We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My husbands birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yr Hen Lechan - CLOSED

Yr Hen Lechan
Price range: $9 - $79
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My husbands birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to this restaurant with family and friends on a Tuesday evening when they would not normally have Ben open. As we were such a large party the opened for us. As usual the fod and service were very good. It's a bit tucked away in Y Felinhelli but we really like it there. I sometimes go there for lunch with my Mum and daughters and the standard is always good. It is a bit more expensive than some but worth it I think. The food is well presented and the chef clearly takes pride in his cooking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Absolutely wonderful, been here many times & never failed to reach the highest standards in all aspects & excellent value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spirit1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb Sixtieth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Booked the Hen Lechan for 11 people for my husband's recent sixtieth birthday, having had two previous good experiences dining here. We were not disappointed - everybody enjoyed the food and the excellent service.

I had asked in advance for a particular layout of table so that we could all chat together rather than be on a refectory type long table where those at either end can hardly see each other let alone talk to each other and this was not a problem.

I would not hesitate to recommend the restaurant to others and will go back again as soon as possible.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mostly great..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I often find that writing reviews based on one visit often don't give you a fair opinion.
So I'm writing this after my 4th visit to the Hen Llechan.
It is not far from us but often gets over looked due to it's price - it can be expensive if you go out for a meal in the evening where you have a main, pudd + wine! But day time prices for lunch and snacks are very reasonable.
Overall the food has been great on every visit but it is one for a special occasion.
Service can be a little slow but is always done with a smile.
I have enjoyed every visit and will certainly be going again as soon as I can.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kmorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“How Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Chuffed to bits. Went for dinner. Quality well presented food and lovely friendly service at a reasonable price. If you like proper first rate restaurant food that doesnt break the bank check it out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yr Hen Lechan also viewed

Y Felinheli, Gwynedd
Y Felinheli, Gwynedd
 
Y Felinheli, Gwynedd
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing