We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff.”
Review of Rossett Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rossett Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rossett
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay.
Room was good apart from the TV which seemed old, had limited channels and no subtitles.
I am rather deaf so this can be a problem to those next door :). TV is also very low to the floor.
Dined in Oscars the first night, different menu in the Restaurant to the menu in the room folder otherwise everything perfect..
Dined in Oscars the second night, asked for the Early Bird menu which was described in the room folder along with a Menu.
Was told there was no Early Bird menu, should have been removed from the rooms.
Ordered from the same menu as before but cheaper meals. Was not as impressed as the previous night, but paid less.
If you get a good price for the room it's an absolute bargain.
Staff are superb, small details need attending to make the overall experience as good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RochdaleMally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 570 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Four of us recently spent 2 nights at this hotel in order to attend a family funeral. The hotel was excellent value and the staff very friendly and ready to please. Our rooms were comfortable, clean and well decorated with a fridge, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. We had heavy snow, so decided to eat in the hotel restaurant rather than venture out. The food was well cooked and varied. The restaurant area is about to undergo a much needed revamp and the service was very slow, but the food worth waiting for.
Breakfast was also served in the restaurant and was ample, varied and of good quality. They are happy to provide poached eggs, etc. if requested.
The hotel has recently changed hands and is being up-dated. I would say that the floorboards were very noisy and we could hear the people upstairs walking back and forth, whereas the double glazing blocked out any noise from outside the building - despite their being roadworks on the road outside.
I would recommend this hotel as comfortable, and good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LubylouSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

we have just stayed for 2 nights while visiting daughter in Wrexham we only paid £79 for both for the 2 nights couldn't fault it that included breakfast as well, the staff were all friendly and would def stay again just hope i can get a great price again.

Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mich46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin E, Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Rossett Hall after your recent stay. I was very please you enjoyed the hotels facilities and appreciated the value for money. If you are ever visiting the area in the future our best possible rates and special deals can always be found on our website or by telephoning our reservations team on 01244 571000.

Once again, many thanks for your review and I hope to welcome you to Rossett Hall in the near future.

Kind regards

Martin Elliott - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had a two night break here in January. Despite the freezing weather, the hotel was very cosy, pleasant ambiance and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was very pleasant, facing the rear car park and therefore nice and quiet. It might be worth mentioning that there were no weddings this particular weekend - it may not be so quiet if there was one. We ate in on both nights, the food was good quality, nicely served. Saturday night was quiet busy in the restaurant and we did have to wait a long time to eat after ordering, not really a problem as there were people to talk to and the bar area is very pleasant. Hotel is on a bus route into Chester so we used our passes, but it's also very handy for the Park and Ride. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrygirl1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin E, Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you so much for you kind words regarding your stay at Rossett Hall in January. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotels facilities and took advantage of our closeness to the city of Chester. The weather was particular cold and wintery for your stay but it seems you didn't allow this to spoil your enjoyment of the area. I have passed onto my team your positive words regarding their service which was much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you to Rossett Hall in the future and please to not hesitate to contact our reservations team to help you with any future travel plans to the area.

Yours sincerely
Martin Eliiott - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here with a Groupon voucher given as a gift for Chester.

After arriving to a very empty hotel we checked and were given our double room which was both spacious and welcoming, however after closer inspection it was not all as we first saw.
The whole room was just tiered, the walls around the tea making area were splashed with coffee and tea from previous people, the tv was lower than the bed so impossible to see, the bathroom was grubby with the lights not working. But all of this could of been forgiven except for the main problem, the beds were AWFUL, perhaps the worst I have slept on. They comprised of two old mattress pushed together which each sank in the middle with a hard springs pushing into your back with no option to be close to your partner for fear of the hard mattress ridge. We were booked in for two nights and after one night of very restless sleep we seriously considered if we could stay another night.

One benefit of the hotel was the bar, new built area with sofas to have a drink on. Had a good night down here. We did not eat here as we ate in the lovely pub down the road, but we did have desert which was tasty.

The website also mentions that they are only 5 minutes from Chester, false, they are in fact a
15 minute drive from Chester City Center.

Overall this hotel could be very nice if they spent some money on the rooms, however I dont feel this will ever happen as the whole place seems very geared up towards functions with some rooms on the side for guests to stay over.

If you are planning on staying in Chester, on a budget go for the Premier Inn in the city center, it clean comfy and you wont be disappointed. Otherwise try the Hilton DoubleTree, stayed there last year and it was brilliant!

Room Tip: Ensure that you dont have the first room on the left up the stairs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin E, Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Rossett Hall following your recent stay.

Firstly, please accept my appologies for any disappointment you felt as a result of this visit, in particular the comfort and quality of the bed you had to endure. Equally, I was disappointed to read the poor quality of housekeeping you experienced. Although this is not meant by any means as an excuse, Convivial hotels has recently purchased Rossett Hall and we are working tirelessly to upgrade and improve the hotel and bedrooms. We are currently carrying out some major refurbishments to the ground floor and the bedrooms, ensuring the building is of a high standard for our guests. Unfortunately, your experience was not as we would have wish but I have taken your comments on board and have made the improvements required, including a new bed, to ensure future guests do not experience similar problems.

Thank you for your kind comments about the restaurant and bar, I am only sorry you did not choose to eat at the hotel, as I am confident you would have found the food excellent and very good value for money.

As you experienced Chester is lovely to visit but is a busy and bustling city which can be quite noisy to stay in, most of our guests prefer to enjoy Chester for shopping and sight-seeing but stay in a hotel like Rossett that is set in a quiet and picturesque village. Chester is only 5 miles away from Rossett and as our website correctly says, can be reached in around 10 minutes. I would like to assure you and any future guests that Rossett Hall has a great deal more to offer than the stereotypical chain hotels you mentioned. The hotel is set around a beautiful Georgian hall with an excellent restaurant, very good facilities and friendly, personal service.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies. If at any time you would consider revisiting Rossett Hall, I would be grateful if you would contact me directly, so I can personally deal with your booking and have the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel.

Yours sincerely

Martin Elliott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the beautiful Rossett Hall on Saturday 19th Jan 2013 and had a fabulous time. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, the food in Oscars Restaurant was 1st class. Nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Superior room was beautiful, lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin E, Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Rossett Hall. I read your comment with a great deal of pride, as your experience of the hotel is what we work hard to provide for all of our guests. I have past on your comments to my team which were received gratefully.

I do hope you will visit Rossett Hall again in the near future and I look forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely

Martin Elliott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nice quiet village close to Chester, with buses running into the town cntre every 12 minutes, neagting the need to use the car!
The hotel is pleasant, the receptionist on arrival seemed new and was not quiet up to speed. The information pack in the room could do with a bit more information about the facilities in the hotel as we were left to guess what was available and where it was.
This is much better suited for business travel or parties.
The restaurant was empty on our arrival day so we chose to eat in the village which has at least two very good establishments, a pub with great food and service and a higher class restaurant which sadly was fully booked the day we wanted to eat there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin E, Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to upload your review of Rossett Hall on the TripAdvisor website. I am very please that you enjoyed your stay and found the facilities to your satisfaction.

Rossett Hall has recently been purchased by Convivial Hotels and we are investing greatly in the property, refurbishing some bedrooms and parts of the ground floor including the introduction of a new restaurant concept.

I hope you will consider staying at Rossett Hall in the future, so you can see the improvements and experience our new restaurant.

Yours sincerely

Martin Elliott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossett
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#4 of 10 in Wrexham
656 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
413 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossett Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossett Hall Hotel

Address: Chester Rd, Rossett, Wrexham LL12 ODE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham > Rossett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rossett
Price Range: $78 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rossett Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossett Hall Hotel is a fine Georgian Country House Hotel, situated in the idyllic village of Rossett, just minutes from Chester Business Park and the Motorway network. All 49 rooms are fully equipped with telephones, tea/coffee, facilities, trouser press and there are two conference rooms. In the evening you will find that Oscars Brasserie provides the ideal venue to relax and sample the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rossett Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Rossett Hall Hotel Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing