We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Location, Stunning Views, Great...”
other travelers have booked this property
The living/ dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living/ dining room
The double bed in the ensuite family bedroom The bunk beds in the family bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The living/ dining room
The double bed in the ensuite family bedroom
The bunk beds in the family bedroom
The family bedroom
The ensuite bathroom
The ensuite bathroom
The kitchen
The kitchen
The main bathroom
The main bathroom
View from the main farmhouse garden
Flora, one of our Belted Galloway cows
View across the fields of our Belted Galloway cattle
Mare and foal
Lambing time on the farm
Chicks
View of the farm and surrounding countryside
The Cheese House Self Catering Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Auldgirth, Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
S922BL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Location, Stunning Views, Great Accommodation,”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

THis was just a short break for myself and the wife and our two dogs, and I am glad we picked this location as the cottage was lovely and well equipped. Beautiful setting and we had an excellent time exploring Dumfries area. Zan & Joe are great hosts and the farm is a great place. We will definitely be back im sure whether it's for a weekend or a weeks trip!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlasdairW...
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a lovely friendly and cosy 'clean' stay at the cheese house cottage. Owners are lovely friendly 'normal' people who enjoy & appreciate your custom. Arrived at cottage to be greeted with home made cakes and an invite to feed lambs. So lovely and makes a huge change to what you normally get?? I felt so at home. We will Definitely return without a doubt! These places & people are hard to find.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage wonderful location”
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed here as our base for a course we were attending nearby - it was great, warm, comfortable. Friendly welcome and an excellent tea cake! We wished we'd had more time to explore around the beautiful area, as it was we had some lovely moonlight walks after our course.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
scotland
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value for money as a group
Liked least: No dishwasher.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very peaceful
Liked least: Leaving lol
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing