We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay in Brora”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sutherland Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Sutherland Inn has good quality food with reasonable portions.
My wife, my daughter and I stayed in a rented cottage in Brora for 1 week.
The Sutherland Inn was a welcoming place with excellent whisky selection and one hand pump with real ale :)

The service was excellent and the locals were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

This pub-type hotel demonstrated huge potential lost through what can only been described as total apathy on the part of the proprietor whose internet whisky business clearly took absolute priority.
We were booked in for a few days whilst visiting family nearby. First impression on entering the place was one of dark and dull. The atmosphere was filled with the smell of stale cooking fat against which the Tesco value air fresheners were fighting a losing battle. We were shown to a room that was as cold as the landlady's welcome. Dark coloured bedding did little to provide any confidence in the cleanliness of the place.
Heating of the bathroom water was controlled by a remote switch but the landlady who showed us to the the room failed to let us in on the secret.
Real ale was advertised in the bar but when ordered we were informed that this was unavailable. At dinner that evening there were more menu items unavailable than were available. A situation repeated on the second night. No surprise then that we chose to eat elsewhere that and the subsequent nights. (We can warmly recommend the local Indian restaurant - 'The Indian Ocean' - a full menu and large portions!)
Breakfast at the Sutherland was the one exception to our disappointment. Everything cooked to order, generous portions and delightful service. The breakfast room was undoubtedly the brightest and most pleasant in the place.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeCoW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel over a Saturday night.
The bar was welcoming and the staff were friendly.
Dinner menu was typical for the type of restaurant it was. Nothing special but adequate. Except, there were a few items not available. These were - soup of the day; gammon steak; turnip for the haggis, neeps and tatties ran out; roast of the day.
We ordered and waited, and waited. The restaurant was busy, the waiting staff were busy, but the food was slow in coming. It wasn't excessively slow, though. It was just slow enough that you begin to notice that you've been waiting, if you know what I mean.
The food was good - not brilliant - but good enough. And probably value for money.
The accommodation was typical of this type of old Scottish hotel. It was adequate, but dated. The decor was tired. The room itself and the bathroom was clean enough, and tidy, and comfortable.
Then came breakfast.
Breakfast was served between 07:30 and 10:00. We arrived at five to nine. The waiter was there and showed us to the only remaining set table. Apparently we were last up. There was breakfast debris from previous breakfasters on other tables.
Now this is a personal dislike of mine - I don't like having to self-serve in a restaurant. Any restaurant. We were instructed on how to make our own tea and coffee from the tea-bags and coffee sachets and the hot water flask that were available. Toast was "make it yourself", too. I made myself a coffee from one of the only two Nescafe sachets left. There was no hot water left for my wife to make tea. There were no breakfast tea-bags either. The waiter was called and asked to provide, which he duly did.
He then took our cooked breakfast order.
And we waited.
And waited.
And waited.
After 30 minutes, my wife went to see where our breakfasts were, to discover the waiter chatting to another staff member in the bar.
He had FORGOTTEN to make our breakfasts.
We cancelled breakfast, settled up, minus the cost of breakfast, and went on our way.
The debris from the other breakfasts still had not been tidied away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great lace to stay on the way to John 'O Groats - food is high quality pub food. Several hundred whiskis to choose from at reasonable prices, all listed in a catalogue. Free Parking across the street. WiFi is free, but doesn't reach as far as Room 7. Recommended.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Jonny1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Rented a cottage in brora and must say Sutherland Inn amazing wee find. Good food big portions and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just spent a weekend at this hotel, nice clean rooms en suite. Lovely helpful polite staff and food was great too! Would reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed here in the end of April. The hotel is in the process of upgrading this historic building with the Brora River running behind it. My stay was quite nice. Had a room facing the street and never heard the traffic. The room was clean and comfortable. Nice having its own bathroom. Room had wireless or wired Internet plus TV. Breakfast was Scotish and tasty. If you are a Scotch lover you will go crazy with the collection that are in cases in the entrance and the bar/dining area. There was even a 70 year old Glenlivit valued at $25KUSD. The staff was great. Even did my laundry for me. Food was okay but the service was great. The bar patrons were friendly. Recommendation: Nice place to stay and be with in 1/2 hour driving distance to Tain, Royal Dornoch,Golspie and Brora golf courses.
A note about Brora Golf Course: You will walk on the same course that James Braid layout 100 years ago. Nothing has really chance since 1920. Brora is the hardest 6100 yard golf course you will ever play. The views are stunning. The par 3 9th is not to be missed, literally.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brora
0.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
320 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
482 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Belgrave Arms Hotel
The Belgrave Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Helmsdale
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
16.0 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
15.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland Inn Hotel

Address: Fountain Square, Brora KW9 6NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Price Range: $82 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutherland Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sutherland Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland Inn Hotel Brora, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing