We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Youth Hostel Accomodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inchree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inchree Lodge
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent Youth Hostel Accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have just returned from a week of hiking in Scotland, and climbing Ben Nevis. We had a whole part of the hostel to ourselves being with a large group (18 people). I have the following to say towards the lodge:
- It is neat and clean
- The water in the shower is hot: Good as many hostels haven't got this right
- The location is ideal. You are like 20 mins drive from Ben Nevis and 10 mins drive from Glen Coe Valley. The surrounding areas are nice too as you are next to a lake with mountains in the background.
- There is a big drying room good enough for a large group.
- The bedrooms are for 2 people mostly, each having their own toilet/sink/shower which is great relief if you are hiking whole day, less shower queues.
- Next door is the pub, which offers great food.
- The staff are friendly and helpful
However, I would not call this a 5 star accommodation. Why, because I stay at 5 stars most of my business week and this is far off from that, and I don't want to set wrong expectations.
Negatives:
- The shower has no pressure. You may want to take a bucket with you to have a better bath!
- There is no pressure in the Kitchen taps either, but it is workable.
- The heaters have a mind of their own, we barely had our room heaters working but once we were cosy in our beds, we forgot it as were too tired to bother with it. The kitchen is warmer than the rooms.

Overall, a Decent place to stay if you are hiking!

Room Tip: Some rooms have better lake/mountain views and they are generally on the outer side. Check with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

12 of us have just returned from Inchree after a Ben Nevis weekend and I cannot rate it highly enough.

We shared 3 chalets. The chalets are perfectly kitted out, warm and comfortable and very reasonably priced.

The on site bar and restaurant is the perfect place after a day on the mountain. The food was of a much higher standard than we imagined it would have been.

Dogs are welcome in the bar area and the staff were all friendly, cheerful and welcoming. There is so much to do in the area that we could have happily stayed for a week and will definitely return

Room Tip: If you're travelling with your dog you will need to book a chalet as the "rooms" and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Location:
Great, right between Fort William and GlenCoe. This makes this accomodation a perfect base for trips and hikes to surrounding area.
Facilities:
Great value for the money. I did not expect a 5* hotel for 13 pounds a day and I was pleasently surprised by the quality of the accomodation. Kitchen was well equipped, spacious, rooms were warm and cosy. Everything was clean.
Stuff:
Extremely helpful and friendly (and I am not saying that because they were my countrymates). We checked in very easily at night.
P.S.
There is a ponny and a goat who have apparently developed an amazing relationship between each other. The ponny is feeding the goat. We found it to be very cute.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlimisteaTermitiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in February. Check in was simple and the chalet itself offered a living space, comfortably furnished, well equipped small kitchen with cooker, fridge and micro, double bedroom and twin room all presented to a near spotless standard.
There was an on site laundry and drying area, as well as a comfortable well stocked bar and restaurant with A1 customer service. Main meals were around £9, of excellent quality and served quickly with drinks at £3.50 a pint. There were 3 diverse menu options for vegetarians.
It would appear the bar is also used by local folk in for a few beers which added to the atmosphere.
We'd choose this again for staying in the area as it offered far more flexibility than a hotel in terms of space and quietness. Some of the chalets were separated by hedging for a bit more privacy. This site is ideal for couples, groups or families and had an eco focus with recycling facilities and timed water heaters. Our chalet was £60 a night for 2 people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in one of the chalets, "Glen Creran", in February. Good value and adequate faclities, but showing its age. Heating is by electric fan and convectors, its takes sometime to get cosy on arriving in the evening. The bathroom was never really warm during our stay.

On site food in the Four Seasons pub and restaurant is of average quality, however portions are generous. The pub is cosy, with and open wood burning stove. Service is friendly and good.

The location and availability of on site eating make this a good choice for hillwalking trips in either Glencoe or Ben Nevis areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We made a spur of the moment decision on New Years Eve to drive up to Scotland and spend a couple of days snowboarding. These chalets were in an ideal location for us, half way between Glencoe and the Nevis Range. We also picked them because there was a reception, so we knew we would be able to check in late (since it was NYE we figured some B&B owners would probably not want to be on duty all night!), but rang ahead to check that a late check-in would be OK and were told that we could check in up until the bar closed at 1am (and were even given a bit of a discount on the price). After a 6 hour drive we arrived at about 23:30 and checked in with absolutely no problems - 10 minutes later we were back in the cosy bar area to see in the New Year.
We had got a very cheap rate for the chalet, so weren't expecting anything amazing, but it was actually very pleasant, and somewhat reminiscent of a Alpine ski lodge. We ended up with a 6 berth chalet, even though there were only 2 of us, so we had plenty of room, although we did think that it might have felt a bit overcrowded with 6 adults as the rooms were quite small and oddly shaped due to the triangular shape of the chalets, but would have been great accommodation for a family with young children and fine for 4 adults too. With one double bedroom on the ground floor and two twin bedrooms in the eves, there was space for 6 adults to sleep, but I think storage, bathroom access and cooking could become a bit of an issue for a group of adults.
The views from the front of the chalet out over the loch and the mountains were truly stunning. There was also reserved parking directly outside the chalet for 2 cars and there was nothing behind the chalets except a bit of woodland, so we didn't hear any noise at all and had a great nights sleep. The interior decor of the chalet was a bit dated, particularly in the bathroom, but everything was clean and there was a TV with freeview, stereo etc. plus all the kitchen gadgets that you needed. Also, all the essentials such as tea and coffee, washing up liquid, toilette rolls etc were provided, which you don't always get when self catering, but which are nice to have when you've left home in a bit of a hurry and arrived in the Scottish Highlands in the middle of the night, on a Bank Holiday! Towels would have cost us extra, but luckily we had remembered those!
Heating was provided by electric fan heaters - there was at least one in every room and this was plenty to keep us warm, even though the outside temperature must have been around zero at night.
We only had one evening meal in the on-site restaurant and found the food to be OK, if somewhat overpriced for what it was, but then it was also extremely handy to have somewhere to eat on-site as it was about a half hour drive to Fort William, which is probably the closest major town. We didn't see any other places to eat nearby, but it was New Year, so I think a lot of places were closed.
All the staff that we met were extremely friendly, efficient and helpful.
Oh, and the snowboarding at Nevis range and Glencoe was great as well, although we were quite lucky with the weather as high winds and thawing snow seem to have shut the resorts since we left.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was a dorm room. The walls were thin and there was no extra space. Check in was at the bar, second in priority to anyone buying a drink. The bar did serve food and that was convenient, because there is nothing else around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Onich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onich
5.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
1.2 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendevin
Glendevin
#3 of 7 in Onich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchree Lodge

Property: Inchree Lodge
Address: Inchree Inchree, Onich PH33 6SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Onich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Onich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inchree Lodge is a family-run holiday center situated midway between the Ben Nevis & Glencoe Mountains. We offer good-quality, keenly-priced twin and family ensuite rooms in a Scandinavian-style lodge. There are full self-catering facilities, along with an on-site Pub & Restaurant with open fire, good food and Highland Ales & Whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Inchree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchree Lodge Onich, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing