We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely large family accomodation. A winner.”

Review of The Old Vicarage

Exterior from upper lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior from upper lawn
Sitting room Main entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Exterior from upper lawn
Sitting room
Main entrance
Library Desk
Kitchen
Sitting Room
Bedroom
View from lower lawn
Oak Dining Table in Conservatory
Entrance Hall
View from conservatory
Family bathroom
Library
Kitchen Range
Minstrel Gallery
View through gates
Library through to Hall
Family Room
Conservatory
Entrance Hall
Exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Reynoldston, Swansea County, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George B
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely large family accomodation. A winner.”
Reviewed June 7, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This is a lovely house with loads of space, light and airy, just homely. It's only 10 minutes from clean, spectacular beaches. There is a garage/shop two minutes drive away. The gardens a well fenced and safe for small children and the slope is ideal for little wheels. The family of moles was intriguing for children. Even our very old dog loved it and gained a little more life. I loved this house from the moment I stepped through the door.
The owners were friendly and very helpful from start to finish. Would definitely go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JetSetGir...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious, cosy - wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Vicarage was a true gem of a house. We booked it for one weekend as a large group of 15; the house was perfectly sized and easily fitted us all! The Gower Peninsula was a beautiful setting, and the Old Vicarage made this an even more wonderful weekend stay. We all wished we could have stayed longer.

Alison was extremely helpful with the booking and logistics in advance of our arrival. On arrival, we found the house warm, lit-up and ready for a wonderful weekend. There are several stoves throughout the property for a proper log fire, lots of sofas and places to relax. The kitchen/dining area is possibly the highlight of the house - plenty of space for cooking and feasting. We loved the high ceilings, quality furniture and plenty of crockery, cooking equipment and other utilities.

Thank you Alison and we will certainly be back to show our families what a wonderful place this is!

Would 100% recommend to anyone looking for a house for family, friends or holiday stays.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pearl of The Gower, charm and hospitality ”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the vicarage for a group of friends during a weekend in September. We had other friends and family dotted around the area in various accommodations but everybody was jealous of those in The Old Vicarage!

The house itself is beautifully kept and presented, a charming piece of architecture. The furnishings were comfortable and far more luxurious than many of our friends were expecting!

It's not often that the accommodation itself is the highlight of a weekend away. Two of our party loved it so much that they're planning to book return trips there with their families.

David and Allison were superbly accommodating, welcoming and helpful. Thank you thank you thank you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Classic family holiday”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was a fantastic venue for 12 of our family and close friends. We had a superb week on our favourite UK beaches and around the Gower countryside. The place is 'lived in' rather than a show home so we all felt instantly at home and relaxed. Alison our host was available at the end of the phone or via email and we had very few problems during our week. Booking communications before we went were rather sporadic due to the owners having email trouble but the house, facilities and location were well worth the investment. Highly recommend and we'll be back in a year or two!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisba...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Christmas 2016”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our extended family had a great Christmas at this wonderful house.
The kitchen is large and modern. We ate our Christmas dinner in the conservatory..... fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrailBlaz...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hidden gem!! ”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just stayed her for my sisters hen weekend and what a weekend we had!! We had a fantastic weekend which was made even better by the house. I cannot recommend this house enough, it is beautiful, well kept, looked after and was exactly what we were looking for. The conservatory and the kitchen are to die for! Beautiful views all around, very peaceful! Massive garden for entertaining! The owners are fantastic, so helpful and can't do enough for you! They were always there to help throughout the weekend and the months leading up to our stay. There is ample room for parking, we had extra visitors in the day and there was never a struggle to park! We even had a limo and a party bus on the drive at one time!! This place is fantastic and nothing I say will do it justice until you see it!! We are already looking to book again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming and cosy house with all the mod cons”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a find!
5 golfing couples stayed here for 3 nights at the end of April and we had an absolute blast. There are so many positives about this house but probably the best was the enormous kitchen/dining area where we shared breakfast each morning. Plenty of room for 5-6 cars outside. Large bbq and table and chairs outside for when the weather warms up. 5 bedrooms upstairs (2 en suite, 1 double with bunk beds, 1 twin with an extra bed, and 1 other twin) while the downstairs study (which has a sofa bed) can easily be converted to a bedroom. House nice and warm. The kitchen has all the mod cons while the sitting room has 3 large comfy sofas with Sky TV and all the channels (Alison & Mike kindly arranged for us to watch the Joshua vs Klitschko fight live). There is a nearby mini supermarket at the garage half a mile away which is well stocked. In the evenings we ate out at the Britannia Inn (authentic Welsh county pub), King Arthur pub (voted top 10 in the UK) and the Beach House in Oxwich (which could be Michelin star it is that good); all of these are within 10 minutes drive, and the local taxi firm took us to and from them all. We played golf at Pennard (15 minutes), Ashburnham (50 minutes) and Royal Porthcawl (1 hour) which are all fantastic in their own way.
Will strongly consider coming back with my extended family next summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing