We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Onich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camus House Lochside Lodge
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

So pleased we chose to stay at Camus House whilst touring Scotland. Alastair and Louise were very attentive and welcoming - Alastair even carried our cases up to our room for us. The house is beautiful and our bay fronted room was extremely spacious and spotlessly clean - it overlooked the Loch and the views were stunning. The breakfasts were well presented and well cooked and there was a great choice. The house is set in lovely gardens which Alastair and Louise work hard to maintain. We certainly hope to return at sometime in the future where we know we will receive great hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of Camus House have the best views over the Loch. Although the road is busy durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
72
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with Alastair & Louise and wished it was for a lot longer. Location was perfect being central to great day trips in different directions. Our room was lovely with a fantastic view over the loch and snow topped mountains in the distance. Alastair and Louise were wonderful hosts with lots of good travel information, restaurant recommendations and were so friendly and helpful. Alastair even managed to get our hire car sound system working! Breakfasts were lovely and our room was spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed seven nights with Alastair and Louise and it was just wonderful! The are very friendly and attentive and made our stay there a real pleasure. The breakfast is awesome — if you are there: try the poached eggs with bacon!

The also serve baked beans, Haggis and Black Pudding in small portions for breakfast so you can try if you like it before ordering a big meal for lunch at some fancy restaurant.

The rooms are very clean and have a nice view over the Loch and the Highlands. Although the Camus House is placed directly at a main coast-route street, the nights are quiet — you only hear the Lochs water and some birds.

We highly appreciated Louises Tips for Trips to do around there and she has a lot of recommendations for Restaurants as well (don't miss the Seafood Café when you are there)!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastianoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

First stayed at Camus House for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary September 2011 and vowed to return. This time we brought our relatives whom we holiday with occasionally, they were as equally impressed as we were the first time with the hospitality which we received from Alistair and Louise, from the minute of our arrival we felt very welcome with Alistair collecting our cases Louise showing us to our rooms at the front with exceptional views of the loch, and tea/coffee and biscuits to refresh us from our journey up from Glasgow airport, the weather being good enough to enjoy these refreshments seated at the table out front. As usual the accomodation was spot on, very comfortable and clean, they even have electric blankets for those chilly evenings later in the year. Breakfasts were second to none plus some extras you wouldn't get elsewhere. Alistair and Louise are a mine of information on places to go and things to do and are always interested in how your day has been, considerate, careing but unobtusive. We cant wait for our next visit!!

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 5 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YelselSenwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My family and I were fortunate enough to find the Camus House and book a room for two nights while on vacation in Scotland. The accomodation were perfect and view of the loch amazing! Every single attention to detail was thoroughly thought through. Alastair and Louise are two of the most geniune and gracious people we have ever met! They really helped us understand the Scotland Highlands with places to go and see, restaurants to eat at and the scenic drive recommended by Louise along the west coast was breath taking! Every area in the upper highlands is within reach of the Camus House! DO NOT PASS THIS OPPORTUNITY BY!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but if you want a direct view of the loch, be sure to specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights and were given a lovely room with stunning views across the loch, Alistair and Louise were very welcoming and their house is lovely. Unfortunately our first night was disturbed by guest in the next room being noisy and taking showers at 11.30pm which some of you readers will be thinking so what, it's not the taking of the shower that was the problem it was the incessant banging of the shower door, the clattering of the towel rails and the loud talking while one was in the shower the other was shouting to make themselves heard. That was the problem, however on enquiring as to how we had slept Louise was horrified to learn of all this the next morning and after a lovely, freshly cooked breakfast Alistair asked us if we would like to move rooms as he had heard we had had a rough night, on finding out that the inconsiderate guest would not be next door the next night we declined his offer but it was very nice of him to make it as it was by no means his or Louise's fault that we had the problem. This shows you how much they both put into making your stay a perfect as possible, the only thing that I could find fault with was the lack of toiletries which caught me out as I usually don't bother to pack shower gel and shampoo when I bed and breakfast as they usually provide all that and I didn't have any shampoo with me!!! Still it's a very nice place to stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stormtwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Camus House for two nights. The room was warm and the bed very comfortable. Louise was very helpful and provided lots of information about the area. The breakfast was beautiful and plenty of it. The views of the Loch amazing. A home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilky_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onich
0.1 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
632 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
1.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lodge On The Loch
1.8 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camus House Lochside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camus House Lochside Lodge

Property: Camus House Lochside Lodge
Address: Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Onich
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A character Victorian property conveniently located between Glencoe and Fort William. Standing in it's own grounds in an elevated, lochside position with magnificent far-reaching views.Offering B&B accommodation where a warm welcome and high standard of comfort awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camus House Lochside Lodge Onich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing