We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good .... and not so good.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rossett
wales
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good .... and not so good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel in recent years has had a refit...and to be honest it is a vast improvement asthetically since our last visit approximately 7 years ago. The hotel looks lpristine, and the room we were allocated (No.42) was a refurbished room...and was very tastefully decorated.

We had booked a D,B&B rate of £90. This was a great deal, but I gather this has now ended.

The above was the 'good' and now for the 'not so good'

Our 3 course meals were very good, but the rack of lamb I received was bordering on raw, so unfortunately it was sent back. The replacement was the same piece of lamb, but put on a griddle to cook further! The dinner (3 course) is £34.95 ...so not cheap.

We ordered two cooked breakfast, mine came after a long wait...but unfortunately, my husband's failed to turn up at all! When we inquired about the missing breakfast, the server had no idea about the order! Twenty minutes after I finished my breakfast, the breakfast order for my husband turned up! Really not good enough. We were the only ones in the restaurant when breakfast service had finished at just after 10am. We had sat at our table before 9am...a good job we were not in a hurry, otherwise we would have had to leave before the second breakfast turned up!

At reception upon checking in, we were asked f we would like to order a morning paper for the following morning...we requested the Times. No morning paper turned up outside our room! Oh dear...such a simple request.

On checking out, we were not asked about our stay..whether we enjoyed our stay, if everything was ok? and for this reason, I did not mention their failings in service. Had I been asked (as I think I should have) then I would have aired my disappointment as regards the above problems.

In my opinion, too many shortcomings for a one night stay. It could be so much better. Such a shame.

Would I return? Not a definite 'no' but would seek other hotels first before booking, as there are a few in the same category in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    278
    156
    76
    59
See reviews for
165
447
15
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I found reception friendly and helpful even after a mishap with the room. The room was quiet and the bed was huge!

In the restaurant I had such a great meal with the two hilarious and friendly waitresses. The food was also a delight.

Breakfast was also nice - cold meats, cheeses, fruits, everything cooked fresh...

I was staying here for business and will recommend it to colleagues, I will also return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothyboja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked the spring break @ 99.00 which included an executive room upgrade , breakfast , and a 3 course evening meal ., on arrival the hotel and grounds look majestic , and the receptionist was helpful polite and professional . On entering our room we were very slightly dissapointed , but upon ringing reception we were moved immediately , with apologies and a complimentary drink at the bar , and on returning to our room we had a nice cold bottle of Prosecco waiting for us with the staffs compliments , a lovely touch . In the run up to our stay my wife had been ill and around tea time she wasn't feeling 100 percent so I rang reception and enquired if it would be possible to have our evening meal in the room , she wasn't sure but she would enquire. 5 minutes a waitress arrived with menus and less than 30 minutes later our meals arrived , which I have to say were delicious and piping hot ! The whole hotel is spotlessly Clean , the bar area well stocked and bright , the staff seem very happy in the jobs and gave off a positive vibe and were very accommodating and adaptable . Overall a very enjoyable break and I would thoroughly recommend the hotel , role on the end Of May when hopefully we will return for my birthday ! 10 out of ten from us !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

we booked a '' superior double room '' which is described as a larger newly refurbished room on their website !! - this we found to be very misleading - in fact this is more of a trading standards issue - the bedroom had numerous problems which anyone could see - and following two requests I am still waiting for the manager to phone me - having put our stay down to experience be warned - before you check in ask to see the bedroom first.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenixflyer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have stayed here previously and although the rooms were only average for the high price,the food had been excellent.
Last night we returned and were extremely disappointed at the service and more so with the food.The staff were all very smiley and friendly but NONE seemed to get the point.The food we were offered was a limited choice at a high price .It was carefully explained to me that I didn't actually have to eat the dessert I wouldn't want(???Did I think the place so bad that I would be force fed?)
We smiled, chose from a menu we weren't interested in,my husband left most of each course .The food was not at all good and the following morning I saw the bar menu which looked very interesting and had never been offered.
We were charged £10 more each than had been quoted the night before and it wasn't until I became very angry(not a nice start to a day or a supposed relaxing break)that the manager agreed to refund the overcharge.No suggestion of recompense for poor meal or lack of information No real understanding of the issues-tried to tell me how I hadn't dealt with it well enough-should have summoned him mid meal apparently-not how I would choose to spend my saturday evening..I was assured the night before and again in the morning that it was all to do with their decision to upgrade the restaurant in order to gain a rosette(?worse choice,poor food?).WE won't return and will stop recommending to friends and family.Such a shame.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190756Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I found our room extremely comfortable and clean with a comfortable bed and pillows, lovely furnishings and tastefully decorated with lamps with a good colour scheme. The bathroom was immaculate with excellent lighting over the mirror. The room was quite quiet and the overall setting of the hotel is tranquil.
We used the indoor swimming pool which was of a good temperature although we could not use the sauna as it was not working.
We were meeting friends on the Wirral that evening so did not sample the menu but on a previous occasion we had found the bar menu to be very tasty.
We loved the breakfast: such a lot to choose from on the buffet table including meats and cheeses. I also enjoyed the kipper and poached egg(cooked to perfection) from the kitchen.
The service was friendly and efficient and we look forward to staying there again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and overlooked a grassy garden. quite peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

stayed in many different hotels over the years with the family (wife and 2 boys) never had a bad room ever until now. room 2 wasnt quiet had the fans outside on the flat roof above the swimming pool no thermastat to control heating turned radiators off and still too hot. lovely large double bed luckily to fit extra child due to uncomfortable camp bed(the one that goes under sofa bed) bathroom furnishings not 100 percent ie cracked toilet and cistern no hot water until we rang reception ! and tv remote not working and changed after asking for the second time. On a positive note the breakfast was first class and the staff were very friendly and helpful . Location is good and ideal setting for a wedding but please look after guests who are not involved with the wedding party .....small problems add up to big problems!

Room Tip: away from flat roof above swimming pool and disco music from wedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossett
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Rossett Hall Hotel
Rossett Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South

Property: Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
Address: Llyndir Hall Llyndir Lane, Rossett, Wrexham LL12 0AY, Wales (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Chester Llyndir Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham > Rossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rossett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South is the perfect escape to explore to historic city of Chester. Just six miles from Chester city centre, only six miles from the M53 and nine miles from the M56. The hotel has plenty of on-site parking and 48 great bedrooms. The hotel has lots of great facilities including 8 meeting rooms for up to 120 delegates, a health club with a swimming pool and spa, an AA rosette awarded Garden Restaurant, a majestic ballroom which is perfect for wedding receptions up to 130 guests and free superfast WiFi throughout. The hotel also has a beautiful Italian terrace with licence to hold Civil wedding Ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Llyndir Hall Hotel
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South Rossett, Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing