We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sheep,river and mountains..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
iberostar phenicia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“sheep,river and mountains..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Dear All,

I would like to comment on my recent stay....

The location is stunning,nestled securely within a lush valley accompanied by a river rambling by. Central location for days out by car. Check in needed to be more concise..would appreciate full information on dining,breakfast times on arrival, guest book within room needed such details. Wifi code was not offered.
The hotel would not run as efficiently if Mandy were not to be present,from my observation she was the cook,housekeeper,bar maid,receptionist and I'm sure would go over and beyond for the sake of the job. Her dedication was admirable and I hope that she is appreciated and rewarded for her efforts.

Room was comfortable and in good repair,
However there is a lot of potential here and with a few tweaks these minor details can be rectified.
I enjoyed my stay overall ..the people and environment made it and would recommend it too anyone that wants a friendly hotel to stay in.We intend to return in the future.

Room Tip: take a torch , car park not lit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenksabubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    40
    14
    10
    10
See reviews for
36
75
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I took three days out to do some writing and walking; rain killed the walking, but how inspirational to look out of my window and look at the hills and river. My host Rob couldn't be more helpful...breakfast was good, and the dinner I had was also enjoyable. The rooms have had a lot of thought go into them.

I'd recommend this for anyone wanting a getaway break for a very reasonable price.

Wifi worked in my room as well as the public areas. One tip: Phone reception can be a bit in-and-out, but may be just O2.

I had a lovely photo from my room, but the Add Photo feature here seems not to work :(

Room Tip: The river view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denandcags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here with my partner for a 2 night stay in September. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were looked after! Nothing was too much trouble for Rob and his right hand woman Mandy. The room was clean and everything we needed provided, the breakfast was both good and plentiful. The hotel is set in lovely and well maintained gardens. We really rated this hotel and the overall experience and would have absolutely no problem in recommending to others!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and was pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean and tidy and fresh clean towels every morning. The TV was small but we didn't mind as we needed to get away from watching TV anyway.
The Kingsize bed was comfortable and bedding clean and fresh. The only issue would be the heating, there wasn't any and the view over the river and mountain was obscured by condensation in the mornings. However on the last but one night a small electric heater arrived in the room, much better.
Mandy, the member of staff seemed to be always around with a cheery smile and welcome, she also offered information on were to visit.
Breakfast was more than enough to last for the day and was well cooked.
The heating throughout the hotel needed to be on as sitting in the lounge at night was rather cold.
Would return but please have the heating on as guests do need to feel comfortable throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river also include mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishermanTotnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I visited the hotel in early August 2012 to have a short break following quite a busy period at work. We booked the 4 poster room which is described as romantic to help us have a good rest. I have to say we were extremely disappointed by the standard of the accommodation.

Overall the room was very tired and dated. The bath room was1970`s style with a simple shower fixed to the taps. The bath panel was broken. The bed was just a cheap looking pine 4 poster but at least matched the rest of the furniture. The lights had shades missing and I wonder if the light sticking out between the curtains of the bed could be considered a fire hazard. Certainly not a room you could relax in.

We stayed in the room for about 5 minutes and drove the 90 mils back home.

To be fair to the owners we did not say anything to them. We were just too disappointed and wanted to go. This meant they did not have the chance to move us elsewhere, but in many ways in business you have one chance to make a good impression, and they failed. Incidentally on arrival the key was just plonked on the counter and I had to ask directions to the room.

The manger (Rob) did phone up for feedback but unfortunately was very defensive and unprofessional in his approach. He did later apologise about this but sill refused to give us a refund. He did however say had would have given us another room had we told them.

Some of the feedback for this venue is positive but our experience was very poor. I am sure Rob will respond to this message – but at the end of the day his comments come from the manager of the place so he is unlikely to agree with me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophiekiree, Owner at Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are all very disapointed with this review.
The room in question is very popular with our guests,but we have taken these comments on board & refurbished the room...
The couple in question stayed for 5 minutes & left without telling us.
We only found they had not stayed the next morning.As this was a saturday night in August many guests were turned away as we thought we were full.
Had they let us know at the time about these issues with the accommodation , we would have either moved them to a more modern room, or given them a no quibble refund under the hotels strict policy of customer satisfaction.
Can we ask all prospective guests to read all our reviews from last year & then come to an informed decision..
Many thanks for taking time to read this...Rob Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had an enjoyable three night stay at this hotel. The location is lovely and the staff friendly and helpful but we felt that with a bit more effort this hotel could be so much better. Things were old and tired - like a very small tv which was impossible to see, lumpy mattress, extractor fan in the en-suite struggling to clear the condensation. The wi-fi access was great, though, so as long you don't expect too much "luxury" this is a good hotel for a stopover or a short break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdlover735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Beautiful building in a tranquil location.
As we were a large group, we were asked to order dinner a few days in advance of our visit which seemed a little odd but the food was fine and the hot and cold breakfast selection was excellent.
We all had the feeling that perhaps this hotel had been a lot better in the past although there were no specific complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldcarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinas Mawddwy
10.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buckley Arms Hotel
Buckley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinas Mawddwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
9.7 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#1 of 13 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel

Property: Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel
Address: 470 A, Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9LP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dinas Mawddwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dinas Mawddwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dolbrodmaeth is a country hotel set in a stunning riverside location close to machynlleth & dolgellau in southern snowdonia.It has 11 charming ensuite rooms with a bar & restaurent making it the perfect place to relax & unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel Dinas Mawddwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing