food was excellent, all fresh ingredients and freshly cooked...can't fault it! The lamb burger was amazing! Great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff, and also double dragon on draught....lovely. highly recommend

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eth121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King Arthur Hotel also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Llanmadoc, Swansea County
 
Oldwalls, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to The King Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing