We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable,clean and welcoming”
Review of Inveroran Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridge of Orchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inveroran Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night during our walk along the West Highland Way. We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and were shown personally to our room. The room itself was clean, nicely decorated and the beds comfortable.
The evening meal was delicious. We chose from the menu on our arrival and was cooked to order.
There is a comfortable guest lounge and whilst relaxing in the evening with some other guests we spotted deer walking past the window.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annclare01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Inveroran Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 329 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed here for one night while walking the West Highland Way. The hotel seems to cater mainly to walkers and climbers as evidenced by the tiny hotel bar being named the Walkers Bar. The fact that Dickens and Darwin are former guests is enough of a reason to stay here in the first place. It is typically a no frills hotel however the location is simply stunning sitting on the edge of Rannoch Moor and next to Loch Tulla making it one of the most isolated hotels in the UK. The meals served in the dining room were superb and the breakfast was great too. Only quibble was that the staff were a bit surly. The bar although tiny was a pleasant little place to spend a quiet evening. Overall I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank gibby1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Inveroran Hotel is a very welcoming sight in the distance, as you come down the West Highland Way in the wind and rain! We had an enormous hot chocolate in the walkers bar to warm up a bit before we checked in. This hotel had everything we could have asked for as tired walkers - comfortable beds, a lovely relaxing bath and good food. The bath was a very welcome treat as our last 3 accommodations only had showers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

There are basically two choices of where to stay in Bridge of Orchy, and the Inveroran Hotel is in by far the more beautiful setting: in a valley, by a loch, and far from the main road. It's quite idyllic.

The inn itself was clean and comfortable. The food (dinner and breakfast) was good. We were happy with the packed lunch. We enjoyed sitting in the small friendly bar after a day's hike.

Above all, we were delighted with our reception. Everyone was kind and attentive. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank extrabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stopped here while walking the West Highland Way and were very happy with it. The hotel appears to be under relatively new management and there were some minor aspects they need to sort out, but overall we were happy and had an excellent meal there. We spoke to the chef later and it was her first night on a short stay, we all hoped she would be there next time!
The location is good, though there is little choice for some distance, and really our only 'complaint' was the quantity of midges present at times, but of course that is down to climate & geography, and not under the owners control ! Still, if you are sensible about when you go outside, and cover all exposed skin with some repellent (e.g. Avon's "Skin so Soft") you should get by and enjoy your time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_c_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed here whilst doing the West Highland Way and had a very relaxing night's stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a very good size and had everything we wanted. The food was also very good. The surrounding countryside is stunning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAtraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Staid here on day three of the West Highland Way. It was like an oasis after two nights camping. The owners are new but I could tell from a previous visit that they had already improved the feeling about the place. Every member of the small group of staff couldn,t have made me feel more at home. Courteous, chatty and friendly.
The food was very good. Prices were the same as other establishments on the Way. I did feel the cost of the packed lunch for the next day was maybe a bit steep?
Enjoyed my stay. Its an isolated hotel that makes you feel comfortable. If the new owners continue this way then they,ll make a fist of it.
I should add that I had my dog with me. Again he was made to feel at home too. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DundeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Orchy
12.0 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
14.2 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
484 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inversnaid Bunkhouse
Inversnaid Bunkhouse
#1 of 2 in Inversnaid
344 reviews
13.8 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inveroran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inveroran Hotel

Address: Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Bridge of Orchy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bridge of Orchy
Price Range: $51 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Inveroran Hotel Bridge Of Orchy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing