We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill Out Zone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Just spent a lovely week, this hotel is the most relaxing 'chill out zone' we could have chosen. We stayed in room 3, large comfortable and looking out over the river, surrounded by those poetic hills, a picture cant do it justice. We took our dog who was so welcomed, he so enjoyed the river and was spoiled by the morning sausage from Mandy. Breakfast was to be looked forward to, plenty of local produce cooked great. Very nice evening meals are available, no need to go out if you dont want to. The entire Hotel is so comfortable and clean felt really at home, nothing too much trouble. If I could find anything to fault it would be poor TV reception but that is probably the lack of signal in that location, dont expect your mobile phone to work, but thats not such a bad thing when you have gone away to 'chill out'

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 156 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

My Husband Sister and myself stayed at Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel.The views were stunning.The Host was 1st class she could not do enough for us, she made us feel very at home for the duration of our stay.The food was fantastic with plenty of home cooked food.We rate our stay exceptional value all round and full marks to the Host.
J Safi

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubbyfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

A lovely hotel set in beautiful surroundings. Very quiet location, but not far off the beaten track. Very friendly couple, and very helpful. Breakfast brilliant, plenty of toast! Lovely grounds to wander in, right beside a beautiful river. Lovely place to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, on a walking weekend. The couple who own / run the hotel are fabulous, nothing was too much trouble, and the service was impeccable.

The breakfast brilliant - good quality, freshly cooked, buffet style and was therefore plentiful. Hot toast on tap. Cereals, juices, tea / coffee etc were all self service, therefore we could help ourselves to seconds if we had wished to.

Our only gripe about the hotel was the bedroom we stayed in (Room 6). Our friends were allocated a fantastic room - they arrived before us! : )

My husband is 6'2" and his feet hung out of the bed (you would expect hotels to provide king sized beds as standard?). Consequently neither of us had a good night's sleep, on either night - even after a full day's walk on the mountains. The ensuite bathroom was a throw back to 1970's avacodo with a shower curtain, which was about 2 foot too long and blocked the plug - it also had a slight musty smell.

Hubby took a bath after our walk and said it was the smallest bath he'd ever used.

It's probably down to the location, but TV quality and sound were really poor.

This review seems a little harsh, so I'd like readers to know that if we had stayed in our friend's room (Room 3) we'd have given the review a far higher score. Likewise, as typical Brits, we didn't complain about anything, therefore we didn't give the hotel the opportunity to rectify anything.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6. Room 3 - HUGE comfortable bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mljohnson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Having passed the hotel on numerous occasions we decided last year to drop in and take a peek from the outside.
Being pleased with the external view we booked the hotel for a birthday trip for the wife.

Our room was very well presented and overlooked the garden and hills to the rear.
The hotel is ideally situated for Machynlleth and Dolgellau and nestles in a valley by the river

Breakfast was lovely and consisted of the usual cereal and yoghurt buffet followed by full monty which is just how we like it.

We were the only guests as it was the quiet time of the year. The lounge, dining room and bar are very large and I am sure would make a busy hub when the hotel has more guests.

Rob the owner made us very welcome and spent lots of time chatting to us.

A bonus is that the hotel is dog friendly and we always take our dog's cage which she sleeps in.

Room Tip: Room 3 with ensuite bathroom,huge bed with a firm mattress and a beautiful view to the river and mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Came to chill out and walk the aran mountains, rob and mandy really friendly, great service and food. Room comfortable with lovely views. Hope to return in summer to fully enjoy the grounds and river. Ciaran and Julie, birmingham.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kegBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

A last minute booking that turned out to be most enjoyable. I wish I had taken my Spaniel as she would have been very welcome and would have loved it. Lovely setting, plenty of birds,buzzards, pheasants etc. to be viewed whilst eating your hearty breakfast, nothing too much trouble, extra heaters added to our room as temperatures were low. Would like to visit the hotel again in summer. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinas Mawddwy
10.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckley Arms Hotel
Buckley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinas Mawddwy
70 reviews
10.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
7.6 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#14 of 34 in Dolgellau
136 reviews
7.5 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel

Address: 470 A, Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9LP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dinas Mawddwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dinas Mawddwy
Price Range: $113 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dolbrodmaeth is a country hotel set in a stunning riverside location close to machynlleth & dolgellau in southern snowdonia.It has 11 charming ensuite rooms with a bar & restaurent making it the perfect place to relax & unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel Dinas Mawddwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing