We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Marine Hotel(Invergordon)
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$154
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Tuckers Inn(Invergordon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
359
75
25
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
75
25
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscromarty firthfudgekincraig castleopen firecosy barwedding venuewonderful weekendhotel is lovelyscallopslounge areablack islecooked to perfectionfish and chipssconesfeel very welcomelarge bathroomfour poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 482 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed for 1 night on 1st Sept. All staff were very helpfull and pleasent at all times. The room was nice and big and the bed was comfy. Had dinner in the restaurant and it was lovely, couldnt fault anything. Breakfast was also lovely. Will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We ate of the bar menu which read well. 3 out of 5 of us ordered sirloin (as at 7.30pm there was no fillet steak left) with hand cut chips grilled tomato and mushroom. When they arrived the plates were very poorly presented with half the plate taken up with poor quality frozen chips, there was half a grilled tomato and a small shrivelled flatcap mushroom. The steaks were all different sizes and looked and tasted of the poorest quality of meat we have ever tasted. One steak was inedible. The starters were lower than average but we thought our steaks would make up for it!! Big mistake!!! The offered to give us a free drink! Which seemed totally bizarre when there was nothing wrong with our drinks! They removed one steak from the bill as hardly any of it was eaten, there was no reason given for the frozen chips which should have been handcut chips. My husband was totally ignored at the bar when trying to order drinks as we got fed up waiting for a waitress to ask if we would like another drink. Not once were we asked if everything was ok with our food. Very disappointing all round. I will make sure I advise people within the local area not to waist their money here, poor quality produce, dirty stained bar seats and clueless staff!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincraig, Manager at Kincraig Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Laura,

Thank you for your comments. Feedback, both positive and negative, is always welcomed and we are extremely sorry you didn’t enjoy your dining experience with us.

We had an exceptionally busy weekend and unfortunately a large party dining before you had all ordered fillet steak. Our sirloin (along with all our other cuts of meat) is ordered from a very well known reputable local butcher so we can only once again apologise if yours wasn’t to a very high standard. Our chefs have assured us that the chips are indeed freshly hand-cut on the premises.

Our staff are well trained in all areas of the hotel and so we are therefore sorry to hear that they did not live up to our 4 star rating on this occasion.

We had indeed not charged for one steak due to the issues you raised and can only apologise that we had failed to make up for the other shortcomings of your meal.

We do hope to welcome you back to Kincraig Castle Hotel to restore your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Grand manor house turned into very nice hotel. We stayed two nights. Excellent staff; very accommodating. Nice rooms. Quiet setting with pleasant grounds. Good restaurant, but don't pass up the bar food. Good breakfast, as well. Convenient location for visiting Highlands sights,

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSNUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Having driven north (and south) many, many times on the A9 north from Inverness, I have always wondered what the Kincraig Hotel was like to visit. On a recent trip at Easter 2012, I decided to treat my dad to the £12.95 Sunday lunch advertised on the main road. The Kincraig is a traditional, beautifully furnished Scotish Highland hotel, with oak panelling, tartan carpets, and cosy bars. On arrival, we had drinks before being shown through to the lovely dining room. The setting, and service was first class and we were treated to an excellent Sunday lunch, with generous portions and lovely food. The wine selection was outstanding, and my only regret was that we weren't staying the night. Simply brilliant.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I visited Kincraig castle yesterday evening and was hoping to enjoy a lovely meal with my partner but instead we left disappointed and furious with the service and some of the food we received.
We arrived on time for our table that was booked for 8pm. The waitress sat us down and handed us the menu’s then promptly walked away without offering us any drinks. We caught her attention after about 10 mins and asked her for the wine list. We ordered a bottle of white wine and then waited a further 10 mins before we asked her where the wine was and could she take our food order. Her reply was “im waiting for a wine bucket to arrive” she took our food order and I asked her could the chef make me some pepper sauce she said “I will ask him” which was fine. She then came back with the so called ice bucket with the wine in it put it down beside our table and walked away! Leaving us to open and pour our own bottle of wine. The ice bucket was full with water and there was not a cube of ice in sight and to top it all off our bottle of wine was warm to say the least. We asked the waitress was the house wine chilled behind the bar because our bottle was warm and could we have 2 glasses of the chilled wine. She did give us chilled wine but however when she did she took the bottle and glasses away and said “I will need to get someone to deal with this because I don’t know what to do” then came and slammed the two glasses down on our table and walked away! Not an apology or a word was said.
After a while the waitress leaned over the bar and in front of everyone said “those wines are free because we are really busy” not because our wine was warm and not served correctly but because they were busy! And may I add that there were only another 4 tables of 2 in the bar dining at the time. When our meals arrived the pepper sauce didn’t and we were left waiting to start our meals for 10 mins until it was made, the order had obviously not gone to the kitchen. When the pepper sauce finally arrived it was watery and tasteless. The only part of the meal that was worth eating was the steak. The quality of meat was great and the chef cooked them perfectly.
This was the worst dining experience of my life. The service was ridiculous and the waitress’s attitude needs some serious attention.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews