We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No you can't use the loo”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Inveroran Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridge of Orchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inveroran Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No you can't use the loo”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Was not happy in the morning at the hotel, they were more than happy to take our money in the bar but the next morning would not allow my partner to use the loo, with some long story about people with toilet bags wanting to wash, it was plain to see all she wanted was to use the loo,,!!!!!!!! During our walk along the West Highland Way we came across some good, some bad, but this treatment was down right ugly

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    101
    36
    18
    15
See reviews for
28
111
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here on our sixth night of hiking the West Highland Way - and felt we as if we were floating in a little Eden. Inveroran sits at the end of lovely Loch Tulla and consists of no more than the inn and two other houses. The inn is small and old, but recently renovated and very comfortable. There's a small pub and a dining room and maybe six or seven rooms.

When we arrived we placed our orders for dinner, for breakfast and for a packed lunch for the next day because there's no place to stop between here and Kingshouse, the next stop on the Way if you're not feeling like walking 20 miles to Kinlochleven, which we weren't.

Our room was very comfortable and had a view of the pass from which we came. Dinner was quiet, traditional and just fine, as was our breakfast.

But the major thing was the quiet and peaceful feeling of being far away from most of everything - and facing an easy walk to Kinghouse the next day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLRCohasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Inveroran Hotel was a welcome sight at the end of our 23 mile, third day of the West Highland Way. The setting of the hotel is spectacular with wild deer, loch and mountain all around.
Our evening meal was great with 2 courses for £15 (3 for £18), a tad expensive but due to the remote nature of the property not unexpected. The food was fresh and hearty with a cracking apple pie for dessert.
Regarding the room it was clean and comfortable but rather tired in nature. It was fairly dark with an old looking carpet and several large water marks on the walls. The TV was ancient and only received 4 channels, a bit of an anomaly in 2012.
However the staff, location and nature of this hotel more than compensate for its shortcomings and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to any fellow walkers on the West Highland Way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

There are two types of B&B's or Hotels along the WHW: those where you meet the owners and those where you don't. In general, you want to stay at a place where the people who run it are the same as people who own it - they care more. When I called Inveroran Hotel it was close to midnight and I'd spent over 14 hours traveling. Its a long story. Gavin, the owner, could have just directed me to follow the path another 2 miles but instead he got out of bed, picked me up from the Bridge of Orchy and MADE ME DINNER. On the ride over he drove slowly, curiously making lots of small adjustments to the wheel. "Don't think I'm an erratic driver," he told me, "I just don't want to run over the frogs. I love frogs."

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EldadElnekave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe Kent
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

No where as good as the B&B's this offered good food but less than average rooms.
Bedroom very small and stuffy. unable to have windows open due to Midge invasion.
Bathroom very small, no where to put toiletries and could not dry oneself without exiting bathroom.
No help with bags no drying room offered yet this is on the West Highland Way
Glad to move on.

Room Tip: Book well ahead and question room types
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Liked this hotel as you did not need to deviate from the West Highland Way to find it. The hotel is isolated but very peaceful and adequately fitted all the criteria for us. The scenery around is superb, Good rooms, good food at dinner and breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a small bar for relaxation in the evening and enjoy the banter of fellow walkers

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Like most others we used this hotel when walking in Scotland. The staff were probably the most friendly and helpful of all we met on our journey (especially the young woman who once worked in Guernsey - sorry don't know her name). The location is first class, very scenic, and in wonderful walking and cycling countryside. The hotel does give off an atmostphere of being in need of an upgrade with everything just showing signs of wear and age. The room allocated whilst adequate for sleeping contained a barely functioning shower and outdated tv. Of course not everyone wants luxuries whilst travelling, and we understand that, it is just a bit out of date however. Midges are of course a problem in this area with the standard request to keep all windows closed. Why they do not have window screen like other hotels is beyond me. We were there during a heat wave and having closed windows with no air con made for an uncomfortable night.

The food is of the standard fayre for those on walking holidays, but a bit better than most other hotels we visited on our stay in Scotland. There is a small bar area which can become quite lively, and this is also frequented by campers using adjacent fields. A good atmostphere was therefore generated.

Prices are what you would expect in this area, being as it were a captive market they are serving.

So go there if you are on a walking type holiday and are not expecting the last word in comfort and luxuries. For those who are looking for something up market this is not it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Orchy
14.2 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#6 of 7 in Tyndrum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
13.8 mi away
Blackwater Hostel
Blackwater Hostel
#1 of 4 in Kinlochleven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inveroran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inveroran Hotel

Property: Inveroran Hotel
Address: Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Bridge of Orchy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bridge of Orchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Inveroran Hotel Bridge Of Orchy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing