We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful trip”
Review of McMurdoston House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auldgirth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McMurdoston House
Ranked #1 of 3 Auldgirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful trip”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have just stayed at this B & B and had a wonderful time. The house is very spacious but has only the two guest rooms so was great for us as we wanted peace, quiet and privacy - and we were able to treat the place like home, and it has a sitting room for guests to use so that was a huge plus. The area was lovely, really quiet and yet only ten minutes from town. The rooms are of really high quality, comfy beds and all of your needs are catered for! Fantastic bathroom across the hall for our sole use - I really didn't want to leave.
This place has character, charm, and the added bonus of the barns which are going to be converted to self catering holiday lets - we will be back!

Room Tip: Both rooms are fab - one double and one twin, so will depend on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent five nights at McMurdoston House, which is in a beautiful valley with wonderful views, away from it all but in easy reach of Dumfries and Thornhill, both of which have excellent restaurants. The service from Sarah and Steve could not have been better, both went out of their way to make us comfortable, the rooms are excellent. There are excellent walks in the area as well as bike routes and the house is only a few miles from the beautiful north shore of the Solway Firth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyB734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just been back to this bed and breakfast for the second time and could not have been more pleased. This is just what we want from a b & b. The house is huge but cosy and offers two rooms so it has a homely feel. Guests have access to their own sitting room so can spend a comfy night in - good for us as our little boy goes to sleep early. Lovely bedrooms and a really gorgeous large bathroom.
The owners have just the right balance of being approachable and friendly, without being overbearing, and nothing was too much trouble.
The garden is lovely and surrounded by farmland, great views and loads of wildlife - even saw a red squirrel!
Lots to do around Dumfries which is only about ten minutes away.
Will be visiting again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soosfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were so lucky to find McMurdoston as a stop off for a trip further North; but unlucky to have only booked one night there. Sarah and Steve are so friendly, a cafetiere of coffee and fresh sponge cake and biscuits on arrival, and then booking a table at the local pub for us. There is a lovely relaxing lounge, beautiful bedrooms, and although not en-suite, the bathroom next door was just immense and robes were provided if needed. The view from the gardens is outstanding, if you don't mind the cats butting you for a bit of a fuss whilst you are sitting on the bench in the sun. Steve mentioned hoping to get the barn converted for self-catering, and if so, we will definitely we looking to stay for a while longer next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The enthusiasm of the owners and their genuinely warm welcome made this an unforgettable stay. We were sad that we could only stay one night in this beautiful and tastefully decorated house. We can recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RagnaVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auldgirth
1.4 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
7.3 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rivendell B&B
Rivendell B&B
#8 of 48 in Dumfries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
6.7 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#16 of 48 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMurdoston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMurdoston House

Property: McMurdoston House
Address: McMurdoston House Coldside Road, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auldgirth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Auldgirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and welcoming ex-farm-house dating from 1540, situated peacefully but conveniently 15 minutes north of Dumfries.One double and one twin bedroom, both with private facilities.Guests have exclusive use of a cosy sitting room. Full Scottish breakfasts served in the light-flooded hall with wonderful views of the surrounding hills and well-frequented bird-feeder. Two new holiday cottages are across the court-yard, each sleeping up to four and offering glorious views from the patio area. Walks and cycling from the door and comfortable beds to relax and recover in. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing