We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sutherland Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was disapointed when i got to this hotel, i was not expecting 5* but, i did expect it to be clean and my room was not, i was moved to another room which was not much better. The bar area seemed to be the only place that was clean. very disapointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikki505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Our room was very large (1 x double and 2 x single beds) but felt a little cluttered with too much extra furniture. That said the room was clean, possibly a little dated, but perfectly fine for our one night stay.

The staff were friendly in the well stocked bar with hundreds of different whiskies on offer at reasonable prices.

Breakfast set you up for the day although the separate breakfast room felt a bit tired - personally I would have rather had taken breakfast in the bar area as this had a warmer feel about it.

Overall a good value option in Brora which I would likely stop at again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealHoltyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Having been in the industry for near 30yrs i know what i like we go away and it tends to be 4* . We where going to Tain and thought we would look for somewhere to spend the weekend on the cheap. Being 2* normally i wouldnt have booked but the reviews i read said it was clean so we went for it and Im very glad we did. The room was very nice it was a good size, modern decor clean comfortable bed, flat screen tv, hospitality tray and bottled water. The bathroom was nicely tiled and although inside bath, sink and toilet where clean i felt a little extra time spent cleaning the outsides of facilities would serve them well or maybe its just me being fussy?!?. The staff we met at dinner where exceptional the Friday night was rather busy but the two young people on shift took it all in their stride and where totally professional a credit to any employer. Saturday nights service was much more relaxed but very friendly and efficient . The food was wonderful on both nights it was good quality food with portions that could satisfy even the biggest appetite our only complaint was my husband couldnt manage a dessert!!!. Breakfast was self service starters etc cooked breakfast made to order by a lovely girl and was delicious. Thankyou to all for a lovely weekend break

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent one night in this small pub while expolring the Scottish highlands with my husband and 2 month old baby. The pub rooms have recently been re-furbished and are quiet, clean and tastefully decorated. Love the claw foot bathtub in the marble bathroom, the only downfall was the toilet made a terrible noise everytime it was flushed!
The restaurant off to the side of the bar is small and intimate, a typical scottish pub. Haggis was on the menu and my husband and I were nervous to try it, but being in the Scottish highlands we bit the bullet and ordered it (with a side order of chips just incase!) The haggis was amazing!! It's a must try, we ordered it again when we went to other pubs and the Sutherland Inn's was by far the best!
Brekky was included in our room price and was a typical Scottish fry up, nothing overly flash but for a pub breakfast it hit the spot.
A great pub to use as a base for exploring the highlands!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SG_Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here overnight while on a two-day hillwalking break. I really enjoyed my stay. Came off the hill damp & cold and the ensuite shower was piping hot - brilliant! The evening meal was excellent & plenty of it. Good varied menu. The room was very comfortable & cosy. Good, plentiful breakfast. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The locals who we met in the bar were also very friendly. I am really looking forward to hillwalking in this area again & making Sutherland Inn my base.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonFerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

welcomed by friendly staff on arrival. She explained that we had a change of rooms as a member of staff had to stay overnight. We were with another couple and they were given a twin room we had the family room.we came back to our rooms at 11pm and while our room was quiet the other room had to endure a very noisy party til 02.45 in the morning our friends came to alert us to the noise at 01am there was no one on duty or a phone number to contact anyone. In the morning a complaint was lodged and the person who was in charge waved the fee for that night and a different room was allocated to them, The owners were away on holiday seemed that when the cat was away the mice will play!!!!!! The inn on the whole could do with an upgrade very tired looking.Lack of hot water needs addressing.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missmarple51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Sutherland Inn has good quality food with reasonable portions.
My wife, my daughter and I stayed in a rented cottage in Brora for 1 week.
The Sutherland Inn was a welcoming place with excellent whisky selection and one hand pump with real ale :)

The service was excellent and the locals were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brora
0.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
320 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
481 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Belgrave Arms Hotel
The Belgrave Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Helmsdale
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
16.0 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
15.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland Inn Hotel

Address: Fountain Square, Brora KW9 6NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Price Range: $82 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutherland Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Sutherland Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland Inn Hotel Brora, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing