We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dull and weary ambiance. ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Longforgan Coaching Inn

Longforgan Coaching Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Longforgan Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longforgan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dull and weary ambiance. ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Had an overnight stay here at the weekend. Rooms look tired and dreary. Reception and lounge was not very welcoming. Was hoping to see bits of history around the place but there was none. Not a single picture of the coaches of the early times which could have been a nice touch. The whole place could probably do better with some decor and lighting. Went to the pub for dinner, and the chips and veg tasted and looked like out of frozen packets! Lack of food presentation as well.:( Good value for drinks. Would not stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    12
    6
    13
See reviews for
10
19
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had no choice but to book this hotel as i was visiting Dundee when the annual oil conference was on in Aberdeen and this was the last hotel available. Well i would have preferred to sleep in my car! The reception i recieved was poor, they took payment from my card without me being present. I wasnt given any information either on arrival. I was taken to the room.... well OMG very poor, dingy, dirty and in a vast need of updating. You could hear every sound outside so i had no sleep. The restaurant was so dirty and old i stayed out all night. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless its an emergency.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StokeOnTrentMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Longforgan hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had a great break at longforgan inn last weekend with our newly acquired doggie Jack. Staff great, meals too and company, especially the impromptu entertainment in the bar every night. Thanks to Alistair in particular who made it especially enjoyable. Six miles from where we live - would go back in a minute! Nothing any bother for the staff. Can't wait to go on Hogmanay! Rates excellent as well. Great place.

Room Tip: 214 if you have a pet and don't mind single beds. very comfy!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank derek p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a great dinner that was good pub food and very good value.
The pub is a bit dingy and dated and the rooms are tired with bathrooms that are a bit off-putting.
This is a bed for the night if you are passing through.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We only stayed one night, but i would have liked to have stayed longer! This inn is a very friendly place we were made to feel very welcome, the food is second to none !! (Try the mushrooms) there delicious :-) would deffo return and would recommend. Thanks so much ally and Shirley you have a great pub, and your staff are all brilliant.. Hope to see you all soon thank you.


Donald and Maria

Room Tip: We stayed at the front and was nice and sunny in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinder2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This "hotel" is one of the worst I have stayed in over the many years of working away from home as a contractor. The beds folded up like a pitta bread when I lay down on it causing me to have an exceptionally bad back for the days following my trip. The bathroom needed updating and shower had to be adjusted every 2 minutes to keep an even temperature. The room also smelled damp. Whilst having a pint in the bar with my work colleague I went to use the toilet. On returning to the bar the "chef " from the restaurant had sat down on my barstool. He never flinched when I returned just carrying on a conversation with another person at the bar. When he finished his conversation I eventually got my seat back. Rudeness of the highest order.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Johnthook_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We went to hotel for one night and couldn't be made more welcome meal was absoloutley beautiful compliments to chef and staff couldn't have been nicer the entertainment was great fun and although the room was basic was lovely and clean and nice and warm many thanks for lovely stay have recommended to all my friends

Room Tip: In courtyard lovely little rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theresamclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longforgan
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
11.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longforgan Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longforgan Coaching Inn

Property: Longforgan Coaching Inn
Address: Main Street, Longforgan DD2 5EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Longforgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longforgan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Longforgan Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Longforgan Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longforgan Coaching Hotel Dundee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing