We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, perhaps needing some TLC.”
Review of Inveroran Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridge of Orchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inveroran Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here recently with some friends.
Rooms were ok, have a TV and ensuite, but it's all missing the mark. So TV in the room has 3 channels, the showers are tired, the staff are ok, it's just a missed opportunity considering the lovely location. It's what I'd expect in some grim town not in a spectacular spot in the highlands. Must try harder.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_f_ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 333 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here when we were walking the West Highland Way. Was the worst accomodation I have ever stayed in. Our room had dampness on the wall/ceiling (see photos) Very strange damp smell in the room. Carpet was stained. Bathroom was a mouldy shower cubicle with toilet. There was a previous guests toiletries lying in there.
As there is nowhere else to eat we were forced into having dinner - this was alright but a little on the small side.
Rooms had heating on (even though it was 25 degrees outside). I went to open our room window to find a water stained sign that said guests were NOT allowed to open windows under any circumstances due to midges! So it was a very unpleasant sweaty night on cheap and old bedding for us!!! We came down for breakfast where we we were shown to the coffee shop and given a half set table. There was another table there which lay dirty for the whole time we were there. We were the only people in there - everyone else was in the main restaurant and we were forgotten about. I had to ask someone to place our order and give us cutlery.
The only good thing about this hotel is the setting and that has nothing to do with the owners. Avoid at all costs!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Firstly the good points,breakfast was very nice if not small,location was out of this world great views and if you get up early you can see plenty of wildlife.
Bad points,dinner was very expensive for tasteless food that only half covered the plate,We were still hungry after our dinner.
We were warned by another hotel manager to keep our expectations low and that was good advice .
On the Internet it advertises all double and twin rooms have on-suite but that's not true as we seemed to share the combined toilet and shower with at least 2 other rooms so we had to wait half an hour for a shower which wasn't good as we had been walking all day.
Our room was very very small,it had two beds cramed in with a small sky light and a small sink and that's it,when we challenged them about this we were told that they had informed us about the on suite at the time of booking (they hadn't ) I asked why it was advertised that all double and twin rooms were on suite she just said I'm sorry if your not happy and walked off,for that we paid £86,worst and most overpriced hotel we have stopped in whilst doing the west highland way,if I knew how bad it was going to be I would have changed the whole walk to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Revwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

On arrival we had a lovely welcome and the receptionist helped us with our heavy bags upstairs to our room. No 7 above the 'coffee shop'. I point the room number out specifically because the management should not let it to anyone except insomniacs. The racket from the coffee shop went on until 11.45pm when the last 'punter' went out, slamming the door behind them. Walkers may want a drink or two, but they also want a good nights sleep. So by all means stay here...just not in room 7.

Room Tip: Not room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

what a welcome arrived around 3 and was shown to our room and told not to worry about anything just kick back and relax had a lovely hot relaxing shower evening meal of roastbeef and fresh veg was fantastic the room was very clean and comfy as was the bathroom this place is a little gem and would recomend you give it a go oh and the beer was good too!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The view on arrival on foot over the brow is fantastic with this place sitting in the valley. Elaine and the staff gave us a very warm welcome. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Good beer in the small bar. Had the roast beef for dinner which was delicious and the breakfast was very well cooked and plenty of it - disagree with last post and I am a big lad!
My advice to anyone planning the WHW would be to plan your trip around getting into this place. It might not have the marble bathrooms of the Ritz but it more than makes up for it in the setting, cleanliness, the staff, service and good food/beer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Arrived later than hoped but was still no problem for staff to provide soup for us. Servce and rooms were excellent. My only concern was the small breakfast, not a full Scottish by any means before tackling 19 miles of day five of the WHW. Apart from this I would return for the setting and hospitality alone.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrstmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Orchy
12.0 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
14.2 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
494 reviews
7.6 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tyndrum
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
981 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inversnaid Bunkhouse
Inversnaid Bunkhouse
#1 of 2 in Inversnaid
349 reviews
13.8 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 9 in Kinlochleven
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inveroran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inveroran Hotel

Address: Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Bridge of Orchy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bridge of Orchy
Price Range: $50 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Inveroran Hotel Bridge Of Orchy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing