We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very plush hotel, bit expensive and staff a bit slow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cardross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very plush hotel, bit expensive and staff a bit slow”
Reviewed May 21, 2010

This was to be our rest hotel with a bit of luxury while doing the West Highland Way. We walked from Trydrum enjoying our mini heat wave in April, arriving just after 1pm we sat out the back on the sun deck until our 3pm check in time (room may have been ready but we were not in a rush)
Even though there were more than a dozen walkers getting a drink before walking further or checking in you had to wait for anyone to come behind the bar and they would disapear as soon as they served.
The hotel is very modern, clean and plenty of room. We checked into our room which was large, but we had paid for this, not a great for your money, but there is not much competition in the area.
Dinner was ok, nothing special, service slow again.
For breakfast it was a nightmare for walkers, not served until 8am, by the time we had been shown our seat and our order taken it was 8.30am, 3 members of staff trying to serve guests from the hotel and the bunkhouse, very slow and you got forgot about. food was ok when it arrived, didnt get coffee I had ordered or toast. it was way past 9am before we left, so no quick starts for us that morning.
All in all it was a bit of luxury let down by the lack of staff, double the price of a similar hotel in fort william, if I could get the same room at half the price I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlandSueGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    273
    103
    44
    19
See reviews for
117
478
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire, england
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Booked to stay in the bunkhouse but chickened out and treated ourselves to rooms in the hotel. A good move, as they were very comfortable and we got a fair deal. Food in the restaurant was fine as well and we enjoyed the breakfast. Nice lounges to relax in and fabulous scenery.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent visit to Bridge of Orchy Hotel; we had stayed before years ago, but the place has since been upgraded and much improved. The new managers seem to be keen to make the best of the hotel and do their very best for customers. Fantastic service and hospitality - refreshing to come across the approach that nothing is too much trouble. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MopsyTigerRusset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We visited Bridge of Orchy in January for an overnight get together of eight friends. This is a fabulous hotel with the friendliest and most helpful staff we have come across, really nothing was too much trouble. The surrounding 5 Munro’s make it perfect for the serious walker and the lovely (flat) walk to the loch made it perfect for us! The food was delicious and our rooms were just perfect. We have already booked to return in March. A gem in the highlands (not a tartan carpet in sight!).

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Have stopped by here for food and drink many times before whilst on hillwalking trips. This time I decided to stay for 4 nights and was not disappointed. The room was excellent, clean with a good size bath. Staff were extremely efficient and seemed genuinely comitted to providing quality service. Dinner was superb; excellent menu which delivered extremely tasty results. Breakfast was very good also.Of course, the surrounding area is stunning too which made this a memorable stay.

I shall be returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed for one night while walking the West Highland Way.

Room was compact and at the front of the hotel, but still not bothered by road noise.
Lovely, modern and clean. The lounge is also beautifully decorated and comfortable - I want to go back in deepest winter when the fires are lit.

Great meal in the restaurant too.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands of Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Situated in an isolated position along the A82 road, this hotel looks very welcoming. Unfortunately, even with double glazing, the traffic noise is quite intrusive as its a fast stretch of road. That said its a very nice hotel, the male receptionist seemed to have had sense of humour bypass, but that aside, the room and bathroom were very nice and the huge residents lounge wonderful.

The food was good, with a choice of bar meals or the restaurant. I chose the restaurant and it was very nice. Good quality free internet access in the lounge.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz2174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Orchy
10.3 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
21.1 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
880 reviews
19.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
17.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
336 reviews
6.1 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge of Orchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge of Orchy Hotel

Property: Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Address: Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Bridge of Orchy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bridge of Orchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge of Orchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge of Orchy Hotel sits on the A82 which is the main route to the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. The train station which is only minutes walk from the Hotel is served daily by trains from London, Glasgow and Fort William. The Hotel has become renowned for its fine cuisine and real hospitality, it is surrounded by some of Scotland's finest scenery including several munros, loch and river fishing, skiing, distilleries and breweries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bridge of Orchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Of Orchy Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing