We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
View from bottom garden looking at cottage gable end including balcony and waterfall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from bottom garden looking at cottage gable end including balcony and waterfall
Side view of cottage, showing main entrance, with car parking area immedaitely outside Kitchen area which is open plan with the lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
View from bottom garden looking at cottage gable end including balcony and waterfall
Side view of cottage, showing main entrance, with car parking area immedaitely outside
Kitchen area which is open plan with the lounge
Relax in the garden
Lounge and dining area
May in the garden with poppy plants in the cottage gardens
Lounge through to open plan kitchen area
Bottom garden looking down the valley and stream
Old water wheel hub and water wheel
Balcony for outside living which overlooks waterfall
Upstairs main bedroom made up as twin beds
Upstairs main bedroom made up as superking size bed
Downstairs bedroom with balcony
Downstairs bedroom with balcony
RED squirrel in cottage garden. Come and see them eating from the bird feeders.
Small stream  (Scottish word, burn) running through cottage garden
Local scenery:Lowther Hills
Drumlanrig castle approx 6 miles away from cottage.
Local scenery; Kettleton loch
Local scenery
Side view including garden and balcony
View from bottom garden looking at cottage gable end including balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Auldgirth, Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ABC622014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday accommodation”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a lovely cottage and wonderful surroundings and very well equipped with some really nice extra touches. The owners are extra friendly and helpful. The accommodation is very comfortable and close to many places of interest in the area. Would definitely recommend this cottage and we hope to return soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Allanton Mill is a beautifully restored property and a very special place for a holiday. The downstairs bedroom with its large balcony and french windows letting in the sound of the waterfall in the glen was quite magical. The gardens are lovely and extensive, we were lucky enough to have great weather to enjoy BBQs and eating outside every evening.
The location is very quiet, with no shortage of interesting places around to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cottage, balcony, gardens...
Liked least: So good I hate to criticise, but the downstairs mattress has perhaps seen better days.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKW6989
Liverpool, UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Allanton Mill Cottage not only for our honeymoon but for the wedding itself. The garden is absolutely stunning and we couldn't have found a better spot for the ceremony than around the old millstone down by the stream. We then had a fantastic reception for our small group of family and close friends in the upper garden. The sun was out, the views were stunning and we couldn't have wished for a better setting.

Jeanette and Nigel are consummate hosts and were always on hand, if required, to ensure our week at Allanton Mill Cottage was flawless.

The cottage is so peaceful you could be forgiven for thinking you were in the middle of nowhere yet Dumfries is only 8 miles away and the market town of Thornhill even closer. What surprised us is how much there is to see and do in the area. The biking and walking trails of Ae Forest are just up the road, with similar also available in Dalbeattie Forest. Watching the Red Kite feeding is a must if you like the thought of seeing around 100 birds of prey circling above you and swooping down on a feeding table just in front of you.

The cottage itself is nicely furnished and extremely clean and comfortable with a well-equipped kitchen, underfloor heating and a wood burning stove. The bottom bedroom has a balcony overlooking the lower garden and stream and is perfect for both breakfasts and evening relaxation, but there's also a BBQ area and other seating areas around the garden from which to take in the views of open countryside.

Our week was over far too quickly so we will definitely be returning in the future to do all the things we missed this time round.

If you like a holiday with plenty to see and do but a tranquil haven set in beautiful gardens to return to each evening then you won't find better than Allanton Mill Cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Magical Cottage - a real hidden gem”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is a real treat - the owners Jeanette and Nigel have done a fantastic job in bringing this cottage back to life. The cottage has been refurbished to very high standard and is set in beautiful gardens. All the extra special touches were much appreciated. We loved sleeping in the bedroom with the balcony and having the door open listening to the burn and the birds (very therapeutic). The living room is very cosy and loved being able to put on the wood burner. I loved the big cushions on the sofa so comfy. We ate in the cottage most of the time - it is well equipped for making great meals. There is a slow cooker - which is great to put on before you go out and have a nice homecooked meal when you get in.
The cottage is a great base for exploring the D&G area -
*Powfoot Spa - this is a wooden unit you can hire which features a sauna, hot tub, mini spa pool and relaxing area. It cost 20.00 for two of us - you can also have treatments.
*Ae Forest - a great river forest walk
*Carstramon Wood - this is a must visit if you are visiting May/June as the wood is covered in bluebells. It looks so magical. We were lucky enough to see a deer.
*Glenkiln Reservoir - unfortunately there are only two of the sculptures left here but it is still a great walk. We saw 3 eagles here.
*The Wicker Man Tour - we did our own tour after finding out the film was made in the area. You can get info off the Dumfries Movie Map website. We visited Burrowhead (need to go through the campsite and park up by the football pitch and there is a path from that leads you down) where the stumps of the original film are still there. We also visited St Ninian's Cave, Creetown and Anwoth.
*Wigtown - this is also known as "book town" a great place. I would recommend Hippidippies and A Box of Frogs. The food at The Ploughman's Pub was amazing - best steak and ale pie and a fantastic burger.
*Edinburgh - we went to do the free Harry Potter Walking tour - great to see JK Rowling's inspirations. For more info visit the Edinburgh Potter Trail. We had nice food at Maxie's up near the castle - they did 3 courses for 11.95. We took Jeanette's advice and drove to Lockerbie Station and got the train in.
*Castle Douglas - this is also known as "food town" it has great cafes and delis. I would recommend the butcher's S Henderson's.
*Belly Mack Farm - here they have red kite feeding this is a spectacle. It's great seeing the red kites up so close. Costs 4.00pp but I think it is free for kids. The feeding time is at 2pm.
*Kilnford Farm Shop - does lovely meat and deli items.
*Mostly Ghostly - we did a ghost walk to Lochmaben Castle, great tales of folklore and legend, also very chilling experiences.
*Sweetheart Abbey to Waterloo Monument - this is a great walk but it is a very strenuous walk upto the monument. Vertigo did kick in a bit but was so pleased to make it to the top as you can see right across the area.
*Dino Park - this is based at Hetlands Garden Centre - this is also fun for adults too!!
We loved our 2 week break at the cottage and Jeanette and Nigel were the perfect hosts, and we hope to go back. It was also great to meet Miffy too!!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool
Reviewed March 16, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield
Reviewed March 14, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing