We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was Ok !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Was Ok !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent a night here April 2013, on arrival all was verynice with a free upgrade to a master suite with an excellent view, bed was comfy & clean but the duvet cover was far too big for the duvet probably 12 inches overhang on each side, the duvet just covered the bed with the duvet cover being tucked in.
4 tea bags & 2 white sugars, 4 coffee & 1 brown sugar & no teaspoons in the room !!!
Went out for a walk & on the pavement just outside the grounds there was dog mess not just one or two but approx ten or twelve, i don`t know if this is a private road or council owned but whoever it belongs to should get it cleaned up i would imagine if it was council owned they would provide a dog bin but if it is private then it should be the properties in that road that keep it clean.
At dinner we were shown to a table beside the window, after we were seated we realised it was draughty & asked the waitress if we could be moved, she closed the curtains & said that shoud solve the problem.
We made our choices from the menu & it arrived all looking & tasting very nice except i ordered the rack of Lamb & got two Lamb chops !!!!
We ordered cheeseboard & asked if we could eat it in the lounge as we were still getting a draught we were told no eating in the lounge so we cancelled the cheeseboard.
On the plus side this a very impressive looking hotel both in & out but clean up the dog mess outside if nobody else is going to do it.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carab15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    92
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
125
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here a few times, can't recommend highly enough. Relaxed atmosphere, lovely comfy leather chairs by log fires, fantastic food, lovely staff and great rooms. Great pool for children, lovely beach for walks in wild weather. Perfect really, good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katymorag9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night and was most impressed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, of a high standard and comfortable. The food was excellent and good value. The hotel is located nearby the main road which was most convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p_rez86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed for the first time at this hotel on a business trip. Firstly the general points - very friendly staff [made me a take away tea when I had to leave before breakfast!] and very good rooms [clean, well appointed and free wi-fi].

The two areas I hadn't expected were the food - the best hotel meal I have ever had I think - tried Cullen Skink for the first time and it was just superb - and then to follow the very well cooked steak I had for my main course was cooked just as I'd asked [something which doesn't always happen in the UK] and was simply but well accompanied.

The second was the location - looks rather unimposing when you arrive at night but not 100m away is a walk down to the river mouth and the beach. I found otter tracks on the beach and saw a superb sun rise, plus there are some very photogenic rock formations!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed on a very cold and snowy December night, the Hotel looks lovely from the outside a Big grand Stately home sort of place, checking in was a bit of a problem as there seemed to be no staff I could here someone on a phone but that was about it, so after a walk about I found the receptionest and got checked in.

Now I have to say the room was absolutely first class old style charm but spotless and a fantastic king size bed, the bathroom was well appointed as well, Free wifi, LCD TV, and a cafetiere to make fresh coffee, the room was the highlight of the hotel.

The average bits of the hotel was actually the food which I was suprised at going by past reviews mayby the chef was just having an off night but my main meal of Battered haddock which I'm afraid was soggy and just not very nice, but an even bigger problem was the dinning room was freezing, infact the whole hotel was rather cold, now it was a cold snap and they did have a big log fire so mayby the old place just takes a wee while to heat up.

The hotel has a SPA which i never used so can't comment, I would have no problem in staying again and mayby it will be warm and the food better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

As part of a golf group (20 to 24 people) that meet in Scotland every year, I stayed here for four nights in October 2012. I have stayed in many hotels with golf facilities available in Scotland, Ireland, US and Canada, and the Royal Marine ranks very high in my list. The owners and staff make every effort to ensure that the service, food and drink are top quality at all times. The breakfast (partly buffet, ordered hot course) and dinners were always first-class. I had one of the original large rooms, which are very spacious with modern facilities (LED TV and WiFi). The pool and spa facilities are very well maintained and a nice feature. If golf is your game, it is literally a 1 minute walk with your clubs. They have a large "drying" room for clubs and wet clothes which was well used! Brora GC is a fabulous links course. A "must play" if you are a golfer and a "must stay" at the Royal Marine Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boffin111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in the Links apartments in September 2012 (the night before and the night of our wedding) The apartment was huge, great for getting ready in! It was very warm and had great views too. When we arrived we had trouble getting into the apartment, it was a stiff lock/door which was known about but the staff were more than welcome to help and advise.
We were obviously not in the apartment for long but it was peaceful & comfy. The bed was very comfy and although it was a European double (2 singles clipped together) we did not notice this and slept very well.
I decided to have breakfast in the main hotel, this was not cheap for what I had but was very tasty.

It was not a cheap stay but I would recommend it if you can afford it or are having a special occasion. The hotel did massively over charge my dad who said in the main hotel, but they did put it right when he queried it.

We did not use the spa/pool so cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brora
0.4 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
11.4 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
15.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
15.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marine Hotel

Property: Royal Marine Hotel
Address: Golf Road, Brora KW9 6QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty one bedroomed Four star country house hotel situated just 100 metres from James Braid Links Golf Course and miles of glorious sandy beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine Brora
Royal Marine Hotel Brora, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing