We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off season business stay - great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Port Dinorwic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Y Felinheli
Certificate of Excellence
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Off season business stay - great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I booked the hotel for a business trip as it was convenient for a meeting. Having travelled a long way to get there I was pleasently surprised by the friendly helpful attitude of the staff and a substantial room upgrade to a large suite overlooking the sea.

The room was clean and warm and breakfast good quality, cooked freshly. Unfortunately the pool was under refurbishment at the time, but as it was January I could understand that this was being sensibly planned in the off-season. I would certainly stay again for business or pleasure and recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Deck suites overlooking the sea and harbour are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    195
    49
    29
    34
See reviews for
183
225
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

this is the 2nd time at the pink palace for the past two years we have celeabrated new years eve at this hotel with a group of friends its a lovely hotel with nice rooms cant comment on breakfast as i never got up in time , nice friendly staff and great location will return in the summer to experience this hotel in the nice weather

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina555303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The staff are very friendly and engagaging. The views are lovely and the breakfast is ample. And this is where the good news ends.
Be warned: the hotel rooms are tired and done on the cheap. In our bedroon (room 3) the shower ensuite was tatty and had a missing polystyrene tile. The hotel is stuck in a time warp of the 1970's and is very Heath Robinson in design. The extortionate price they charged us for our room (£91.00 including breakfast for two people) made us reel all day at the thought of being so badly ripped off. Ouch!
Our mistake , granted, was to assume that the price quoted on the laterooms.com would be something similar.
My advise: enjoy the view, have a drink and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Negotiate a price before messing up the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a family weekend in November. The staff were brilliant and the views looking down the Menai Straights were fantastic. Our room was 6 and it was warm and clean and we would certainly go again.

Breakfast was fresh with more than enough choice to suit even the largest stomach!

Part of its quaintness is the fact that it's an old building with all the resulting creaks and quirks, like it sometimes took me a minute or two to get the room door lock to open. But for us this just added to the charm and I would rather have this, than a modern soulless chain style hotel accommodation any day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Like some other reviewers I struggle to understand why this hotel (like others) receives reviews that are either very good or really awful

This hotel is not a new building so there will always be things that people can pick at such as rooms that need refurbishing or little maintainanceissues, and you can spot things like that here. I believe that you have to accept this as reality and if you can't go to one of the corporate chains (and on occasions I do) where every hotel, room and facilty is the same. if you go to independently owned hotels there will be differences - live with it!

Nowhere at this hotel did I have cause to question the cleanliness of anything. My room (12) was spotless, well equipped and decorated. My only dislike was the corded pillow cases - so I threw them off and used others that were in the room.

Once checked in I went straight for a drink (really long drive) then found out that the receptionist was delaying going home because she hadn;t shown me up to my room. I think shevirtually lives there because she was back first thing next morning. So friendly as was the barman who also doubled up as chef the next morning - really nice that staff talk to you rather than just saying yes or no - so thank you

After a pleasant evening I had a good nights sleep. The hotel was almost empty so noise wasn't a problem.

The breakfast was cooked to order and to a good standard - and there was a great selection for those not wanting the Full English - or is it Welsh? The views from the breakfast room over the Menai Strait on what was a frosty November morning were stunning - I'd never tire of that.

I booked through one of the on line facilities at a price I consider very reasonable. Breakfast is just £8 - cheaper than Premier Inn.

Parking is free as is the wifi although I agree this can be patchy. There are 2 routers, one for the public areas and the other upstairs and it did keep dropping off.

I would happily visit this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed couple of days in the separate houses managed by the Hotel.
The location is perfect of course, also the house is good.
Internet was cutting all the time.
I found the price is expensive and varies from a guest to another!
But overall the place is magical there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Feras A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed 2 nights and the staff where very freindly and couldnt do enough to help, but the room was not that clean and smelt a bit musty. I asked for a room with no noise (was given deck 2 which is more of an apartment) and there was a family in the next room who where very loud. Dont think it was customers, think it was the owners. The view was fantastic across the bay and harbour. Had an evning meal (Lamb) one night, in the bar and was not bad for the price. The full cooked breakfast was not that apertising and just made myself a bacon butty the second day. There was a large selection of cerials and bread as well. Overall not a bad place, just needs some updating and the cleaning needs to be a better standard. Probally wont stay agian until some money has been spent on it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Frodo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Y Felinheli
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
1.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
4.3 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
2.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Dinorwic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Dinorwic

Property: Hotel Port Dinorwic
Address: Ffordd Siabod, Y Felinheli LL56 4XA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Y Felinheli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Y Felinheli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Port Dinorwic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Port Dinorwic is an informal and friendly hotel with a varied selection of accommodation types. These include double rooms, twin rooms, suites, apartments and cottages, all at affordable prices. Its location overlooking the Menai Straits gives it un-paralleled panoramic sea views. Each room at the Hotel Port Dinorwic is individually styled and laid out. Room capacity varies from single occupancy double rooms, to six person suites. All accommodation is en-suite, with tea and coffee making facilities, free view TV and free WIFI. Please note that not all rooms have a sea view. The hotel also boasts a range of facilities, such as a heated swimming pool, sauna, restaurant and function rooms. The hotel is perfectly situated between the university city of Bangor and the historic town of Caernarfon. The Snowdonia National Park is located only 15 mins away and the Isle of Anglesey only 5 mins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Port Dinorwic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinorwic Hotel
Plas Dinorwic y Felinheli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing