We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip”
Review of Royal Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A great, relaxing place to stay. Location was right on the beach front with the links golf course 2 minutes walk away. The spa was relaxing after a day playing golf too. Food was delicious - plenty of local produce and interesting ingredients. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were cooked to order and filled you up until dinner time!.

Room Tip: Our room was quite small, although perfectly suitable for our weekend. Check with staff as our frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 329 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel was most welcoming from walking into the reception area with an open fire to the end of our three night stay. The room was spacious and comfortable, the staff were all quietly efficient and the food was excellent. We also very much enjoyed the spa facilities. I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed 1 night - £97 a night B&B and you get a lot for your money.

Warm welcome with smove checking - large, modern and well maintained rooms with modern tartan theme. Nice high presure shower and good WiFi reception. Very comfortable King size bed.

Had drinks before diner in the lounge - very comfortale leather arm chairs and open fires - really cosie!

There is a choice of 3 menus - bestro, bar, or restarant. But more importantly for me a full Vegitarian menu.

This is the best vegitairian menu i have found in scotland so far - 4 starters and 4 main courses. I had the figs, followed by roast asparigus on a bed of wild mushroom coscos.

All briliant.

The deserts were all home made - the summer pudding was again amoungst the best iv tasted.

The wine list was fair - but a little on the pricey side,

The breckfast was also great - beutifuly layed out and a great selection - the eggs could have been better - the flavour was a bit bland.

Great place to stop off and i will stay again if passing this way

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel was easy to find. And despite being close to the centre of Brora it had the feeling of being very private. The staff were very friendly, our room was exceptionally spacious and very well appointed. The room was very clean and our evening meal was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Clean, spacious and well equipped rooms. Friendly staff. Food is well above average for highland hotels, dinner in particular being superb. The only flaw for me was that on this second visit, both the cask ales (Bellhaven and Bod's) were tainted (the lagers were fine). This has dropped my rating from a 4 to a 3.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Really cant fault this Scottish Country Hotel (previously someones home) - some very old fashioned bedrooms full of character - some with open fire and logs left out to use as you wish - some with gorgeous big baths and a big sofa. There are also some modern rooms which are very pleasant - typical hotel bedrooms but we definitely prefer one of the quirkier older rooms. There are tea and coffee making facilities, complementary water and toiletries. Stayed here a lot but never written a review. The ambience is warm and friendly with a log fire in the large lobby and comfy chairs and sofas to take pre- or after- dinner drinks. There is a bar area, dining room and near to the pool, a bistro. Theres also a beauty salon next to the pool but I have only ever used the pool/sauna/steam room. The Food - well its just great - little appetisers - amuse bouche before dinner - the choice on the dinner menu will surely be a hit with most palates from langostines, to crab and beef with the locally produced malt whisky 'Clynelish'. I have tried various things and each meal has always been fantastic. The wine list is extensive. And there are chocolates/petit fours served with coffee after the meal. There is also a billiards room and newspapers and country and womens magazines for guests use. The sea is visible from some of the rooms - its just a few minutes walk to the golf course and the beach is just in front of that and stretches for a couple of miles along the coast. Its really a lovely romantic getaway. In fact I have even swithered not to review it to keep it a secret as much as possible but that just wouldnt be fair! There's also an infamous ice-cream shop in the village called Capaldi's - been there for years and a few wee gift shops all about 6 mins walk in the opposite direction from the beach. There is also a train station about 5 mins walk in the other direction. They also have large well equipped self catering Links appartments where we have also stayed, overlooking the golf course and sea - it really is a beautiful spot and about 60 miles / 1hr 20mins drive north of Inverness on the road to Wick.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Scottish-German
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have returned to the Links View apartments - a terrace of five houses next to the newer 'Links Apartments' - with our young family every summer for the last five years. Although the apartments are owned by private individuals, the hotel manages them and takes bookings on the owners' behalf. The accommodation is very comfortable and guests have the use of all of the facilities, including the swimming pool, at the Marine Hotel, a short walk away. Both the hotel itself and the apartments are close to the beach and the renowned Brora golf course, while the views (from the apartments) over the Moray Firth are fantastic. There is plenty to do in the area even if you don't like golf or fishing - including the Timespan and other local heritage centres, Dunrobin Castle, the Clynelish distillery, an excellent if underused mountain bike facility at Golspie and a number of fabulous and deserted beaches. You often see seals and the occasional dolphin from the beach and Ospreys can be spotted at Littleferry, just down the coast. It's a good base to explore further afield in the Far North, with the ferry to Orkney an hour or so to the north.

We have always found the staff at the hotel to be friendly, efficient and pleased to go out of their way to help, while the food offer is very good and prices are pretty standard. We have tended to eat in the Garden Room, an informal space that is fine for small children. The hotel itself has plenty of personality, unlike many of the hotels I tend to stay in on business. There appears to have been quite a lot of investment over recent years and it is a pleasure to stay for a short break.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDEXExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brora
11.2 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
11.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
11.1 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
487 reviews
16.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marine Hotel

Address: Golf Road, Brora KW9 6QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Price Range: $124 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty one bedroomed Four star country house hotel situated just 100 metres from James Braid Links Golf Course and miles of glorious sandy beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine Brora
Royal Marine Hotel Brora, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing