We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, in need of rooms upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Erskine
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, in need of rooms upgrading”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Ok for a one night stay, rooms dated bathroom could do with being refurbed as alot ofthe grout was dirty or missing. Quad room but only 2 cups, child could get out of the windows when open with no safty feature. Staff friendly vey basic meals too expensive but transfers are free.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stupau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    321
    280
    236
    249
See reviews for
257
505
47
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Booked the erskine with mixed feelings as the reviews were a mixed bag.All I can say is what a find!.All the staff were very helpful and cheerful but special mention has to go to the waiting staff, well done girls you were brilliant.Our room was modern and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom which had lovely white soft fluffy towels.We used the swimming pool which again was new and spotless as well.We booked on a dbb basis and the food quality was excellent.I ordered the tapas and couldn't believe the amount I got and it was oh so delicious, what a good way to start a meal.Breakfast was lovely too. We decided to stay on our return from holiday and the 2nd visit was as good as the first,we will always use this hotel from now on to stay in before flying from Glasgow airport. It is unbelievable value for money.

Room Tip: We had rooms facing the bridge and the view was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnakaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My Mam and i have just come back from a National Holidays 2 day break, we found the hotel very impressive, friendly helpful staff, clean,and traditionally tartan decor, our room unfortunately was extremely hot, we had an awful job opening the window,the view was amazing though.. The meals were excellent, but the service was very slow...the buffet style breakfast was much better service.
We found the nearest pub which was worth the dark muddy walk, unfortunately no proper footpaths or very well lit en route..we would know what to expect next time...as despite its few flaws, we thought we had excellent value for money and had a fabulous breakaway...

Room Tip: Each floor is decorated in different type tartan, our room overlooked the River Clyde and bridge...w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We travelled to the Erskine Bridge Hotel from Dumfries for an overnight stay again. What a difference we saw from our trip earlier in the year. The broken chairs around the pool had been replaced and the sauna was fine. Our room on the 2nd floor gave us a shock as the carpet was threadbare, curtains didn't block out the light and the decor was very dated, unlike our return trip when we were in the room nextdoor which was gorgeous! Lovely clean brand new bathroom and the curtains and bedding in fact everything in the room looked shiny and new. We made good use of the pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna on our way out and noticed that the changing rooms have brand new showers and "stable" doors which were fantastic. All the decorating has been done and oh boy what a difference!!! The food was fantastic and we had a piper that evening as their was a party of tourists dining and it really added to the holiday atmosphere. We will definitely book this hotel every time we fly from Glasgow and enjoy the really friendly staff based there. I'm sure all the rooms will be upgraded eventually so just be patient - well that's my hope anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a peaceful refurbished room. Always have dinner - it's superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Being 40 years old, this concrete hotel is looking its age and could do with being refurbished. Bit slow at reception. The heating is old fashioned air vents in metal panels under the window with flaps that opened and closed but not that effective. Cathode ray TV is old hat but I didn't acre as I had little time to use it. The room was very hot when I arrived but the sliding window opened wide so I was happy. Having said that, the room was very clean and tidy and the bathroom oh so bright with downlighters on all white decor. The view was awesome (see pictures) especially in early morning up the River Clyde towards Glasgow city. Truely inspiring in the beautiful weather.
I was there for a weekend conference and the meals were good. I liked the dining room.
I had wondered about the load of cars parked on the very muddy lawns. The hotel is very convenient for Glasgow Airport (10 mins by shuttle bus) and there are good deals for room and long term parking. I didn't have time for to try the spa. It looked popular.

Room Tip: With 6 floors to choose from , the view from the top is awesome, in either direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhuddaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The airport parking is actually just a large field next to the hotel. And when I say field I mean...field. There is no lighting, no pathways, no set-out parking spaces, no attendants, no netting to stop the grass from turning into grade-A mud when it rains.

Upon collecting the car, all these issues that seemed relatively minor when leaving the car on a dry afternoon, very quickly became major ones. Of course, I collected our car at midnight, in the rain, after a long day of travel, with my wife and sleeping baby waiting. So in the pitch dark I walked through the wet grass and mud, found the car and then proceeded to coat the entire car in an inch of mud with my efforts to get out of the car park. Oh, did I mention NO DISCERNABLE EXIT in my list of things that the "car park" didn't have?! So quite pleased with myself at managing to manoeuver the car out of it's space I then struggled to actually get out of the field. I think what had happened was the hotel, in some kind of ill-advised, half-hearted attempt to control the flow of traffic in and out of the field, had cordoned off one of the entrances/exits, leaving only one way out, which was rather a tight squeeze and obstructed by parked cars and huge mud-filled ravines just waiting to break my car. In my attempts to exit I did end up getting stuck for a few worrying minutes but after spraying mud everywhere and probably half-wrecking my car I eventually managed to escape.

I will stop ranting now. Suffice to say, the 'airport parking' is a joke. A really bad joke and the hotel should convert the field into a proper parking area or stop offering the service. I did complain to the staff at the desk about my experience and they promised me a phone call from the manager the next morning. I am still waiting for that call.

Before our departure on holiday (and before the above escapade) we did stay in the hotel. The rooms were OK but in need of refurbishment, the baby cot was not set up (despite a pre-arrival request to do this), the noise from the function downstairs was noticeable and the bed was, quite frankly, pretty shocking. Lumpy and with springs digging into our backs, it did not provide a comfortable few hours sleep before getting up at 3 in the morning for our early morning flight.

So unfortunately I an unable to recommend this hotel on any level. And I remain really quite angry about my midnight experience in the field of doom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_GRINGO_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erskine hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

On entering our room it was far too hot! The heating system was ancient and would not turn off!
The room decor was awful, wallpaper peeling off walls and carpet was dirty! In need of serious refurbishment!
We requested a travel cot for our 8 month old which was fine, but we were given an old fleece blanket for it which was itchy and had clearly not been washed as it had food on it! Luckily we had our own blanket for our baby!
The bathroom was ok on first inspection but on a closer look the paint on the bath was flaking off and shower was useless! Also at night there were tiny insects crawling around the bath! (Yuk)
We used the swimming pool which was lovely and warm and the changing rooms seemed to have been newly refurbished! This was the only part of the hotel I would recommend!
Breakfast was average!
All and all pretty terrible! Will not be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimeecxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erskine
2.9 mi away
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
5.1 mi away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erskine Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erskine Bridge Hotel

Property: Erskine Bridge Hotel
Address: Riverside, Erskine PA8 6AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Erskine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Erskine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Erskine Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Erskine Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erskine Bridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing