We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveler rating
237
203
107
55
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
237
203
107
55
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoscars restaurantgolden lionlovely hotelevening mealtrouser presswonderful weddingwedding partyreception areabuffet stylefunction roomrestaurant managervisiting chesterwedding receptionnorth walespark and ridecouldn't faultfull english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 632 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

My brother got married here in June an we stayed overnight for ease. I'm reviewing the room and breakfast here, but the wedding day was fabulous. I went in to the hotel in person to book ages in advance and found the reception staff at that point to be extremely helpful. It's no secret locally that the hotel went into administration some time ago and is currently being run by a management company for the bank. The management company have been drawing business in by putting out special offers on sites such as groupon, whichfix a great idea, if you dont overbook when you're not hosting a wedding. The hotel was that fully booked up for the night of the wedding that some of the guests couldn't get rooms and ended up staying at the best western down the road. I should also state that the offers they had on were not open to wedding guests and we had to pay a lot more! Also, despite our requests, they put us all together in the older part of the hotel where the rooms are tatty and run down and in need of redecorating. The reception staff were rude and helpful closer to the wedding. That said, the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was not as clean as we would have liked and the last occupants half used toiletries were left in the shower. It was very warm the day we stayed and our room was above the kitchens so it was unbearably hot and quite noisy with the windows open. I believe the rooms in the newer part of the hotel are lovel. The breakfast in the morning was the highlight. Good buffet style full English, cereals and toast an fresh coffee and the service was excellent. Would I stay again? Maybe if we had another wedding there. However, if they still havent secured a buyer, I wouldn't book as a wedding guest so I could get a better deal and a better room!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagertoseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Many thanks for your review, I am happy you had a great time in Rossett. I will certainly share your comments with the team who will be more than pleased.

I look forward in welcoming you to Rossett in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The rooms were clean and lots of storage. My room was huge, and even my en-suite was also huge. The shower was a bit ropey, and could do with renewing sooner rather than later. It dripped constantly, but you can't hear it in the bedroom. We had an evening meal there, which was really good. The staff were all so friendly and nothing too much trouble. The trouble is, when in hotels, you never know who is going to be in the next room, so maybe some soundproofing would be good, as i was kept awake by some nice parents shouting at their son!!! Breakfast was excellent. It's a buffet breakfast with everything you could want. As much toast as you want, as well as tea and coffee. Again, the staff were excellent. I would stay there again.You might need a map to find the room though. We seemed to walk a long way, then up a flight of stairs. My mother had trouble with the stairs, so a lift of some kind would be good

Room Tip: the garden view is really good.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am happy you had an enjoyable stay with us, i am sorry to hear your mother has trouble with the stairs, if you would like to stop in future please do not hesitate to mention you prefer a ground floor room and we will do our up most to ensure you have a ground floor room. Unfortunately due to the nature of the building as it is a grade 2 listed property the layout can be a little confusing!

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights 11th & 12th July and yes it was a groupon deal. We arrived in the afternoon the check in was quick and friendly and very helpful. We had room 35 which over looked a small rear car pack which was mostly unused so we had the window open at nigh with no noise.
The room was spotlessly clean very comfortable bed and plenty of pillows. The bathroom again spotlessly clean hot powerful shower nicely tiled and plenty of towels. There was a tea/coffee tray fridge slim line TV safe and a trouser press. The room had everything you needed.
Breakfast was good plenty of choice and the service was very good helpful and polite, you could not fault any member of staff we meet.
The gardens we well maintained the gardener was there during our stay and took some photos of us it was just a giggle but so nice.
We did not eat in the Hotel in the evening so can not comment of the food. We did however have a free bottle of wine with our stay and it was a reasonable bottle not cheap house wine.
We had a really good stay and would stay at this hotel again. Thanks to all at the Rossett Hall Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knocker-and-Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments we do appreciate them.

Kind Regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed 2nights on a Groupon,room was what you would expect at this price,a little tired,tiles in bathroom need regrouting and new mastic around bath,Breakfast ok but no fresh fruit, staff in breakfast room/bar all good but guy on reception really did not try to sell the dining room so we ate out on both nights ( not good PR )excellent meal at lion pub and at Welsh named pub in next village.
This could be a great hotel just needs the hotel inspector to sort it out ( dining room has no atmosphere either at breakfast or if just having a drink

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukethedog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for the review, we are currently reviewing some of our tired rooms and updating the tiling, grouting and other areas that need attention. I have since reviewed the restaurant and the atmosphere, we have made some improvements in this area also.

Regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed as a group of four for two nights. The rooms were very nice. Clean, comfortable, bathrooms spotless. The staff were all very nice and went out of their way to give good service. We had a light lunch which was very nice so decided to eat there in the evening. For the most part the food was nicely presented and not bad. The second evening the we ordered different meals and the food was awful. Steaks like leather, and 'hand cut chips' uneatable. Other guests had gone out for the second night, when they came back they said their meals the night before had failed to impress! The breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and freshly cooked full english. It was a shame because the evening menu looked good, and the hotel is in a good location for several local attractions.

Room Tip: We had a gorgeous room at the front of the hotel but we did get traffic noise when we opened the windows. Rooms at rear are quieter. Also the disabled bedroom we saw was very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Rossett Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am sorry your meal didn't meet your expectations, in further investigation the head chef contacted the supplier of our meat and steaks and found it to be a faulty batch we sent the bad batch back the next day, our usual response to the steaks are the best people had tasted and ask can they buy them to take home!!

I hope this hasn't put you off returning to see us in the near future again.

Kind Regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews