We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed luxury in a beautiful location”
Review of Fairyhill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairyhill
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reynoldston
Certificate of Excellence
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Relaxed luxury in a beautiful location”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were three couples, staying two nights on an annual get-together. The grounds, including beautiful walks along a small river and lake, mature trees, and long lawns, makes for a relaxing and quiet stay. Terrace drinks, good bar and lounge seating and attractive dining room all contribute to being a special place to stay.
Our room 7 was very well equipped, large comfy bed, great views over the lawns. Hot water, good towels, and attentive friendly local staff all contributed to a memorable weekend. It's very expensive, but its very good....
I have reviewed the restaurant separately as outstanding....

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndyLFC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    60
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
57
215
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the second time I visit Fairyhill and I am delighted to say that the service, venue, food and general experience has excelled only its own record. A truly fantastic place. Would recommend it to absolutely anyone wishing to "get away" for a few days.

Rhossili Bay in the sunshine was breathtaking, we even saw a seal!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADallaserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

An enchanting luxury retreat with one of the best restaurants and wine lists outside of London. The staff are warm, friendly and extremely knowledgeable in regards to the menu, wine list and local attractions.

The new chief has retained all of the classics but added in some new exciting dishes. What impressed me was the extensive use of local produce, if you want to sample the best Wales has to offer this is the place to start!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianUK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was the sixth year we have visited Fairyhill and just one of the things which keeps us coming back is the warm and friendly greeting we get every time. The staff not only remember our names but what we do and where we live, making conversation seem as though we had only been there yesterday. The beautiful setting of this hotel never ceases to amaze us; walking in the grounds on a bright sunny day or during a light shower, or viewing a windy gale from the lounge always makes us want to stay longer than originally planned. As usual the dining experience was exquisite, with smart service always at hand. We holiday in the Gower every year and always treat ourselves to a luxury stay at Fairyhill, making our holiday complete. Many thanks to Paul, Andrew, Audrey and team for looking after us so well. See you next year.

Room Tip: Room 8 has fabulous views of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoveActually82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Dined at Fairyhill with a group of friends whilst holidaying nearby. Found the service friendly and accommodating (though a touch slow in topping up glasses at times). Food was excellent - great flavours, high quality and locally sourced produce. A varied wine list with prices ranging from reasonable to stratospheric. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Took my family for my daughters birthday lunch which included my Grandaughter. Delightful location and very helpful staff. The lunch was excellent and I look forward to our next visit. The menu had a good choice and the chef was more than happy to provide children portions for my Grandaughter. Overall the lunch was a delightful occasion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Beware enthusiastic rants of reviewers here. We’ve lived in Gower most of our lives and take the opportunity from time to time dine at Fairy Hill. Indisputably, the gardens and “house” offer rare ambiance but its restaurant is over-priced and occasionally disappointing. We had become bored with the venue. Then we saw an advertisement extoling the talents of their new chef, Neil Hollis, and decided it was time for another visit. In company with another couple we lunched at Fairy Hill. The canapés and starters made the grade but the main course was a disaster. A rare fillet steak ordered by one of our party (clearly and emphatically specified on order) was presented obviously well done, almost black. A quick cut confirmed the prognosis. No hint of pink! It was sent back for the chef to have another go. How long does it take to cook rare steak? Well, at Fairy Hill, enough time for another table to be served and the rest of our party to finish their main course. Our hungry diner waited and waited and eventually said: “Just forget it!” We left without looking at deserts or coffee. The apology from the owner (his words): “Well, no chef is perfect!” Our advice: Give the place a miss until they get a better chef/owner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank penpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reynoldston
3.7 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
153 reviews
1.2 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
628 reviews
9.7 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
972 reviews
9.2 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
9.7 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairyhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyhill

Property: Fairyhill
Address: Reynoldston SA3 1BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Reynoldston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reynoldston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairyhill 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairyhill is the jewel in the crown of the beautiful Gower Peninsula. For those looking for fantastic food, great atmosphere and peaceful surroundings, you will find what others have talked about for years. Imaginative use of traditional ingredients restaurant, an award-winning wine list, eight luxury bedrooms, combine to create an unforgettable ambience that is "The Fairyhill Experience". Conveniently situated for Gower beaches, Mumbles and Swansea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fairyhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairyhill Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing