We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Country Hotel par excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friars Carse Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
670 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“A Country Hotel par excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was our third visit and it just gets better and better. We had the 'Aspen' room again with a wonderful view of the holm beside the River Nith with fine trees and sheep grazing. We took advantage of a special offer and stayed two nights. A wedding was in full swing and added to the ambience with the music cutting off at midnight.

We had a meal in the dining room with a good choice of food and such generous portions that we could hardly finish. Coffee was served in the lounge in front of the fire. A cream tea was part of the offer and this was so outstanding that other guests also ordered. Breakfast was delicious and bountiful as always, however the radio in the kitchen was a little loud.

The grounds and the views are outstanding with a wide variety of tree species that are perhaps a hidden gem yet to be given emphasis by the management. The full size snooker table gave us hours of extra entertainment and skill acquisition!

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful as ever and it was a pleasure to see the hotel so busy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossergruffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    268
    77
    39
    22
See reviews for
78
463
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wow, we stayed 2 nights in march 2013 on a voucher with breakfast, we where upgraded on the first night to "Redwood" the bridal sweet, we then moved to our normal room for the second night... Dam those bride n grooms ha
The staff could not be more helpful, offering advice on the area and things to do
The grounds are stunning, take a walk down the river...wonderful !
The pub half a mile away is very welcoming and does good meals .. oh and say hi to Pepper and Tara the dogs while your there...their big n cuddly

Ok why only 4 stars ?? The hotel is a little bit tired in places and the bar is basic ie no real draft ale .. In an old place like this it should be a must

For value for money it's a must visit hotel

Room Tip: Ask for redwood room upgrade and be cheeky, it has the biggest spa bath ever !! And four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Another spring break at Friars Carse. Still the same ambience with a cheerfull staff, a fire in the main reception area and peacefull suroundings. Very much the Country Hotel not a slick city joint. The service was impecable and friendly in the dining room our requests were never too much trouble both dinner and breakfast were excellent. This is esentially a fishing hotel and I am no angler but for a little country beak its charm is just what is needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alasdair Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Lovely Castle and location but its a bit shabby when you look closely. I found one particualarly female member of staff rude and unfriendly. I am vegetarian and asked if there was any meat in the soup and told there wasnt. When it arrived it had big chunks of bacon. When i complained I was given an alternative but no smile or apology. The staff in general looked pretty fed up. I did not feel comfortable or welcome during my stay and felt the facilities were pretty basic. It needs a revamp I think.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikilulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This stunning hotel was my wedding venue and it was amazing, the grounds are beautiful and the hotel itself was lovely. The staff where very friendly and attentive to our needs. We had the Redwood room which boasted a stunning big jacuzzi bath and four poster bed. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sazzsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights (24th to 26th Feb) in The Birch room. It was tastefully decorated and totally in keeping with the property. Beautiful views over the countryside, but given the stunning setting of this hotel it would be hard to stay in a room without a great view. The lounge area is cosy and comfortable with a roaring log fire. We were told they were refurbishing and you could see the difference in the bedrooms and communal areas, but quite rightly they have started the bedrooms first. It was all very clean and even the communal areas although a little tired, were pleasant, clean & in keeping with the age of this property.

Bedroom
The bed was comfy and the linen was of an excellent quality. If I had one niggle it would be that the bathroom could do with a little work, simple things like the sealant around the bath & sink need renewing and the grout needs whitening. However these small details did not detract from our comfort, but may make the difference in the star rating asessment.

Food
We did not eat from the al la carte menu but had the lounge menu, my OH enjoyed his steak & I thought my sausage & mash were ok, it came to £23 with soft drinks, so hood balue. Breakfast was plentiful with delicious bacon, but not so impressed with the poached eggs & tattie scones, but the toast was really yummy (odd to say but it really was)The Buffett included croissants, muffins, yoghurts, cereals & rately strangely baby bell cheeses.

Location
As others have already said the grounds & setting is stunningly beautiful. We are not great walkers but enjoyed a meanander to the hermitage where Rabbie Burns often stayed and a lovely walk along the river toward Ellisland where he lived. We got some wonderful photos along the river. We went to Edinburgh for the day, took the A701 & enjoyed the scenery but best to take the A702 on the way back, it took us two hours but we stuck to 50 MPH. It about and hour & a half to Glasgow, & well within reach of the Lake District.

Overall impression
Lovely hotel, with a lot of deals on at the moment which are very good value.
Staff are all very good & work hard to make you feel welcome without intruding on your personal space.
All in all a hit with us and we will return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMackmehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked into the Oak room on the 1st floor, which was a superior room with a four poster bed (without drapes), and a large bay window looking out over the grounds. The room was clean, comfortable and had two old style radiators and an electric heater if needed. The bathroom was basic and average size, but suited all your needs. There is a modern lift to get to all floors.

I had pre-booked 4 nights B & B, evening meal and bottle of wine, the food choice was good, and you could order from another menu and pay the supplement if required. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and a credit to the hotel.

There was a varied choice of breakfast, we had the cooked Scottish breakfast with haggis, which was always cooked to perfection. Nothing was too much trouble, and the waiters/waitresses's were most helpful. Loved the dining room with the large windows and lovely views.

The lounge area is very relaxed and comfortable with leather chesterfield sofa's and a roaring log fire.

Arrived here after staying at a 4 star hotel for one night, and Friars Carse was far superior. The friendliness of the staff, good food, and the relaxed atmosphere make it special.

There are lovely walks around the hotel, and it is right beside the river Nith.

We used this hotel as a base to travelling to Glasgow, Stirling, Dumfries and the coastal route around the area - very pretty.

My only issue would be that the pastry on the pie was hard to cut into, although it was not overcooked.

I would definitely return to this hotel again if in the area, and look forward to trying the other hotels in the group.

Thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank handbagmadPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auldgirth
5.7 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
7.1 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Carse Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Carse Country House Hotel

Property: Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Address: Friars Carse Friars Carse, Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0SA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Auldgirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auldgirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Carse Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Friars Carse Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Carse Country Hotel
Friars Carse Country Auldgirth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing