We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”
Review of Fairyhill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairyhill
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reynoldston
Certificate of Excellence
South East London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed January 2, 2009

My partner and I arrived at the hotel on the 28th December for 2 nights - our Christmas present to one another. From when we stepped through the front door, I knew we would be in for a real treat. The staff were extremely friendly and very attentive. We were shown to our Room (room 3 - standard room) which overlooked the back of the hotel. I was highly impressed with the cleanliness of the room, it was small but fine and decorated to a high standard. We ate in the dining room on both nights - and I am somewhat surprised to hear that other visitors to the hotel were unimpressed with the standard of food served. I have eaten in many an expensive restaurant and believe the food herenwas above average and cooked to perfection. Breakfast also was excellent. The bar prices were also not over the top a beer £2.95 and a pimms £5.00 so again surprised at other peoples reviews. Staff that go the extra mile goes a long way in my eyes. Whilst away I was suffering from a very severe sore throat. We asked at breakfast whether there was a walk-in medical centre nearby. 5 mins later Audrey on reception came into the dining room and told me that she had spoken to the local doctors and had arranged for us to go along where I would be seen within the hour. Thankfully I was prescribed antibiotics and I was able to enjoy the rest of my break.

The grounds were delightful and we were blessed with excellent weather. The Gower offers spectacular scenery and I recommend you stay for an enchanting few days at the Fairy Hill.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the cleanliness of the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BOD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    58
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
56
212
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2008

We turned up with no reservation off-season and were quoted quite a steep price but when we declined, were given a good discount for 2 nights (although this is the price quoted on their website anyway). It was still expensive, but we were treated very well. The room was clean and fresh towels, robes and friut were provided daily. The room was cosy and had good facilities - digital TV and DVD player (DVDs borrowed from reception). There was no hospitality tray but when we asked for one, were offered tea/coffee to be brought up to our room. Unfortunately, we were then charged for this, which felt a bit unfair, considering what we were paying. The breakfast was lovely - just what I'd expect in a 5* hotel.
We ate both nights in the restaurant which was fine but the menu didn't change (perhaps due to off season) so I wouldn't want to eat more than 2 nights there. The location was peacful and the gardens fun to walk in.

  • Liked — peaceful location, good breakfast, clean and well serviced room
  • Disliked — being charged for tea/coffe when there was no hospitality tray
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmitefaceUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

we never stay in the same place twice. we rarely visit the same area twice, life's just too short and the world is full of things we haven't seen yet. but we made a big fat exception for this place and enjoyed a rare weekend that was somehow better than the last time.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — too far from boston
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salemsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

My husband and I spent 3 days in the Gower last September, and I have to agree with the reviewer below who pointed out that the dining experience at Fairyhill was.......boring!

We too had the 3 course meal, a complete rip-off for food that was neither especially tasty, innovative, or seasonal. It was more akin to a 3-course dinner you might find yourself eating at some sort of business convention at a business hotel. Edible, but nothing special. I had hoped for something a bit more 'magical' from the kitchen of someplace that calls itself Fairyhill!

Adding to the boredom was the totally silent dining room, with all the diners speaking in hushed whispers. Also, it was a bit annoying of being put through all the hoops of being lured into the tiny bar for an overpriced and atmosphere-less drink, and then overpriced after dinner drinks/coffee.

We ate at two other places besides Fairyhill in the Gower - the King's Head Pub in Lllangennith and the Britannia Inn in nearby Llanmaddoc. Personally, I thought the food at the King's Head was just terrible. On the bright side, the Britannia Inn had delicious and reasonably priced dinner, and a cozy modern dining room. I wish we had eaten there all 3 nights!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank Crickett28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalong, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Went to fairyhill, it is a big stuffy house.
Paid £40 for 3 courses which was fine but they were nothing special. Starter and main course were fine, desert of filo pastry and apple was alright....sort of.
Decor and atmosphere, very stuffy, not helped by the fact the heating got stuck on. I dont mind going to upscale restaurants if the food is good, but this place is dull and so is the food.

  • Liked — didnt stay there
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catsarecutefact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reynoldston
3.7 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.2 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
9.7 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
12.0 mi away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
11.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairyhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyhill

Property: Fairyhill
Address: Reynoldston SA3 1BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Reynoldston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reynoldston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairyhill 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairyhill is the jewel in the crown of the beautiful Gower Peninsula. For those looking for fantastic food, great atmosphere and peaceful surroundings, you will find what others have talked about for years. Imaginative use of traditional ingredients restaurant, an award-winning wine list, eight luxury bedrooms, combine to create an unforgettable ambience that is "The Fairyhill Experience". Conveniently situated for Gower beaches, Mumbles and Swansea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fairyhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairyhill Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing