We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buckley Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Sion Farm(Dinas Mawddwy)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
44
17
5
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
17
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssir edmundbath and separate showerfour poster bedbreakfast roomlady ownerbay windowtuscan beefupon arrival we were greetedhotel is locatedan evening mealcooked breakfaststayed here for nightsfew drinksa lovely staymaking surefollowing morningfriendly atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 72 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent a lovely week-end with a party of 60 all bridge players! We had a splendid time Excellent reception Staff very helpful especially the manager Housekeeping staff also very good A shelf for toiletries in the refurbished bathroom is sorely needed Food was good plenty of choice Serving of sweet course needs to speeded up especially for large numbers Overall very good value Have booked for similar next year !

Room Tip: A sea facing room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel is located between green and lovely hills. Its perfect place for relax. Calm, views, silence, sheeps and cows. It was my first time in such place, I'm going to come back soon for fe days.
Hotel is fantastic with family atmosphere, perfect food and fully equipped bar.
Stylish rooms, stylish lounge - like home - nothing to add - must see

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel now just called The Buckley Arms was a real delight. We stayed for one night, and had the wonderful Edmund Buckley room. The room has great views of the mountians and the river, and is really spacious, with a glorious 4 poster bed, huge bathroom with equally huge bath. All the towels and linen and even the biscuits were of really good quality.The palce as spotlessly clean too. The owner and staff were really friendly and so welcoming. The food at dinner and breakfast was top quality and menu choice was good too. We'd just spent 5 hours walking Aran Fawddwy when we arrived - in a hail storm, and I was tired and fed up (having fallen over twice, once in sheep poo) and wet, and yet the owner couldn't have been more pleased to see us. The whole place was warm and comfortable and I even think it made being dragged up that mountain worth all the strife! Highly reccomend and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself with the Sir Edmund Buckley
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbieparos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

First - this Hotel is wrongly named on Tripadvisor! It was built as the Buckley Arms Hotel in 1874 and is still so called, NOT the Buckley Pines.

Seldom have I found a country Hotel (or a city one for that matter) in which the housekeeping is to such a high standard. Everything shines in the rooms some of which have fine views. Our group of four received a warm welcome from the lady proprietor who showed us to our rooms - all named rather than numbered. We dined well in the cosy bar which has a good wine list and afterwards were we delighted to find that Armagnac was available - a rarity nowadays in London restaurants, let alone in the Welsh hinterland.

An excellent stopping place if passing through Snowdonia, touring, walking or, I expect fishing, as there;s lots of water about

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the best views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardSS39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a cool welcome from the lady owner who went on to tell us that there was nothing in the village and nothing in nearby Dolgellau. Our room was large and clean, as was the bathroom, however there was noise from traffic during the night and the bed was most uncomfortable. The food was excellent and we were served at breakfast by a very helpful and pleasant lady, we had the same good service from the evening waitresses. Our disappointment was with the lady owner who was mostly abrupt with us and came over as frosty to say the least. Would definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews