We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place i have stayed in”
Review of Inchree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inchree Lodge
Reviewed December 29, 2013

On arrival, we were unsure of where the challet was as we had to park the car then walk down a small tight lane with our cases. The kitchen was extremely cold and the net curtains did not even meet. The livingroom was ok but the couch could not comfortably fit 2 people. The bedrooms were basic but fine. The bathroom totally grosed me out. Never had a shower the whole weekend as I felt cleaner not going in 1. We went to the pub which was nice but never realised that the drinks we were adding onto the food bill was extortionate. The burger and chips looked lovely but the burger was pink inside. There are no lights walking back from the pub so please ensure your phone has a torch. The next night I made a meal in the chalet. Everything has to be thoroughly cleaned before eating as the colander has remains of a salad from the previous occupants. Clearly no eating utensils were cleaned beforehand. Was annoyed when reading the welcome book that it demanded any dog hair to be hoovered before leaving. So the cleaners on site do not have to ensure that the dishes are cleaned, hoover or clean the bathroom by the sounds of it. The walks, however, are stunning and worth taking a trip in for just a walk but not to stay

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rchalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 129 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

The location was very good between Fort William and Glencoe enabling us to explore the area with ease.
Being where it is outside of Fort William meant the price for a nights stay was more reasonable than you would pay in the overpriced town of Fort William.
The location close to the ferry across the loch to head to Mull also saved considerable driving distance.
OK the bedroom was fairly basic but it was clean and comfortable enough and we had our own private facilities which was a step up from the YHA but at a similar price.
There was a fully equipped kitchen which meant we could cater for ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiskers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a night in August 2013. The room was OK (not luxury, just acceptable !), as we were travelling by motorbike, we were looking for something convenient and cheap close to Glen Coe.
As we arrived late we didn't bother looking for a restaurant, we had dinner at, the restaurant near the lodge.
Unfortunately the waitress completely forgot our dinner, and we sat there for a while drinking our beer and starving, waiting for our salmon ! Much to our surprise, when another waitress realized we were still waiting, she suggested we had another drink while they were cooking our salmon..but in the end she didn't offer the beers, we paid everything.
We thought it was indelicate as we didn't yell at anyone because of this mistake, we were just patient and understanding (we were on holidays).
In this place, just like in many other ones in the world : when you are a tourist, you just have to pay !!!
This is our worst experience in Scotland, and we definitely love this country and the Scottish people in spite of that !!

Room Tip: it's a good deal because of the location, but it's definitely better to stay in a B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank highlandbikers7364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Inchree lodge and hired the 5 bed family room. it was the prefect base for our trip with Vertical descents the following day. The room was good value, nice and clean and plenty of room for 4 adults. It had two toilets and one shower all, so we had plenty of facilities. The shower was a bit strange in that the shower head was in the wrong place,so when you stood in it the shower curtain stuck to your body and the light in the shower and the toilet is on a sensor so I kept getting plunged into darkness every two minutes whilst taking a shower or sat on the toilet. This amused me more than annoyed me though.

The rooms are on the same site as a pub and a restaurant. The food was lovely and my friend was very pleased to find they had a good selection of Whisky.

The rooms also came with a shared kitchen so you can also choose to make your own food if you choose.
Brilliant, I would stay again if I was in the area. Vertical descents is just a minutes drive away and Fort William is a 15 minute drive, so it was a perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie_pigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The concept of sharing the kitchen facilities is great, it is like a private canteen. Staff always helpfull. We were a group of six, and used one big room. We made check in the pub, everything worked as expected. I recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wanted a place that could sleep three adults in one room and this place qualified. However as we were all 50 plus and not overly active, climbing in and out of a double bed against the wall makes it a little difficult. Definitely hostel accommodation. The beds were comfortable but not having white sheets left their cleanliness in some doubt. The shower was like the 'Scotch Mist' and you had to run around to get wet with the poor pressure. The shower curtain clung to you like a second skin making it almost a fight get out. The floor and walls had evidence of mold along with the wood trim. We didn't use the communal kitchen so could not have coffee in the morning.
The restaurant was nice with a good variety of food on offer. The quality of the food was good pub food with sufficient portions at a reasonable price.
The staff were friendly and helpful although the Scottish accent was missing.
We would not go back, but in saying that it was because it was just not our style of accommodation. Backpackers, walkers or climbers would probably find it very good but a mature husband and wife with their father didn't.

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick and Michel... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have just returned from a week of hiking in Scotland, and climbing Ben Nevis. We had a whole part of the hostel to ourselves being with a large group (18 people). I have the following to say towards the lodge:
- It is neat and clean
- The water in the shower is hot: Good as many hostels haven't got this right
- The location is ideal. You are like 20 mins drive from Ben Nevis and 10 mins drive from Glen Coe Valley. The surrounding areas are nice too as you are next to a lake with mountains in the background.
- There is a big drying room good enough for a large group.
- The bedrooms are for 2 people mostly, each having their own toilet/sink/shower which is great relief if you are hiking whole day, less shower queues.
- Next door is the pub, which offers great food.
- The staff are friendly and helpful
However, I would not call this a 5 star accommodation. Why, because I stay at 5 stars most of my business week and this is far off from that, and I don't want to set wrong expectations.
Negatives:
- The shower has no pressure. You may want to take a bucket with you to have a better bath!
- There is no pressure in the Kitchen taps either, but it is workable.
- The heaters have a mind of their own, we barely had our room heaters working but once we were cosy in our beds, we forgot it as were too tired to bother with it. The kitchen is warmer than the rooms.

Overall, a Decent place to stay if you are hiking!

Room Tip: Some rooms have better lake/mountain views and they are generally on the outer side. Check with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onich
2.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corran Bunkhouse
Corran Bunkhouse
#2 of 33 in Fort William
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Lodge On The Loch
0.2 mi away
Glendevin
Glendevin
#2 of 8 in Onich
71 reviews
1.3 mi away
Springwell Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchree Lodge

Address: Inchree Inchree, Onich PH33 6SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Onich
Price Range: $67 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inchree Lodge is a family-run holiday center situated midway between the Ben Nevis & Glencoe Mountains. We offer good-quality, keenly-priced twin and family ensuite rooms in a Scandinavian-style lodge. There are full self-catering facilities, along with an on-site Pub & Restaurant with open fire, good food and Highland Ales & Whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inchree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchree Lodge Onich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing