We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and welcoming, staff and customers alike”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dinas Mawddwy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion (Llew Coch)
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely and welcoming, staff and customers alike”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We dropped in to the pub with our collie after a gruelling 6 hours on Aran Fawddwy. It was early evening (about half six), and the weather was beautiful so we sat outside. We were delighted to see how busy the pub was, with locals and visitors alike - there was no sign of any dwindling pub trade here. Our fellow customers,most of whom had dogs, were so friendly, we instantly loved it - and completely agree with one of the other reviews- "you will be sorely tempted to have more than one!" We had a great meal. (home-cooked beef pie with chips and veg, as the locally recommended lamb and leek pie had all gone).
We will be visiting it again, and this time will probably stay over. And highly recommend it. (This review is from 2 forty-somethings and a border collie out for an impromptu long walk because the weather forecast was good !)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edwardbeaum0nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    25
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
33
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Popped in midweek after 6 hours on Aran Fawddwy. Arrived at 2.05 and asked if I could have a sandwich, but was told food service had finished. I assumed kitchen staff had gone home. 5 minutes later a sandwich came out for an adjoining table, followed 5 minutes later by a jacket potato. It's a great looking pub and these out of the way places need all the business they can get - but I wasn't impressed with the refusal of a request for food 5 minutes after time when the kitchen was still staffed - after all, this is walking and cycling country. I'd love to give it 5 stars, but it will have to be 3 this time - if only as a wake up call.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Denwales2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a brill pub The Red Lion is ,such friendly helpful staff and great service , excellent tasty food and the local regulars are great company .Will definitely be going again had such fun .
Mrs T Bufton

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy_Bufton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
207 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights, enjoyed the excellent food and hospitality

Met friends and enjoyed a cycling break. This is a great base for cycling

The room is what it says, basic but fine

Bar great real fire, great beer
Staff great
Food great

Will be back. Great value for money

Room Tip: Book it - room 6 was good for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A very warm and friendly village inn with lovely home cooked food. Staff are always willing to help and always friendly. Be warned though, once you get chatting, it's difficult to just have one drink!! It's well worth a visit if you're in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sprouley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

the red lion is well worth a visit friendly staff with all the old inn charm the food is the best with great choices accommodation available great ales this place is a must for a great stop over in the heart of snowdonia great views around this area or just sit outside and enjoy a drink or two

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank felmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I enjoyed a Sunday lunch at Llew Coch (Red Lion ) a few weeks ago. It was probably the best Sunday lunch I have had anywhere for a long time. The food was tasty, well cooked, hot , well presented and the service was excellent. The portions were more than adequate - even for someone like me who enjoys her food. The atmosphere is homely and warm and the inn is exactly what one would expect in a small Welsh village. It is not pretentious, just simple, old fashioned and down to earth. The young women who served us had a smile on their face and were most pleasant. What more can I say? Full marks to the Llew Coch. Ardderchog!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meopi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinas Mawddwy
15.1 mi away
Buckley Arms Hotel
Buckley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinas Mawddwy
65 reviews
12.4 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
98 reviews
15.4 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#3 of 12 in Machynlleth
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Ty Derw Country House B&B
Ty Derw Country House B&B
#2 of 5 in Dinas Mawddwy
116 reviews
15.6 mi away
Bryn Sion Farm
Bryn Sion Farm
#3 of 5 in Dinas Mawddwy
17 reviews
15.2 mi away
Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel
Dolbrodmaeth Riverside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Dinas Mawddwy
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion (Llew Coch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion (Llew Coch)

Property: The Red Lion (Llew Coch)
Address: Dinas Mawddwy | Machynlleth, Dinas Mawddwy, Snowdonia National Park SY20 9JA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dinas Mawddwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dinas Mawddwy
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centuries-old traditional Inn. In charming village set amid scenic beauty of southern Snowdonia. Close to many attractions and Cardigan Bay Resorts. Renowned for good value home-cooked meals, listed in c.a.m.r.a. good beer guide and Taste of Wales scheme. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Lion (Llew Coch) Dinas Mawddwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing