We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Voucher deal”
Review of Onich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Onich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Reviewed March 28, 2013

On arrival we were checked in and shown to our room by friendly staff, we then met up with our friends who were also in the hotel, we went to the bar but found it closed at 4.15pm when it was meant to be open at 3.00pm and were informed "they were to buzy to open the bar at the moment" so we had to travel to the next village for entertainment. The evening meal was good and service friendly.Evening entertainment is a dart board, pool table in the tv lounge.
Our room with large bath/shower room were spotless, a balcony with loch view.
The views over the loch are stunning.
Worth the cost of the voucher.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 683 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

....but compared to other hotels, I have to be honest and say there was nothing "special" about it.
We were given a warm and friendly welcome as we arrived and although we were early we were allowed to go to our room straight away. This was very good of them. Our room was attractive with beautiful views in two directions of the beach and water. The gardens are lovely and if it had not been a Baltic March day I'm sure we would have spend much time there.
At this time of year the hotel bar is closed at lunch time so we visited the shop/tea room a couple of hundred yards away for lunch. We did however eat in the bar at night and the meal was cooked well, with good sized portions. I guess the negative aspect for me was the lack of warmth in the public areas. There is a VERY attractive "Residents Lounge on the ground floor but we were unable to use it as there was no heating at all. Some kind of solid fuel heater was there but not on. That was a shame as I'm sure guests would gravitate there. The small bar leading off this lounge did have one very small heater in the wall and we did sit there for a while but again, chilly. The main bar where the food is served has a gas fire and through the evening it did heat up well.The next morning we enjoyed a very good breakfast in the warm breakfast room(!) which has lovely views of the water. This hotel does have a lot in its favour but there was just something that was not there...maybe it was just the warm public rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasg0wJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onichhotel_11, Front Office Manager at Onich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Our staff would like to thank you for your wonderfull compliments. We do pride ourselves on having a good core Front of House Team and we are always happy when they receive recognition for their efforts. They were more than pleased to be refered to as our "best asset"
The hotel is situated in a beautiful location and it is very easy to become lost in the beauty of the scenery. We are very lucky to live somewhere so picturesque.
Next time you come to stay you will need to stay longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Friendly staff.
Lovely room with balcony, enjoyable breakfast.
Enjoyed evening meal (venison).
Would of liked more choice on menu.
scenery is stunning even in the rain.
Would highly recommend..
This was a voucher offer bought online, there were no unexpected extras.

Room Tip: Room with balcony a must..I had room 9. You can listen to the waves on the shore and step out to lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onichhotel_11, Front Office Manager at Onich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Our menu changes and has more options closer to the Summer. Unfortunately the Winter menu tends to be more limited (with only 10 main course options) due to the season not beginning until Easter time. Having said that we are happy to see that you enjoyed our Venison, it is one of the more popluar dishes on our menu.
We pride ourselves on having a wonderful core team of staff and were glad to see that you took the time to comment on how friendly they were.
Please do not hesitate to contact us to book a return visist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here 15th March to 18th March 2013. Hotel was lovely and homely. Beds very comfy! Room nice and spacious. We booked a Loch view room and were not disappointed. The view was stunning and the hotel itself is a two minute walk onto the shore of the Loch. So worth the money!
The shower in the ensuite, well, brilliant! Ive stayed in many hotels where the water is merely a trickle and throws out water that's cold in 5 minutes. The shower here was powerful and nice and hot! Made it hard to get out.
The food was lovely and traditional. Massive portions! So massive that i could not finish the meals. A real bonus for big eaters.
The staff were fantastic. I could not fault them. Very friendly, polite and chatty. They even went to the lengths of finding us itineraries for ferries to go island hopping, printing them and explaining it all to us and calling the local co-op to find out if they stocked gaviscon when i was unwell on the last night - i must add i am a sufferer of acid reflux, nothing to do with their catering! Normally staff can be clinical and "business like" but the staff here, right down to the waitresses were all fantastic. They made us feel very welcome.
The only negatives i could think of, and let me tell you, ive had to rack my brains to think of them, was the normal not enough plug sockets in the room, but that it the case with every hotel in the UK! More hangers needed in the wardrobe. In the grand scheme of things, two tiny points.

10/10 and would highly recommend to others.

The Bishops

Room Tip: A Loch view room is a must! No outside noise at night so no need to be picky about rooms on certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bishop-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onichhotel_11, Front Office Manager at Onich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

On behalf of everyone here at The Onich Hotel I would like to take the opportunity to say thank you for your kind words. Our staff were exstatic to see that you enjoyed yourself so much.
It is always a pleasure to house guests such as yourselves, we sincerely hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights after purchasing a groupon voucher. The views from our room were spectacular, waking up every morning to the beauty of the Loch. The room was very clean and spacious with tea, coffee and biscuits replenished daily. Breakfast was included in the deal and was freshly cooked each morning, ranging from full Scottish, smoked haddock, kippers etc as well as an extensive range of cereals, fruits and juices. One morning we slept in so didn't get to breakfast until around ten minutes before they stopping serving (breakfast 7.30-9.30), however we were still served and offered drinks and extra toast well after this time. We ate in the restaurant two nights and the food was tasty and generous in portion size. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onichhotel_11, Front Office Manager at Onich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you so much for kind words. Everyone was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay so much. The Chef was increadibly happy that you liked or breakfasts.
It is always nice when people appreciate the area and all its beauty. We are very lucky to live in such a lovely location.
Please do not hesitate to contact us to book a return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

we stayed at onich last nov.It was so good we decided to take my sister who was over from ireland for a three night break. Yet again the staff surpassed themselves and made us feel so at home my sister was really impressed and was delighted with a sea view room..Thank you once again and we look forward to returning.it is ideally situated for a day trip to mull and alovely walk to steall falls

Room Tip: ask for aroom with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 300John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onichhotel_11, Front Office Manager at Onich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We were so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us again. We were also happy to see that we "impressed" your sister.
It is always great to see our staff getting recognition, we are very proud of them and deffinately consider them our best asset... after the view of course.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Onich Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We did not stay at the Onich Hotel but, we stopped by to look at the menu. The lady on the reception was very helpful and happy for us to look at the menu at the reception before deciding to whether to eat there or not. We took a look at the menu, which was not too big but, had enough options for all. We settled on the fish and chips and crayfish linguine. The fish and chips was a big portion and the crayfish linguine was a good size also, needless to say we were stuffed after just the mains. The staff behind the bar were you placed your order were really friendly and the food was reasonably priced. I would recommend eating here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nmwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnichHotel_1, Manager at Onich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thankyou for taking time to write such a wonderful review on your visit to us at the hotel. We are delighted that you found our staff helpful enjoyed your meal and that you were satisfied with the menu. We hope to welcome you back in the future and perhaps an overnight stay, please don't hesitate to contact us anytime. Many thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onich
1.6 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,251 reviews
1.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge On The Loch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onich Hotel

Address: nr Fort William, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Price Range: $74 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Onich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe with attractive gardens extending down to the water's edge the Onich Hotel has stunning panoramic views of the Mountains of Glencoe in the East to Morvern and the Isle of Mull in the West. Here you will be treated to the best in Highland Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Onich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onich
Onich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing