We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, clean and lovely house!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Fairburn

The sun always shines in Scotland!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sun always shines in Scotland!
Lounge - with woodburner & caithness stone fireplace Conservatory
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The sun always shines in Scotland!
Lounge - with woodburner & caithness stone fireplace
Conservatory
Extensive views over the sea from lounge
Arrival - the driveway and back of cottage
Fairburn, situated in 4.5 acres of land!
Kitchen-Diner
Lounge - TV and views to garden
More views from the house!
Bedroom 1
Ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 2
Back garden - sheltered and gravelled
Dining area
Bedroom three - twin beds
Dawn breaks over Fairburn
Dawn at Fairburn
View south from Fairburn over Moray Firth towards Dornoch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brora, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
andreas99...
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Excellent location, clean and lovely house!”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We are absolutely satisfied and had a great time in this house. The location is in perfect condition, very clean, quiet with a breathtaking elevated view to the sea. I'll recommend to my friends to stay there for vacaction.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2016
Hi Andreas, Glad you enjoyed it! You'll be very welcome back anytime! Please recommend to your friends too. Herzlich Wilkommen, Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbara c
Johnstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic house; much nicer than the pictures, with a spectacular view. We had a wonderful weekend and would love to have stayed longer. Weather was wonderful and we had a lovely day walking from Golspie to Dunrobin castle and at the lovely beach near the house. The dog adored the area and even our three teenagers had a great time despite a lack of wi-fi (good phone reception helped!). The Co-op in nearby Brora is excellent for provisions and we had a pleasant visit to Thurso which has a few interesting shops. Delicious fish & chips from Helmsdale. Hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely, clean and comfortable house, amazing views.
Liked least: Property was a little warm and a welcome pack ( at least some milk) would have been appreciated after the 7 hour journey
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan A
1 review
“Lovely Home”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed at Fairburn for a week with the wife and 3 kids (7, 5, and 3) Aug 2015. The house was very clean and it had everything we needed (I agree with one reviewer that having no Wifi is a plus). I never got tired of waking up to the spectacular seaviews every morning. We basically used the house as a base for exploring the Scottish Highlands but there were also a lot of places to explore that are nearby. The little ones enjoyed the very nice beach at Brora and we found Helsdale very idyllic and peaceful. Also from here John O' Groats is very easy to go to and we even took the ferry to Stroma island (one of the highlights of our holidays).
I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a place in the area. My kids liked the place a lot they were kinda sad when it was time to go home.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Much better than we expected!”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I don,t know how but the place looks better equipped, with really everything you need, than the pictures show. No neighbours in sight, just a breathtaking seaview.
We did not know how the lower oven and extractor worked but it was not a problem for us.
I would have liked a plachet in the masterbedroom shower to pu my toiletry on. Just a suggestion!
We enjoyed our stay very much as well as the countryside of northern Scotland, including Orkney..

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuAndJea...
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view, clean, modern and everything you'd ever need.....superb!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is situated at Lothmore. When trying to find it, keep following the A9 for about 7 miles north of Brora (look out for the sign on the left next to the wooden shack that was once a bus stop). We found it easy enough thanks to the owner's instructions. We were greeted by a number of rabbits on the drive up the track to the cottage and on arrival couldn't believe the fantastic view across the Moray Firth (we never tired of that every evening and morning!). The cottage is very clean and very modern in comparison with some we've stayed in (e.g. flat screen TV is great)....lack of WiFi wasn't a problem, this just helped to "escape" from all the stress associated with work (no way anyone could email us!). Having a nice bathroom and a great en-suite shower-room made it all the easier for everyone getting up in the morning. Great base to explore Dornoch, Golspie, Helmsdale, Brora, John O Groats etc......try to visit the little cove at Berriedale just up the road, it's idyllic. As everyone else has said, the beaches are lovely (we had amazing weather the week we were here and our photos of the beach and sea look like we were on the Med....the sky and sea were so blue!!). There are seals on the rocks at the nearest beach in the evening....head down the road for 0.5 miles and take the turning for the campsite at the beach....you can then walk along the beach for miles (we had miles of beach with golden sand with no-one else in sight, other than the seals.....perfect!!). The Co-op in Brora is the nearest shop and it's like a Tardis, much larger inside than it looks from the outside. We'd have no hesitation recommending this cottage to everyone we know, we can't guarantee you'll have the same weather we did, but we can say you won't be disappointed by the service or the accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Hard to think of anything....
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfie8020...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“This cottage is absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Fairburn Cottage has everything you need. Spotless cottage, and the little extras are a nice touch. The views from this cottage are amazing, looking out over the sea. Directions were spot on. Alfie the Dog loved the big garden. Helmsdale Harbour & Brora Beach are worth seeing. Will definately be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View and location
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhavo
1 review
“Is excellent to spend time here is worth money to its really”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I have spand my holiday here it was a fab outs really nice up there it was a perfect everything in home it's really clean and tidy.home owner left washing liquids and everything.my kids really love this place.i think I ill be go back there for holiday agian. I recommend this place to styad if you going there its really nice to styad up there.and one more think is really nice communicated by owner that was i like lot more as well we had really good experience as well there alot thing to do around there we been to Dornoch was nice beach and thurso as well nice place so you can go both side so it's nice location to styad barora. I'm so thank full for home owner to let that place we had a nice trip up there.thanks alot

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing