We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, shame about the attitude”
Review of Inveroran Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridge of Orchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inveroran Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location, shame about the attitude”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stopped on our travels on the West Highland Way.

The booking process is not at all professional as I had no confirmation that our deposit had been received.

That aside the location of the hotel is excellent but the standard of customer service is poor.

The owner would not split out bill into 3 - 'costs her money' ....bank transaction costs at 20p a go versus a total bill of £180? Just not accomodating really.

She also begrudged giving us an envelope....had to bite my tongue really...if this is what visitors to out country get as 'customer service' then god help us.

Rooms were ok, but visit spoilt by lack of customer care

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RepublicofLeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    112
    40
    19
    18
See reviews for
29
131
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We were really looking forward to our stay here as we had booked it as a bit of a mid walk treat - it was the most expensive hotel we had booked on the West Highland Way and at £84 bed and breakfast it turned out to be the worst.
On booking the hotel we paid a £20 deposit, which is fine, but we did not receive confirmation of this deposit and had to chase them for this.
We arrived to an unfriendly 'welcome' around 6.15pm to be told the hotel didn't have our booking, this did get sorted out as the hotel had made a mistake...but there was no apology. We were also informed when we arrived at 6.15pm that we should have ordered our meal by 6pm that evening - however this was not made clear when we booked.
The room was a good size, the bathroom was a little jaded and generally the decor could do with updating. The evening meal was good, but the ambience was severely lacking. We wanted to order wine which met with some consternation as we were told we had a wine list in our room but the waitress did reluctantly go and find us one.
Next day we were met with a cold front in the dining room (not outside!). The staff at breakfast were ignorant, rude and service was not a priority. The breakfast was disappointing and not very enjoyable. The bad attitude of one particular member of staff was very unpleasant.
We had ordered a packed lunch which cost £6.50 (as opposed to the average of £5 at all the other b&b's we had stayed at). We opened the lunch later on in the day to be met by a scratty old brown banana which had definitely seen better days, an ok, if unimaginative cheese sandwich, packet of biscuits (which could have been offered in the rooms, but they weren't) a packet of crisps and a drink - not particularly value for money.
When travelling as friends, it is usual to pay separately when checking out, however, this was not an option at the Inveroran Hotel, they would only accept one payment for a bill of £137 which is poor.
For anyone doing the West Highland Way we would strongly recommend that you stay at The Bridge of Orchy Hotel and walk the extra 2 miles.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatieCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I have stayed here twice before......now under new management its ok, mine hostess is very nice... mine Host.....was not very abrupt he is more switched on for the group rather than the solo walker

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quitemystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed for a night with 3 friends on our West Highland Way walk, it is the only place to stay so no competition. The rooms were tired & musty, the toilet roll holder and the towel rail both came away from the wall. The beds were uncomfortable. The food was dire, they even managed to overcook the veggies and breakfast of poached eggs resembled two yellow eyeballs. The only plus I have is the conveniece of location and the deer wandering around outside.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slugmama_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Fantastic and very quiet location by Loch Tulla.

Our room was in the annex and maybe because of this smelt a bit damp. The bathroom was not on-suite but adjoining. I was never sure if we shared the bathroom with another room or not. The room had a TV/Satellite system which did not seem to pick up any UK channels. Generally the room was bit tired but not that bad.

The evening meal and breakfast were both good. We had a packed lunch the next day which was fine but lacked imagination it would have been nice to have the choice to have say cucumber and/or tomatoes with the main filling.

The staff running the hotel seemed pleasant.

Walking the West Highland Way you basically have a choice of staying here or the hotel at the Bridge of Orchy. The latter looks more professional but is on a busy road. Given the choice I would stick with the Inveroran Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Fantastic location. Even though we booked two months ahead we were too late for an en-suite room. The shared bathroom was small, the twin bedroom was on the small side but this is a family-run historic highland hotel, not a city centre chain. Breakfast a bit meagre compared with the huge breakfasts served at B&Bs on other days of our trip. Very friendly service. Draught beer off, so limited to Belhaven Best. No outside seating to catch evening sun whilst supping pint and watching the kitchen staff feed the local deer herd with scraps. But did I mention the fantastic location?

Room Tip: Book early at peak times for en-suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paraboloid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Our room was "cosy" (small) and the plumbing rather noisy, but thankfully it was quiet through the night. Evening meal was pleasant, as was our early breakfast. Location, with deer in the vicinty, is superb.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Orchy
12.0 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
14.2 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
475 reviews
22.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
940 reviews
7.6 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
510 reviews
13.8 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inveroran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inveroran Hotel

Property: Inveroran Hotel
Address: Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Bridge of Orchy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bridge of Orchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Inveroran Hotel Bridge Of Orchy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing