We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not stay long enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Springwell Holiday Homes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not stay long enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had a long weekend in the Kerrera cottage in mid March. The idea was to stay here and have fun in the snow at Glencoe - unfortunately the mountain was closed due to high winds during our stay. We did Segway locally and had a trip to the Isle of Mull among other things to occupy our time.

The cottage is simple but very comfortable and the place has very recently been re-decorated. The cottages are just up off the road and quite private and the windows look out over Loch Linnhe - which is a spectacular view. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringwellHolidays, Owner at Springwell Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your nice review. Sorry about the skiing. Lots of snow but too much wind this year. Hope to see you again.

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    24
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a lovely weekend in the cottage called Oronsay last month. The very best thing about these properties is the incredible view! You walk out of the sliding French doors onto the deck, and you just can't quite believe how pretty it is. The light changes all day, and is particularly dramatic when its cloudy or rainy. We did suffer a bit with the rain and cold when we were outside, but the house is lovely and warm once the heating gets going, so we snuggled up inside and watched the view. Can't wait to book a trip to visit in the summer, so we can sit outside in the evenings and watch the sunset.

The property was clean and comfortable, with plenty of space to spread out and relax. The kitchen and lounge area is well equipped, and there is a dining area to chat and share meals. Bedding and towels are provided, but do remember to bring all your own edibles (including sugar and cooking oil, I always forget those!) and loo rolls. The properties are perched up a short, sharp hill, so take it slow when negotiating the driveway.

All in all, we were very happy with Springwell, and keen to return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringwellHolidays, Owner at Springwell Holiday Homes, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Many thanks for this great review. Glad you had a good time in spite of the weather. As you say the view is spectacular and there is plenty to do roundabout. Haste ye back. Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed in Oronsay Cottage with 4 friends, and we had a wonderful time. The weather wasn't great, but we spent the rainy day at the nearby ice climbing centre, which was great fun!
The cottage itself has everything you would want - its lovely and warm, has stunning views out across the water, the kitchen is big and sociable (so the person cooking isn't left out!) and the bedrooms are all good sizes and beds are comfortable.
There are lots of great walking trails nearby, and the local hotel has a friendly bar with OK food - worth visiting for a lazy Sunday lunch after a walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank local85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringwellHolidays, Owner at Springwell Holiday Homes, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Many thanks for this great review. Glad you had a good time in spite of the weather. As you say the view is spectacular and there is plenty to do roundabout. Haste ye back. Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our time in “Oronsay Cottage” was wonderful from the moment we arrived. It is a 4 bedroom cottage (one of a small number of ‘Springwell’ cottages) perched above beautiful Loch Linnhe and had ample parking – and a swing a slide which our two boys played on every day. The interior was clean and comfortable – the open plan living area was spot on and had all the amenities we needed: TV, free WiFi, a selection of books, information about the area, dining table, etc; our kitchen was fully equipped – including a washing machine; the showers/baths always lovely and hot.
The views are truly stunning across the loch and out towards the sea, and because the cottage is situated between Glen Coe and Fort William there always seemed plenty for us to do as a family. It was a perfect base for exploring the countryside – even at the end of October – and we all agreed we would definitely return again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringwellHolidays, Owner at Springwell Holiday Homes, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jonathon,

Thanks so much for this super review. Very much appreciated and haste ye back. Glad you all enjoyed your visit.

Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

September 2013. Myself, husband and 2 dogs.

We are just coming to the end of our 2 week stay and the only positive thing that I can say about Kerrera, part of the Springwell Holiday complex, is that it has a huge front window that reflects the most amazing views of Loch Linnhe and the mountains.
And you need that view because:

The place was cramped, with outdated decour, reaked of musty damp and was quite frankly dirty.
We could not sleep in the double room as the bed was jammed against the wall and the room claustraphobic, so we moved into the other twin room and moved the beds together. Years of dirt and dust plus hair lay thick against the walls and floor where the beds had been up against.

The stale damp smell pervaded everything so much so that we bought a plug in air freshner to cope.

The windows and sills were thick with dirt and cob webs, clearly not having been cleaned for a long time.

The bathroom was dirty as was the toilet on arrival, and there was black mould around the bath and handbasin.

One of the heaters was not working when we arrived and one of the main lights was also not working.
We reported this to the site manager and to be fair an electrician came and fitted a new heater the next day, but the light blew a few days later and fused all the main lights in the cottage.

I washed everything in the kitchen first prior to use. The smoke alarm was activated most mornings when we made toast, and the extractor fan blew moisture back into the kitchen and lounge steaming up the windows.

The whole place is in dire need of renovation but also just needs regular maintenance, including cleaning as a priority. The guttering was leaking badly outside the main window and all the paintwork was cracking on the sills. It is just generally neglected.

I would not recommend Springwell as a holiday retreat to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roisin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringwellHolidays, Owner at Springwell Holiday Homes, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
This is a hard review to read and I am very sorry that Kerrera failed to meet this guest's expectations. We take all constructive criticisms seriously, this one included. However I do feel this is a bit harsh, our worst review out of 57 predominantly 4 and 5 star scorings over 5 year's trading. We have had a minor problem this year with getting back up staff for changeovers but that is no excuse if we failed to meet our usual standard. We have now recruited extra help.

The complaints about the cottage being cramped I cannot obviously change. It is a standard 1970s design and since taking over the business we have reroofed the cottage and completed the double glazing as well as redecorating annually and replacing all the main furniture. Kerrera and Shuna will be renovated this winter, as Lismore Cottage was in 2012/13, to include a full new bathroom/shower, reorganisation of the twin bedroom to make more space and replacement of all the electric radiators.

We are trying and the great majority of our guests express themselves to be delighted.

It is always a shame when visitors are not satisfied but do not take the matter up with us when they are staying so that we can make things right for them. I will attempt to speak to this reviewer direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a great week in the west highlands at springwell cottages. Coming from south devon and holidaying with our 2 dogs shauna cottage was brill ! Yes the weather was misty and murky at times but we were expecting the conditions so were well equiped. The cottage was clean and very well equipped with all that we would have expected and more! We were happy with our accommodation as were our dogs! Loved the bird feeders. Saw birds we would not see in our little garden. Good situation for sight seeing and local amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine_C917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringwellHolidays, Owner at Springwell Holiday Homes, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Lorraine,

Many thanks for your helpful review. So glad that you and your dogs enjoyed your visit to Springwell and the wonderful West Highlands. Hope to see you again. As you know we offer a 10% discount for repeat bookings in the following year.

Best wishes

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were booked into the Croft from 3rd till 10th August, but left on the 9th to head home.

Having contacted the owner prior to booking to informing him that I am a cancer patient with a compromised immune system, I was assured the property would be clean. Unfortunately, this was not the case. I had requested a new 2 bed cottage for my family of 4 (2 adults, 2 children), but with none available on my chosen dates, the owner kindly offered us the Croft (which sleeps 6) at the same price as the 2 bed cottages. I was thrilled at this fantastic offer, but my joy was short lived.

On arrival the housekeeper Rhona was in the cottage as we were a little early. She was lovely and said we could just come in as she had finished all the preparation in the house. She showed us around and left, letting us know she was contactable at any time. At first glance the Croft is lovely. It is a very traditional interior which was appreciated, and the rooms were all kitted out well with everything you could possibly need.

However, after closer inspection, it became clear that the carpets had been hoovered, and the duvet covers had been changed, but everything else was rather dirty. We spent the remainder of our first day cleaning and washing things. The kitchen was particularly filthy.The fridge and freezer were clean enough, but the work surfaces and kitchen unit doors and handles were filthy...the bread bin was so filthy inside and out that we decided not to use it at all...and didn't attempt to clean it either. The inside of the microwave was so dirty, that when I ran a wipe over the inner roof of it, my children were retching at the state of the wipe. We washed one set of plates, mugs, bowls, glasses, and used only those. The lovely old wooden table had crumbs on it and dirty mats, and I don't think the accompanying chairs had ever been cleaned. We removed the padded cushions and washed them in the washing machine, then cleaned the backs and seats of the wooden chairs themselves.

Had we been a party of 6, I do not know how any of the party would have been able to sleep in the downstairs bedroom, which has the worst damp smell I have ever experienced. We never spent a single night in it, and chose instead to sleep in the attic rooms...even though this meant a considerable walk to the loo during the night. The quilt covers seemed to be clean but the quilts still had a really old body odour smell, which was so unbearable on our first night, that we had them outside on the airer for the whole of the next day...which helped a little.

The bathroom is in dire need of refurbishment, with boxing in which is missing at parts, cobwebs and general dirt around the floors and ceiling areas. The shower curtain was too long and the bathmat was like nothing I have ever seen before.

To be honest, I cannot believe I left my lovely home and paid more than a months rent to stay in this place for a week. I have stayed in many cleaner and more comfortable caravans.

I realise that old buildings have a certain musty smell, but this was beyond that. It is such a shame that the quilts and such likes are not replaced often enough and that the place was not cleaned to an acceptable standard, as the location is good and the building has the potential to be great!

Having disclosed my illness and requested a clean place to stay, I am very disappointed with the condition of the croft. I would not recommend that people use this place at all, and particularly if they are in a party of 6, as the downstairs bedroom would have to be used, and it is not habitable due to the smell.

We left the place a lot cleaner than it was when we arrived. If it hadn't been my daughter's birthday & if we hadn't booked a lot of activities for the week prior to arriving, I'd have been back home a lot earlier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishMcQ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringwellHolidays, Owner at Springwell Holiday Homes, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am very concerned to have received this third poor review in recent weeks having had nearly 50 exemplary comments over the last 3 years. I will be in touch with Trish in person to apologise.

We take all complaints very seriously. The only explanation, not an excuse, is the huge increase in short bookings over this year which increases the turn over load for the Site Manager.

Obviously we need to adapt to maintain our standards and we therefore intend to take on extra staff as soon as possible to ensure a presence on site for a few hours each day so that any problems can be reported and put right straight away. We also intend to take over all our own laundry so as not to be dependent on an external service which has not always been satisfactory.

We would urge our guests where they find something which is not to their liking to raise it with us straight away and not to suffer in silence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onich
1.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lodge On The Loch
4.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
3.5 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springwell Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwell Holiday Homes

Property: Springwell Holiday Homes
Address: Springwell Springwell, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Onich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Springwell Holiday Homes 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Self-catering holiday cottages near Onich, Fort William in the Highlands of Scotland. Dramatic scenery, private beach, local walks, hikes and watersports available, pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Springwell Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springwell Holiday Homes Onich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing