We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rossett
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We got married at the Llyndir Hall on 16th August 2012 and had the loveliest day. The hotel staff were fantastic at dressing the room so quickly and moving the wedding venue out side for us. We could not thank Dan the wedding coordinator enough for making our day so special and running so smoothly. The rooms, food, drink and entertainment were all to a high standard and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    278
    157
    76
    59
See reviews for
165
448
15
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

A bit of an enigma, this one!

The place stands very nicely in lovely grounds and is obviously a popular wedding venue although we there for an over-night whilst attending a 50th birthday party nearby.

There's lots of faux Louis 16th furniture around in the public areas - thrones for the Posh & Becks style weddings and so on.

On arrival the lady at reception was very helpful. Booked us a taxi for later on and got us a 'pint-pot' to put some flowers in that we were taking to the friend's party.

The room was clean and tidy but the decor was SOOOOO tired! The bathroom similar. I can't imagine the room or the bathroom have been decorated in the last 15 years but I could be wrong. The style was a bit 80s.

I was a bit spooked in the morning when I opened the curtains and saw a concrete cow (a la Milton Keyens) outside! But saw the humour of that along with the sheep and collie on the main lawns.

The breakfast in the morning was good and plentiful. Again the staff in the dining room were very friendly and helpful.

Would be a great place if the owners could afford to redecorate the bedrooms - a bit of TLC needed, that's all.

At £107 for B&B through laterooms.com I thought it was OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I booked this hotel for a short 2 day break with my wife. On arrival we were impressed with the approach to the hotel and the building itself. We were checked in within minutes and checking out our room. The building is old and therefore does not conform to modern bright airy buildings, but this was part of its charm.The room was a good size with a massive bed which was really comfortable. The net curtains could do with being removed as they were not very clean and blocked an enormous amount of light into the room. The staff were very good. The pool is average size but we had it to ourselves. The jacuzzi was broken and was not going to be repaired so it is covered over. The sauna was good.Breakfast was really nice with loads of choice. The statues and garden decorations look like there used to be a theme but then they let a child have free range over deciding where everything went. Chester is only about 15mins away.
Overall we had a really nice mid week break here and would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlySimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsall
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Potentially a wonderful setting for our wedding but a few minor details meant it was not perfect. On arrival the staff lamented about the very long working hours due to back to back weddings. The wedding itself was wonderful and the food first class. However no hot water in the morning meant the bride and bridesmaids had to shower in the gym. The wine at dinner wasnt served until after the starter meaning people were getting up to but their own and the wedding cake was never served. If more staff were available this venue would have been perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavinaKelsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Don't be fooled by the beautiful approach to the hotel, bedroom left a lot to be dersired, wallpaper coming off the walls, broken window with tape over it, bathroom door would only open half way, bed very uncomfortable. Evening meal very expensive portions small and overcooked, one very young girl waitress covering restaurant as rest of staff busy with a wedding at the hotel. Very noisy loud music until 12.30am, then constant hum/buzz all night. Breakfast was overcooked no bread for toast, ran out of mushrooms and no fried eggs no one about to ask. When checking out I had to ask for a receipt the girl was not friendly and very put out. Felt as though no one was interested and no attempt was made to deal with the issues we had. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berylalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Lovely approach up to the hotel, check in very easy, room was very clean but very dark, beds not that comfy and sofa bed not comfy at all ! nice little bar and the lounge and drawing room was very comfortable ! Food not that good starter went back as it was over cooked and not worth the money ! Even when they replaced it I really did think it was over priced ! Main course was ok ! Service quite poor ! Breakfast was ok but staff not helpful ! Check out reception was not friendly did not want to make conversation ! Did enjoy our stay not sure I would return !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah99sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Me and my husband held our wedding here on the 18th of August 2012 and it was flawless everything was perfect
We went to the venue a few days before the wedding and dropped of various wedding dec's and flowers and the staff were more than happy to set up all our things up on the morning of the wedding,
On the day of the wedding it's self everything was fantastic everything ran like clock work and the food was absolutely amazing that's what our guest loved the most
What a beautiful place for photographs as well
The staff were so friendly and nothing was to much trouble we got married on the Saturday and stayed till the Monday and the service was still great even though there was another wedding on the Sunday
We stayed in the bridal suite on the sat which is a beautiful big room with separate living room very clean and tidy we were moved to the willow suite on the Sunday which we were informed about before booking the wedding because of the Sunday wedding taking place the room was equal beautiful with a huge bathroom could of done with better lighting as it decorated in a darker style but other than that lovely
Overall a fantastic hotel the staff food n gardens are what make it :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshlieEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossett
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Rossett Hall Hotel
Rossett Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South

Property: Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
Address: Llyndir Hall Llyndir Lane, Rossett, Wrexham LL12 0AY, Wales (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Chester Llyndir Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham > Rossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rossett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South is the perfect escape to explore to historic city of Chester. Just six miles from Chester city centre, only six miles from the M53 and nine miles from the M56. The hotel has plenty of on-site parking and 48 great bedrooms. The hotel has lots of great facilities including 8 meeting rooms for up to 120 delegates, a health club with a swimming pool and spa, an AA rosette awarded Garden Restaurant, a majestic ballroom which is perfect for wedding receptions up to 130 guests and free superfast WiFi throughout. The hotel also has a beautiful Italian terrace with licence to hold Civil wedding Ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Llyndir Hall Hotel
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South Rossett, Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing