We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Machine House Restaurant

Machine House Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Rossett
Price range: $31 - $94
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving modern food in a modern relaxed environment.
Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was a very surprising to find such interesting food in this little restaurant. Staff were so friendly and helpful. No snobbishness about wine, just offered a good choice of wine by the glass. Locally produced food is the main theme and it was very carefully and imaginatively cooked. It is a bit dark inside, needed the candle to read the menu! The restaurant is behind the old Churton's restaurant, which was a bit surprising, as we thought that was where Machinehouse would be operating. There is a pretty little garden to which desperate smokers from a party upstairs, seem to spend the evening rushing outside to have a puff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JiddaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    36
    21
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place, and it is an absolute gem.
The prices are a little higher than you may expect for a village restaurant, but are perfectly justifiable in this case.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simonc506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited the Machine House for the first time in May with my partner for a little treat, and what a treat it was !
From the moment we walked in the staff were very welcoming & warm, taking our coats, sitting us down etc & making the effort to talk to us which was really nice. Good customer service goes far and this is the best service we've had out of all the restaurants in the Wrexham/Chester area.
To start with I had Crab Bisque it was BEAUTIFUL, my partner had the asparagus & poached egg which he thoroughly enjoyed. Our mains were also very tasty and FULL of flavour! ..As for the desserts; Well that was the best Crème Brulee I've ever had!
To finish our meal my partner asked for an alcoholic drink which they didn't have but the waitress was quick to find an alternative that tasted even better, & also recommended I try a liqueur, called Merlyn which was heavenly! (If you like Baileys you would LOVE that)
I don't usually write reviews on Restaurants but felt I had to with this one, the front of house staff are amazing & should be very proud of themselves, their efforts didn't go unnoticed (especially the owners daughter, she was amazing with us) ! & The food , just beautifully presented and sooooo flavoursome! We will be going back without doubt .

One thing I can say is that If you go , you certainly won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RestandRelaxation88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrecsam, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great little resaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Friendly staff great locally produced food fish a speciality overall good value
Need to book for weekends

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank robsmith2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My village restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have been here twice in the past two weeks and really love the place.
From outside it doesn't look much, but I think that is part of the charm. As you open the door you are greeted with a lovely smell - partly from the food and partly from the old building.
The staff are really welcoming, friendly and cannot do enough for you. I haven't got any further than the Rioja on the comprehensive wine list because it is such a good wine!
Menu choice is exactly what I like - not too much to overwhelm you but enough that there is something different to try each time. Cost-wise everything is as I would expect for this standard of food.
I look forward to many more visits and feel spoilt to have a restaurant like this on my doorstep.
(The photos do not do it justice!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machine House Restaurant also viewed

Rossett, Wrexham
 

Been to Machine House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing