We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Onich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a delight.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This trip was taking advantage of a KGB deal to go and see the West Highland Railway, so expectation was not really high. What a pleasant surprise. You have to be going by car to get round this area, and there is plenty of off road parking available. The surrounding scenery is stunning - literally on the lochside with spectacular views. The greeting is friendly and very efficient. You know that you are not going to get a great room on a deal - maybe so but this room (17) was pleasant to enter, and although the bathroom is small, the other boxes get ticked. Clean, reasonably comfortable, modern flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities. The other impressions just make the whole stay more pleasant - some effort has gone into keeping the decor OK - the dinner menu may be limited but it has some choice, and the meal arrives hot - the staff are really friendly and I got a real impression that they care about what they do. Morning is good too - the shower is nice, and the breakfast is a lovely cooked one, and it arrives hot. At this point, you may start to think all is too perfect, but yes there are some negatives, albeit small ones for our trip. The building is old and probably extended many times - this means that there are many level changes as you move around to bedrooms so there are lots of steps which could be a challenge to some. If you are an early riser, you may have to wait quite a long time for the water to get hot for your shower. Did those spoil our stay? No, not at all. I really enjoyed the stay here for 3 nights. And I would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-S_Worcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    238
    115
    55
    43
See reviews for
105
344
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Room average. Breakfast good. Attitude and cleanliness of some staff and management atrocious. Such a pity as location excellent and could be a fab hotel if run properly. Overall the hotel needs a makeover as it is grubby and tired. There are actually far nicer b&bs around this location which have fabulous reveiws and are less expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Onich hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I arrived yesterday, staying 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised, after reading some of the reviews. The staff are really friendly.
The room is very clean and well serviced. The dining room and lounge are well decorated and clean. The views are absolutely stunning. Such a lovely sunset over the water. I am not a breakfast eater but it was excellent. Lovely gardens going down to the water, free wifi. I just do not understand what people are complaining about. I seems that the management are slowly upgrading, and good for them.

Salma

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sillysal123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Room basic everything else was fabulous. Lovely lounge to sit in at night and food excellent. The breakfast was relaxed and the choice was good.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good place to stay near Fort William - but you will need a car.

What a view of the loch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlISCOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the hotel for my birthday. We had a room with a balcony and wonderful views over the loch - luckily the weather was good enough for us to sit out and enjoy it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar both nights and really enjoyed the food, although I was disappointed that there was no pheasant available. Sticky toffee pudding was delicious.
Our room was a good size with a double and single bed, although carpet was a bit worn and there were hairs and some dirt round the edge of the shower cubicle which I had to wipe off. Bathroom had a bath and separate shower and a modern vanity unit. The shower would benefit from a shelf to put shampoo on.
On the first morning there was a bit of a wait for breakfast and it didn't seem to be very organised as several guests who arrived after us were served before us and when we were served, our coffee and toast didn't arrive and we had to ask for it again. When it arrived, breakfast was delicious. I had scrambled egg with smoked salmon and was given a very generous portion. The full Scottish breakfast was also very good.
My partner had ordered flowers for me and the receptionist went out of her way to get lilies for me which was very kind of her.
The hotel is about 10 miles from Fort William. We drove to Ben Nevis and went part of the way up the mountain on the cable car. There is a little beach in front of the hotel which is nice for a short stroll.
We had a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie-Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had a Kgb deal. The staff wery very friendly and our room, although not very big was clean and comfortable. The food was really good. The breakfast was the biggest scottish breakfast, which included Haggis, which we quite enjoyed. The weather was good so we were able to enjoy the most beautiful views of the loch and mountains. We would definately stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank two-taffies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnichHotel_1, Marketing at Onich Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are certainly in a very beautiful part of the country, it really makes our day to hear that others appreciate the beauty of the area as much as we do.

The Head Chef was happy to see that you enjoyed the food we offer particularly our full Scottish breakfast. The Chef very much believes it is the most important meal of the day and our breakfast provides a good start to the day.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingussie, scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a night here in September while supporting friends who were doing the "Coast to Coast" endurance race.
The hotel was everything you would want for a weekend break. It was very warm and welcoming in a lovely old fashioned sort of way. The staff were friendly and helpful,the food excellent value.
Right on the loch,the situation could not have been better.
Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a short break in a country house hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guinevere76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnichHotel_1, Marketing at Onich Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We just wanted to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Here at The Onich Hotel we like to pride ourselves on offering a “home away from home” we like to think that maintaining a traditional homely feel is part of our charm. Our staff strive to make sure our guests are well taken care of and have everything they need. It is wonderful to hear that they are doing such a great job, you really made their day.

We are certainly lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the country and is great that you appreciated it so much. We hope your friends did well in the “Coast to Coast” and would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onich
1.6 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
3.6 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
4.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge On The Loch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onich Hotel

Property: Onich Hotel
Address: nr Fort William, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Onich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe with attractive gardens extending down to the water's edge the Onich Hotel has stunning panoramic views of the Mountains of Glencoe in the East to Morvern and the Isle of Mull in the West. Here you will be treated to the best in Highland Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Onich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onich
Onich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing