We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keep your card in your pocket”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridge of Orchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The West Highland Way Sleeper
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“keep your card in your pocket”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Don't stay here. If you must, do not give the owner your credit card details. I was harged for 2 other peoples accomodation as well as someone elses washing!!!! I was not even offered a refund.
The couple that run the sleeper were also not very nice. When they weren't arguing with each other they were slagging off the other guests.
Terrible experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank walker999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    11
    11
    54
See reviews for
10
19
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in different hotels for the 6 nights of our West Highland way walk and I really enjoyed staying here. The rooms are basic but very clean, the staff were really friendly and the food is not cheap but it was the best out of everywhere we stayed. There was somewhere to dry our boots and wet clothes which is excellent. The restaurant is very relaxed which is perfect after a long day walking and it was great that the staff picked us up. If you are looking for luxury then this is not for you, if you are looking for somewhere that is comfortable, value for moneym friendly staff, good food and you can dry your clothes this is perfect. We are going to go here one night and walk just that part of the WHW, just so that we can stay there again.

Room Tip: Phone before you get there, to give them notice to collect you from the car park,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madaline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

As long as you don't mind sharing sleeping accommodation with other people, this is a good place to stop, right on the route of the West Highland Way. As bunkhouse accommodation goes, it's maybe not that cheap, but it's clean and comfortable, my only comment would be that I found the toilets a bit cramped. We had originally booked an evening meal, but when we arrived we discovered that Steve had been taken ill, so we ended up eating at the Bridge of Orchy Hotel and the food was very good (they also do breakfast, but at £10 for non-residents this is a bit pricey). Be aware that the station is a working one with trains coming through, but we didn't hear (or feel!) any through the night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I was walking The West Highland Way and stayed with 4 family members in the room for 6 with sole occupancy. Steve and Helen were very friendly and immediately made us feel welcome. I think the accommodation is good value for money and would stay again if walking in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divagrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hveragerdi, Iceland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This place is conveniently located just on the West Highland Way, but this is the only positive thing about this place. Expensive like it is (20 pounds per night for a bunk) all you get is a dumpy bed in a very shabby room. The bathroom is terrible, smelly and dirty, it still makes my flesh creep when I think about it. There is no self-catering kitchen and there´s quite a pressure from the owners side to buy meals from them. The owners are actually very friendly, but it doesn´t change a thing that I wouldn´t recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bridge of Orchy hotels

Skerries, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed in the West Highland Sleeper for one night during hte 2nd week of May, Heavy rucksaks , cloths and boots totally soked, you know the way it goes as any other normal day during the Way :) lol.

After getting there quite tired and with sore feets it was a pleasant surprise to find such a cosy place, run by very nice people who really tried to make you feel at home.

The owners were extremely doing all in her hands to make us feel as confortable as possible during the stay; lovely people ready available for anything you may need always with a smile on their faces.

Regarding the room, it is a nice and spacious shared room (3 bunk bedsof 3 people each=ttl 9 people) with spotless bathrooms & showers, cosy kitchen/sitting room with fireplace and as much tea as u like available 24hrs. if you dont mind sharing room make sure you book in advance to get a bed in this sleeper. ...and .. if you are as lucky as me and my friend were, you can see the Royal Scotsman train stopping at Bridge of Orchy Station and you can get a few nice pics of such a famous train or just check it out from the room!! :)

Definitely a great place to stay!!! whenever I go back to that area i'll definitely go back to stay there!! Remember booking in advance if you want to make sure you stay there :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarisaRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We really enjoyed staying here and thought the owners were very kind and helpful. They offered us salt baths for sore feet and even offered to lend me a rucksack when the zip broke on mine. The food was nice and the place was clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGmanGla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Orchy
15.8 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
471 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Blackwater Hostel
Blackwater Hostel
#1 of 4 in Kinlochleven
710 reviews
6.0 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#4 of 7 in Tyndrum
18 reviews
15.4 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Highland Way Sleeper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Highland Way Sleeper

Property: The West Highland Way Sleeper
Address: Fire Station Bridge of Orchy Station, Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Bridge of Orchy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bridge of Orchy
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The West Highland Way Sleeper Hotel Bridge Of Orchy
The West Highland Way Sleeper Bridge Of Orchy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing