We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Springwell Holiday Homes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views and Location”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a fantastic holiday, everything was perfect
We booked a day sea kayacking to see some otters and could not believe we saw them at the side of the loch while having a bbq. The set up was excellent we were well looked after by the site manager nothing was a problem. The only issue one week was not enough!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    24
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had a great holiday at Springwell Cottages. Great location and beautiful scenery, very relaxing. The small touches, we found particularly impressive, e.g. well equipped wash room, including iron, board and powder, tea towels, sandwich bags, foil etc, and even x2 postcards with stamps! The site manager has excellent knowledge of the area and was happy to spend time talking and answering any questions. We cannott think of any negative comments, however, we did have excellent weather all week, which is not usual, so we have no complaints whatsoever.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NigellaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed in the Croft Cottage for three nights with family,4 of us in total. The Croft cottage is the real deal, an original craft cottage. Cottage was basic but very spacious downstairs with a large kitchen and living, 1 double bedroom downstairs and a double and twin bedroom upstairs. The sloping ceiling upstairs is very low so tall people like us have to bend down to walk there. Bedrooms upstairs are otherwise spacious, the staircase is very steep and narrow though, bit dangerous if you have youngsters. The bathroom is situated downstairs in the attached outbuilding where the washer and dryer are located. Though it is functional it is pretty basic and again tall people will have trouble standing up straight in the shower. All and all not major problems sofar, but the entire house, especially downstairs has a severe mold problem and although not visible except on the window sills the smell of it was very distinct throughout the house. We did not use the downstairs bedroom because the mold-smell was so bad. Kitchen cupboards and living had same problem. Furthermore the cleanliness of the cottage was not exactly overwhelming, cobwebs everywhere and dust and dirt one the carpets.

I have not seen the other cottages, they are all modern buildings so I presume they are much better.

Croft Cottage is close to the main road with beautiful views of the Loch and a little private beach across the road. Traffic noise is present, busy during the day but much less during the night.
Some furry/feathered friends?? can be heard at night under the roof.( bats??)

Pat was very friendly and I hope he can fix the problems of this potentially lovely cottage.

Due to the persistent smell of mold and lack of cleanliness I can not recommend this cottage and would not stay here again no matter how beautiful the location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringwellHolidays, Owner at Springwell Holiday Homes, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Great to see so many good and helpful reviews but the recent review of Croft by YF was not so favourable. We have to hold our hands up and admit we had a few problems at Croft Cottage that week. All sorted now and it won't happen again. I will be in touch with YF in person to offer a refund. Richard. Springwell Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Most glorious setting. The house had every facility you could want. It all made for a very happy and memorable holiday. It comes with my unreserved recommendation. Eight of us aged from 15 to 77 all got along beautifully and had one of our best family holidays ever.

Room Tip: We stayed in the house Colonsay, but all the houses looked lovely. Colonsay did perhaps have the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Springwell is in a great location for exploring the area, Fort William is only 10 miles away and Glencoe is 5 miles away, the cottages have picture postcard views and are very comfortable and clean inside, would recommend you go on the Steam Train from Fort William to Mallaig it was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This has been the most memorable of all family holidays!!! The view is just breathtaking, we didnt want to go to bed as we just wanted to keep looking at it. It is simple picture perfect :)
Lovley cossy cottages, plenty of room for the whole family. It is an absolutely stunning location, sensational views of Loch Linnhe and the surounding mountains. One week is simple not enough to enjoy all this beautiful area has to offer.
If you want a relaxing holiday away in Scotland this is the place to do it!!!!
Absolutely recommend in you wont regret it at all.
Cant wait to come back again soon :D

Room Tip: Book it right now. Summer was lovely and winter would be amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We had a week in a two bedroom chalet with stunning views over Loch Leven and surrounding mountains. Situated well away from main road and yet well connected if touring the area. We enjoyed good local pubs. Bird feeders were fun to watch from the big lounge windows. Site manager Pat was v helpful. We would love to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilio_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onich
1.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
631 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge On The Loch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springwell Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwell Holiday Homes

Property: Springwell Holiday Homes
Address: Springwell Springwell, Onich PH33 6RY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Onich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Springwell Holiday Homes 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Self-catering holiday cottages near Onich, Fort William in the Highlands of Scotland. Dramatic scenery, private beach, local walks, hikes and watersports available, pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Springwell Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springwell Holiday Homes Onich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing