We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for a golf tour .”
Review of Royal Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have stayed here twice on golf tour .
Very comfortable rooms .
Cosy log fire in hall with big chairs to relax in after a hard day's golf.
Excellent and friendly staff .
High quality food with locally sourced ingredients .
Well placed for golf at Brora ,Tain ,Golspie and Dornoch .
Overall just right .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nigeladams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Royal Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 312 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

spent 3 nights here from 7th may. Overall the hotel very friendly, warm and welcoming. The cosy lounge with its beautiful fireplace and sofas and armchairs was perfect for enjoying a refreshment. The food was excellent and the staff were all very charming and friendly. We were there for a chill out few days, we had beautiful weather and spent our time walking along the beaches that are close by. Our dog was with us and she had a ball and was made very welcome at the hotel. Our room was very nice, very clean and comfortable. Overall the hotel is of a very high standard and is verging on 5stars. Loved this hotel and Brora and hope to visit again later in the year. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisyscotland12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel gives a great introduction to the friendly and welcoming nature of the northern Highlands and its inhabitants. The feel of the hotel is welcoming and homely with an open fire in the lounge, surrounded by sofas and armchairs all of which encourages people to sit, meet, enjoy a drop of the local (and delicious) Clynelish malt whisky, and just talk. Totally relaxed and relaxing.

The food and service are very good, if not to the highest restaurant standards.

THe location is perfect, within walking distance of all of Brora (its not large) and certainly you wont need your car to carry your clubs to the (exceptional) Brora Golf Club.

My only criticism of the hotel was the housekeeping which was, on occasions, below what should be expected. The room was not routinely serviced to the same standard and in some respects was dirty (the bath/bath overflow). When this was pointed out, the management did respond positively and without hesitation but, that said, the housekeeping remained a little inconsistent.

Nevertheless, this was a relatively minor fault and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfingtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Royal Marine Hotel in Brora. The accommodation was very comfortable in this beautiful historic house. The quality of food and drinks was high. The staff could not have been more helpful. They were charming and could not do enough for us. The purpose of our visit was to explore our family history in Sutherland and Brian even helped us voluntarily with contacts for our local research! We can't wait for our next visit. Bravo!

Room Tip: Rooms with beach views are great.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apacheetmaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent a night here April 2013, on arrival all was verynice with a free upgrade to a master suite with an excellent view, bed was comfy & clean but the duvet cover was far too big for the duvet probably 12 inches overhang on each side, the duvet just covered the bed with the duvet cover being tucked in.
4 tea bags & 2 white sugars, 4 coffee & 1 brown sugar & no teaspoons in the room !!!
Went out for a walk & on the pavement just outside the grounds there was dog mess not just one or two but approx ten or twelve, i don`t know if this is a private road or council owned but whoever it belongs to should get it cleaned up i would imagine if it was council owned they would provide a dog bin but if it is private then it should be the properties in that road that keep it clean.
At dinner we were shown to a table beside the window, after we were seated we realised it was draughty & asked the waitress if we could be moved, she closed the curtains & said that shoud solve the problem.
We made our choices from the menu & it arrived all looking & tasting very nice except i ordered the rack of Lamb & got two Lamb chops !!!!
We ordered cheeseboard & asked if we could eat it in the lounge as we were still getting a draught we were told no eating in the lounge so we cancelled the cheeseboard.
On the plus side this a very impressive looking hotel both in & out but clean up the dog mess outside if nobody else is going to do it.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carab15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here a few times, can't recommend highly enough. Relaxed atmosphere, lovely comfy leather chairs by log fires, fantastic food, lovely staff and great rooms. Great pool for children, lovely beach for walks in wild weather. Perfect really, good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katymorag9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night and was most impressed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, of a high standard and comfortable. The food was excellent and good value. The hotel is located nearby the main road which was most convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_rez86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brora
0.3 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
11.1 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
468 reviews
11.2 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
796 reviews
24.5 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
381 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Glenmorangie House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marine Hotel

Address: Golf Road, Brora KW9 6QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Price Range: $124 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty one bedroomed Four star country house hotel situated just 100 metres from James Braid Links Golf Course and miles of glorious sandy beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine Brora
Royal Marine Hotel Brora, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing