We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay at Springwell!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Springwell Holiday Homes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We visited the Glen Coe and Fort William area as a 12-strong group with birthday celebrations and walking trips in mind. This time we hire two cottages ("Oronsay" and "Lismore") and once again found accommodation to be very comfortable and spacious with plenty of facilities and of course the spectacular view of scenery around the Onich Area. Site manager Pat is always on hand and very helpful.

The Springwell grounds are very pleasant and you can have an easy stroll around the wooded hillside or down to the secluded bay. Great walking is nearby in Glencoe, Kinlochleven and Ballachulish or more adventurous peaks are also very accessable from Springwell - the summit of Bidean is quite clearly seen from the site.

We all had a great time and our holiday was made that little bit more special by the homely accomodation and beautiful surroundings of Springwell - we will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Having now stayed in "Oronsay" and "Colonsay", both properties offer comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinLiptrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 96 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

We arrived very late at night following a Friday evening drive from Glasgow airport. Arriving at Springwell I immediately felt relaxed and it was a fitting introduction to a relaxing weekend away from London which we spent decompressing in the most beautiful scenery.

The cottages are set back off the main road and slightly higher up the hillside which means that you are oblivious to the noise of any passing cars and also have a beautiful clear view of the loch. All the cottages have large windows which afford clear views of the scenery and these ensure that each cottage feels light and airy. The cottages have everything that you need - very well equipped kitchens, the most comfortable beds and a great sitting room area with freeview TV and guidebooks. I didn't once have that feeling of "if only there was a ..." here. We were staying as part of a larger group across a couple of the properties and they are all unique but equally well-equipped.

We were so lucky with the weather - it was very light and mild for November - and we therefore spent most of the weekend walking near the cottages, on the lochside beach or slight further afield (Righ Falls). It was so sunny we even managed to eat outside one lunchtime (the other day we had a very enjoyable pub meal at the nearby hotel which is around 5 mins walk from Springwell). However whatever the weather, there's so much to do nearby and the cottages are so cosy, a visit at any time of the year would be wonderful. I'm already planning my next trip!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

From London via Glasgow airport, Springwell was so easy to reach and is totally idyllic from arriving to leaving. The cottages are easy to find and well signed on the main road. In our cottage the kitchen was well equipped, had a peaceful sitting room with freeview TV and very comfortable beds . The view in the morning was beautiful and means that you will never want to spend time in the cottage during the day. The walk behind the cottages is well pathed and offers an even more spectacular view. The beach just at the bottom of the road is perfect for kids, swimming (if you are brave!) and has a lovely BBQ and picnic table for sunny lunches. The pub is within walking distance and they were very friendly- we ate there twice in one day! However if you fancy cooking Ballahulish Co-op is well stocked and is only a quick drive away. A small drive towards fort william are the Righ Falls which are definately worth a walk to see. Springwell offers a very homely retreat that feels pleasantly remote with all the luxuries to making a successful break on your doorstep. I highly recommend and will be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Very comfortable accommodation, and those views are something else! I've been twice now and certainly plan to return. I would highly recommend Springwell Holiday Homes, as well as the surrounding area of Onich. A great place to base yourself for fantastic walks, sea kayaking, and the local pubs and restaurants are pretty good too. The accommodation has everything you'd need, as well as outdoor seating and balconies to make the most of the scenery.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HMA502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in Colonsay, which is a great cottage, with lots of space, stunning views from the kitchen & sitting room, lots of parking space and a picnic table outside so we could have lunch in the sunshine (stunning weather even in November!).
There are some great walks nearby, lots to do and to see. Cannot recommend this place more highly, it was great and I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sploodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous little cottages with everything you would need!! Clean, fresh and with a real homely feel. The views were second to none!! Gorgeous little beaches and great wee hiking trails. Had such a great weekend and would definitely recommend Springwell Holiday Homes!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

These are brilliant cottages with great facilities. But the best part is the setting - it really is a beautiful part of Scotland with incredible views of the loch and surrounding hills. Nothing beats sitting outside the cottages with a cool beer in hand watching the sun set over the water. A great place to stay!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank manuelk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onich
1.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
685 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge On The Loch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Glendevin
Glendevin
#2 of 8 in Onich
71 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inchree Lodge
Inchree Lodge
#3 of 5 in Onich
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Corran
The Corran
#5 of 5 in Onich
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springwell Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwell Holiday Homes

Address: Springwell Springwell, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Onich
Price Range: $99 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Springwell Holiday Homes 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Self-catering holiday cottages near Onich, Fort William in the Highlands of Scotland. Dramatic scenery, private beach, local walks, hikes and watersports available, pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Springwell Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springwell Holiday Homes Onich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing